We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bijilo Beach Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarges Hotel(Kololi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
24
31
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
31
16
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We reserved late so we didn't have much of a choice of rooms. The first room they showed us had a tiny bed (we hoped for a king sized). We got a room (407) with a bigger bed, but the bed was awful. Sheets came apart. Bed creaked. Mattress was really thin. This is unfortunate because we liked everything else about the hotel. Friendly service; nice pool; good restaurant and breakfasts; on the beach. They had a 110-v adapter so my wife could recharge her e-reader, but the computer in the lobby did not work.

I've got to believe the beds in other rooms were better. Check the bed before you agree to the room. If the bed is comfortable, you'll like everything else about this hotel.

Room Tip: Check out the beds before agreeing to a room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikefromKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Situated on a sloop hill, overlooking The Ocean And with a long, clean and almost remote beach this hotel is having potential. The Sea is quite rough on this part of The gambian coast, so swimming In The Ocean is not always possible. But if You can't swim, You can always take a 30 minutes stroll along The beach to The Bijilo monkey park.
During daytime surroundings innsiden The hotel Are peaceful, at night You have to deal with different entertainment from 8 to 10. - every night.
The old rooms Are a bit cramped, The new rooms are better. Old Two-rooms flats Are quite small. Some rooms Are overlooking The parking lot, You get a sad holiday if You end up here.
If Sea is rough You have two swimming pools, one of them for children. But only The pool for adults is equipped with parasols. If You want to look after your kids when they Are enjoying themselves In The pool, You will have to sit under The burning sun. We asked the manager for parasols at The children's pool, he promised to provide it - but after two weeks it still didn't happen.
A pity, since The hotel could be very good. Staff is good, The service is friendly.
Kitchen is not so good (pizza is The best choice), and you have to wait one hour Even for The simplest dish. Served with a smile, though. The only faster choice is The 3 course menu every evening.
And look out: Some of The rooms have surveillance cameras (cctv) on the terrace! You may not notice them, but somebody might be looking at you. No signboard is warning.
Will we return? We will, Even with these flaws. A blessing to stay away from Senegambia Strip, and still not far from everything.

Room Tip: Rooms And flatskjerm In The 3-storey building Are best. Suites are also ok.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ndowsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were lucky to spend this Xmas and New Year in this little gem of a hotel. We had been there 8 years ago and decided it was time for a return visit. We were made to feel so welcome the second we arrived and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Locally owned, the staff are all friendly and so willing to make your holiday fun. The hotel is right on a beautiful clean sandy beach that stretches for miles. One word of warning: if you are expecting European standards in a developing nation, you will be disappointed. But the rooms are all generously proportioned, with excellent air conditioning and a fridge. We had a basic double and it was fine. Most of the rooms face the Atlantic. The food is really good and Fugi the restaurant manager will is always ready to help. All the waiters/resses are attentive and friendly. Abdou is there to make sure you have a comfortable time around the pool. You can also go and set up for the day down near the beach and enjoy the shade from the trees.
We will be back. And we won't wait 8 years this time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NewFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our 9th holiday in Gambia but our first stay at the Bijilo Beach Hotel. We have stayed at a lot of different places in The Gambia and would recommend this hotel as a very good base.

The hotel is right on the beach (one of the best in Gambia) and is about 1.5 miles from the main Senegambia tourist area (100 dalasi / £1.50 in a tourist taxi outside the hotel). You can walk down the beach during the day in about 30 mins. Close enough to be near the 'action' if you want it, but far enough away for peace and quiet.

The staff at the hotel are one of it's greatest assets. All of the reception staff were very helpful - Seka and Alieu were the 2 names we remember, but all were good. Breakfast staff were equally as good, friendly and efficient, and a special mention goes to Omar who alternated between breakfast and the evening shift.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was OK. Fresh eggs, omelettes, pancakes, fruit, juice etc. Nothing special but perfectly fine and cooked to order. Plenty of people stayed in the hotel for evening meal but we preferred to go out.

The rooms are large, very clean, although a little basic. All have air conditioning and fridge (no extra cost unlike some places) and bath and shower. Cleaned daily to a good standard. The pool area is also very clean with very nice modern sunbeds. Sunbeds also available down near the beach, but right next door are a couple of nice beach bars, Jammeh and particularly Kumasai. Good food here.

All in all a lovely place to stay. Great if it is your first time in Gambia or if you love the place as much as we do.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wardy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I have just spent nine days in bliss although it was the end of the season and very quiet I love this hotel, thankyou Foday for listening to my anal chat regarding the Karcher window washer! pleasant grounds, cheeky monkeys, brilliant pool man. The sea views are amazing... hopefully I can return later on in the year thankyou for a lovely stay.

Susan A Taylor

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are more expensive..... and front of hotel a little busy... all in all most rooms have a pleasant outlook and none are no more than a few minutes from the beach.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susantaylor262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews