We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bijilo Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarges Hotel(Kololi)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
24
31
16
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
31
16
5
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We only use the restaurant & beach here as we stay in my Dads compound. We have been coming here for about 10 years. We have seen the many changes and after our visit in January there have been some lovely changes to the restaurant. Its lovely to sit outside on the beach side in the shade to eat our lunch. Its looking fab.

The staff always recognize us when we come back and welcome us. We only use the beach area and the sun loungers are set slightly off the sandy beach on a grassy area which is nice as after a while the sand gets annoying. There are juice stalls and a fruit lady if you want some refreshments. This time, the staff come and ask if you want any drinks on the beach, I thought this was a nice touch as before you had to go and get your own. They leave you alone if you say no thank you, they are all very polite.

We always have a few beers and lunch here. The food is a bit hit & miss, the first lunch (this time) was a bit rubbish which put me off a bit but then we visited another 2 times and the food was lovely so they must have just had an off day. It hasn't put me off though and I am looking forward to returning here.

If you want quiet, relaxing time then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shed74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We went for one week and ended up in a two room apartment with a wonderful seaview from the porch.
The apartment was ok, at least the living room and bedroom. The kitchen utilities was very worn down and we did not use it at all. The bathroom seemed quite newly refurbished, but some tiles on the bath tub were missing and the top hinges on the door was not tightened at all. But, we did not spend a lot of time in the apartment so these were minor letdowns.

The restaurant served mainly good food. The fish they served was excellent and so was the meat. However, if you want your steaks well done, be sure to point it out. This because they seems to make them medium, even though well done was ordered. At one point a well done steak was ordered, it came to the table as medium, they brought it back and the next time it came back, it was still a medium. Besides that, the staff are very friendly and tries their best to be at service. The breakfast was good, with a variety to choose from, although I had expected more fresh fruits. The entertainment that is performed every evening can be a bit loud, especially from the drums, and can be a bit annoying.

When it comes to the pool area, I cannot judge it because I did not stay there at all. This because I prefer the ocean and beach. But it looked ok from a distance.

The beach area was really nice, with a lot of space between the sunbeds on green grass. The staff can be a bit pushy, asking every 20 minutes if we would like something to drink. But after the third time in one hour, we said "No thank you, we are fine. We'll let you know when we want to order" and that worked. On the beach Abdu and Kebba are very service minded and do their utmost to serve. Near the sunbeds there are boots where the locals make fresh juice and fruit plates. We more or less bought our daily juice from Sheriff who was a nice guy.

We walked south on the beach and found a nice gem, The Blue Ocean Bar, where we bought a beer (or two) on a daily basis. If you are lucky you might see when the locals fish during that walk, and its very nice to see how this is done.

On the premises there is also possible to get massage. We took it two times and I can really recommend it. Sally and Ramona are very good with their hands and a back massage is good addition to a relaxing holiday.

Over all, we are satisfied with our holiday and we will probably return in 2015 to Bijilo.

Room Tip: Apartments 236-238 is on the ground floor with a stunning view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brathlaxh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We reserved late so we didn't have much of a choice of rooms. The first room they showed us had a tiny bed (we hoped for a king sized). We got a room (407) with a bigger bed, but the bed was awful. Sheets came apart. Bed creaked. Mattress was really thin. This is unfortunate because we liked everything else about the hotel. Friendly service; nice pool; good restaurant and breakfasts; on the beach. They had a 110-v adapter so my wife could recharge her e-reader, but the computer in the lobby did not work.

I've got to believe the beds in other rooms were better. Check the bed before you agree to the room. If the bed is comfortable, you'll like everything else about this hotel.

Room Tip: Check out the beds before agreeing to a room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikefromKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Situated on a sloop hill, overlooking The Ocean And with a long, clean and almost remote beach this hotel is having potential. The Sea is quite rough on this part of The gambian coast, so swimming In The Ocean is not always possible. But if You can't swim, You can always take a 30 minutes stroll along The beach to The Bijilo monkey park.
During daytime surroundings innsiden The hotel Are peaceful, at night You have to deal with different entertainment from 8 to 10. - every night.
The old rooms Are a bit cramped, The new rooms are better. Old Two-rooms flats Are quite small. Some rooms Are overlooking The parking lot, You get a sad holiday if You end up here.
If Sea is rough You have two swimming pools, one of them for children. But only The pool for adults is equipped with parasols. If You want to look after your kids when they Are enjoying themselves In The pool, You will have to sit under The burning sun. We asked the manager for parasols at The children's pool, he promised to provide it - but after two weeks it still didn't happen.
A pity, since The hotel could be very good. Staff is good, The service is friendly.
Kitchen is not so good (pizza is The best choice), and you have to wait one hour Even for The simplest dish. Served with a smile, though. The only faster choice is The 3 course menu every evening.
And look out: Some of The rooms have surveillance cameras (cctv) on the terrace! You may not notice them, but somebody might be looking at you. No signboard is warning.
Will we return? We will, Even with these flaws. A blessing to stay away from Senegambia Strip, and still not far from everything.

Room Tip: Rooms And flatskjerm In The 3-storey building Are best. Suites are also ok.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ndowsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We were lucky to spend this Xmas and New Year in this little gem of a hotel. We had been there 8 years ago and decided it was time for a return visit. We were made to feel so welcome the second we arrived and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. Locally owned, the staff are all friendly and so willing to make your holiday fun. The hotel is right on a beautiful clean sandy beach that stretches for miles. One word of warning: if you are expecting European standards in a developing nation, you will be disappointed. But the rooms are all generously proportioned, with excellent air conditioning and a fridge. We had a basic double and it was fine. Most of the rooms face the Atlantic. The food is really good and Fugi the restaurant manager will is always ready to help. All the waiters/resses are attentive and friendly. Abdou is there to make sure you have a comfortable time around the pool. You can also go and set up for the day down near the beach and enjoy the shade from the trees.
We will be back. And we won't wait 8 years this time.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank NewFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews