We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlite of our trip!”

Westwater Adventures Barbados
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The ShamonToo is a glassbottom boat where we make snorkelling trips to see the turtles, and coral reef. Our boat operates on the west coast of Barbados. We are based at Holetown St James, or nearby Folkestone Marine Park.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There are a few glass-bottom tour rentals to choose from in Barbados; we were fortunate to pick WestWater. Monica handles the arrangements and gave us a competitive price for our grown family of five. We were the only passengers on the tour, and we got MUCH more than we bargained for with Captain Kenrick! He is professional, clean-cut, entertains with witty, humorous comments, provided excellent advice on how to use our gear, etc., took great care to make sure everyone had lifejackets and was safe, kept wiping the seats (it rained lightly a few times), had refreshments and snacks (no extra charge), made sure we were completely enjoying the experience by going out of his way to find turtles, getting us positioned just right over a sunken ship for best snorkelling. My wife is not a strong swimmer and was a bit scared; he not only had her in a lifejacket, but also a lifebuoy tied to boat, and with his gentle encouragement and confidence she now has wonderful memories of snorkelling over a reef. Not only did we enjoy the ride and swim, but also Kenrick's naturally funny and humorous personality! Highly recommend!

Thank aali541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"glass bottom boat"
in 8 reviews
"captain"
in 12 reviews
"lorenzo"
in 9 reviews
"turtles"
in 25 reviews
"reef"
in 9 reviews
"monica"
in 5 reviews
"passengers"
in 3 reviews
"gear"
in 2 reviews
"sights"
in 3 reviews
"barbados"
in 6 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We booked this trip at the very last minute on a Sunday morning as it was a lovely calm day. Lorenzo (the captain) went and retrieved the boat just for us - it was fairly quiet being late august. As it turned out we were the only people on the boat for the trip. Lorenzo was just fantastic, he got straight in the water and helped us find the turtles, and pointed out different fish and other sights. Most of all though he was fantastic with our little girl (6), helping her swim and see everything. Really can't recommend this enough. Price ($40 per person) was well worth it for such a personal experience. Watching some of the other glass-bottom-boat tours in the area, many of them seemed pretty much like a taxi service with the captains staying on the boat while all the passengers are left to their own devices.

Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

Went went snorkeling on this trip last year and had a great time so we went back this year. Captain was nice but the trip was disappointing.
The boat was overcrowded with 20 people aboard -- too many for the activity. Swimming was very crowded and there weren't enough adult life vests for those who wanted to use it. Our excursion was interrupted by making trips back to shore to pick up additional people.

Also, NO sea turtles. :(

Thank jaisda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Owner at Westwater Adventures Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Thank you for your concerns. I can assure you that there are adequate adult life vests on board. I believe that if you had said a shortage of face masks that would have been accurate. In fact some of our previous snorkelers loved them more than us, so we have to obtain more as soon as the long holidays are over. Sorry about that again.
Once again after much rain, the turtles have been going swimming out to sea, and have not been at the regular spots. However up to today they have returned. In fact when I checked on those few days, none of the boats spotted any.
If you are still here please give me a call, and we will take you out again, complimentary or for a partial refund.
Regards
Monica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

Best day today
Snorkelled over the shipwreck
Swam with turtles. Great day out. Had the boat just for our group of 5

Many thanks for a great day out.

Thank Josef_THalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monica C, Owner at Westwater Adventures Barbados, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2016

Thank you. We aim to please. Thanks for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2016 via mobile

Wonderful experience. Grandchildren completely enthralled. Blessed to see turtles close up and be able to feed fish with crackers. Can't rate experience highly enough.

Thank Dicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Westwater Adventures Barbados also viewed

Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Christie, Saint Thomas Parish
 

Been to Westwater Adventures Barbados? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing