We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissatisfied with room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was my second visit to this unique property. This first being almost 18 years ago.
The hotel has expanded to include several adjoining buildings, which increased the number of rooms from 11 to 27, obviously squeezing rooms into evey possible spot.
The only comments I would add to other reviews would be ...... only go if you can be assured of having one of the larger rooms. We had a "classic room", number 2. It was located up several flights of narrow stone steps, had the sink and a glass enclosed shower right in the room! The toilet was almost as intimately located. I can't imagine any Relais and Chateau hotel having such a choice at any price.
The hotel staff is excellent. The restaurant seems to operate independently, with an emphasis on profitability. For example, expensive wine with misery pours.

Room Tip: Obviously, rooms that viewed Mont Ventoux are the nicest.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ptricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hclb, Owner at Hotel Crillon le Brave, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Thank-you for posting your comments about your stay with us. We are sorry that Room 2 was not to your liking. It is indeed a small room that has an open concept to make it feel a bit more spacious, but we can understand that the layout with the shower and the toilet is not to everyone’s taste.

We would just like to note, however, that Room 2 is in fact one of our original eleven rooms from when we opened the hotel in September, 1989 (although recently redecorated). As we’ve expanded the hotel over the past 25 years into other buildings, all of the rooms that we’ve created are considerably larger than Room 2.

Many thanks for mentioning our excellent staff. They do work very hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

Best regards from the entire team at Crillon le Brave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Crillon le Brave
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 276 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

More than first class, hotel and restaurant beautiful setting with long views, very good swimming pool at 27deg. Easy place to find not far from the motor way. The wine list is very good with happy wine waiter how gives a information on all the excellent local wines the best part wine for me.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great , many steps to each floor because the hotel is on different levels and for...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night in this incredible old chateau a few weeks after I'd had an operation. It's in a beautiful setting (gorgeous panoramic views) and from the moment you arrive, you feel exceptionally looked after. The head receptionist (Lovely blonde girl from
Orange) was delightful...the extra mile, as was the gent that took our luggage and parked our car. We hired bikes and did the 11km track to Bedoin (more hills than we expected). The staff were so helpful in recommending routes and getting our complimentary bikes (great condition) ready with maps and water. The room was stunning, the breakfast was delicious (we even received coffee that we hadn't ordered - a welcome mistake), the pool was a lovely temperature and in lovely setting.

The only negative we would say is that we ate dinner in the gourmet restaurant (decided to treat ourselves), and given that the meal cost approx €200, we were disappointed that it took 40minutes from seating until being served a glass of wine. We had declined aperitifs, which perhaps gave the impression that we didn't want anything to drink. We sat early (19:15) so were surprised that it took so long.....tried many times to catch the waiter/waitresses eye....We had wanted to get advice on which wine to choose, but in the end we were so thirsty we simply chose the 1st on the list. A shame for the restaurant as we were excited to order a much more expensive one if recommended (anyway, the 25yr celebration wine was superb) it was the 1st on the list (that we had to ask for after 20 mins of being sat way after being given our food menus) we had ordered dinner and had eaten amuse bouche before they'd taken our wine order. We asked twice for our water, which we eventually got during mains. In this sense, we felt ignored. Once we had been served the wine, after our starters, the service was transformed. The young lady who then looked after us was so knowledgeable and friendly. She gave us lots of info and even wrote down the name of cheeses that we loved.

The food was exceptional, but aside from one or two staff in the dining room, they seemed to stand around and talk as opposed to being really attentive. I manage a very high end service outlet so expect what I pay for.

Overall our experience in Crillon Le Brave was exceptional, and we would certainly stay again, but I imagine we would dine elsewhere, as to be honest, we probably look like a fairly young couple and were made to feel less important than other perhaps more senior guests in the restaurant.....we could be paranoid.

When we checked out, we asked about local vineyards to visit. A lovely lady suggested we try 'Chateau Valcombe' winery. We are extremely grateful for this recommendation as we had the most amazing tour / tasting with the lovely couple Jean-luc and Cendrine. We bought lots of wine and will recommend to others and the owner of the establishment we manage.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Icklesar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Everything is made of stone. All the buildings. Very interesting. It was too cool to use the pool but it looked nice. The first night we ate at the gourmet restaurant. It was good, but not great. I asked for a glass of red wine that turned out to be 17 euros. But, it was good. The next night we ate at the Vieux Four. That restaurant was spectacular. We ate there 2 nights in a row. Sn all, and charming. One lady serves and the owner is there also. IF we ever return it would be only to go this restaurant. The views from the hotel overlooking the valley are lovely. Many bikers. Many.

Room Tip: We were given a room on 2 floors. We didn't like that as the stairs were very narrow. Plus,the t...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianemontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We loved our stay there. Attentive staff. Rooms are simple but beautiful. We got a duplex with an absolutely fantastic view from Mount Ventoux; it looks like you were embedded in a painting.... Cozy gardens, nice pool, good breakfast. A great romantic scapeway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We were utterly charmed by this hotel, the location is beautiful, the staff well trained and attentive and the food marvellous. We stayed for a week and at no time did the high standards they set slip. The hotel has its share of international (British and American) visitors but is very popular with the French. It feels like a French hotel not an "international" one. As others have said the food in the main restaurant is fabulous, French and beautifully presented. I am sure that it will have a MIchelin star soon. The lunches on the terrace are simpler but also delicious and the location is lovely. Eating in the main restaurant every night was too much of a good thing for us but as said the other local restaurant is very close and good. Lunches run until 3.30 so a late lunch is also a possibility. The bistro wasn't open when we were there.
We have been to nice hotels where small issues niggled but here they all seem to have been thought out and resolved. For example
1. Breakfast (on the lovely terrace) stops at 11 so no having to set the alarm while on holiday
2. Being Scottish we find hot weather can leave us drinking a lot of water (really!) here all the water in the room is free and is in a fridge which keeps it very cold. They leave you 3 litres which they replace every day.
3. Tipping - as a guest you don't sign for meals etc they record them , they don't therefore give you slips with a place for you to add a tip for everything. They are clear that if you want to tip give something at the end . Even then they don't ask for anything when you pay by card. We did ,of course,leave something but it felt voluntary rather than extorted.
4. Parking- the hotel is in a small hilly village , sometimes with hotels if you leave for the day you can't get back into their car park. Here they park for you. Valet parking can be an affectation in large hotels here it relieves a stress.
5. Room service. In some hotels there is a tyrany of the room service who come at random times, take forever and you seem to be in their way. Here , and I don't know how they do it, your room is done (twice a day if you want) with a minimum of fuss.
The service and tone is no accident their is a director general Sébastien Pilat on site who is charming and involved ; the staff take their tone from him.
We did stay in the Master Suite which is a magnificent set of rooms with 2 balconies, which no doubt added to our pleasure but the other points still apply to the hotel generally.
This is my first review which does not pick some faults ,however, for us this hotel struck the right note of impeccable service, informality and good food in a lovely setting. Others may want a diferent mix but for us this sets a new benchmark.
Go if you can.

Room Tip: A balcony (which means a suite I think) would add to the pleasure
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Udston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at Crillon in March for our honeymoon. The hotel is absolutely stunning! We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite with amazing views from the top of the hill over the surrounding wineries and the mountains. Service was fantastic from start to finish - sommelier was very knowledgable and we learnt a lot about French wine over our three day stay.

The hotel layout is great and very unique - we loved the old stone of the castle and the winding stairways and secret paths. The dinner restuarant was beautiful and we enjoyed sitting near the huge open fire in the cool evenings enjoying our meal.
The pool terrace is lovely, and even though it was the beginning of March it caught all of the sunlight during the day making it nice and warm. Pool is also heated to a pleasant 30degrees!

The food at the restaurant was amazing. I would go back again just for the scallop entree and the chocolate dessert!!

All in all one of the best places we stayed at during our trip to France and we would definitely consider coming back - we loved every minute of it :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raegirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crillon-le-Brave
0.2 mi away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
50 reviews
14.6 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
261 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
565 reviews
13.7 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
17.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crillon le Brave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crillon le Brave

Address: Place de l Eglise, 84410 Crillon-le-Brave, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Crillon-le-Brave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crillon-le-Brave
Price Range: £289 - £755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Crillon le Brave 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crillon le Brave is a relaxed and informal refuge where you can enjoy all of the simple pleasures of Provence. Located about 25 miles northeast of Avignon, our 36-bedroom hotel - a member of Relais & Chateaux since 1995 - is perched on top of a tiny hill village surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. The views from our rooms, terraces and gardens are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Crillon le Brave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crillon Le Brave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing