We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
622
115
38
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
622
115
38
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mont ventoux main restaurant truffle gastronomic restaurant small village exceptional hotel beautiful hotel wine list our honeymoon surrounding countryside old village tour de france four nights hilltop village relais and chateaux stayed longer master suite
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

This is a lovely place in a sleepy French town. In fact, the hotel is most of the town, as it is comprised of multiple separate buildings all now connected as the hotel itself. Be very sure to check your room to be sure it is acceptable before unpacking. We were shown to room 8, supposedly one of their "classic" rooms. It was so small we had to move the baggage rack onto the top of the heater to be able to walk around the bed without hitting our knees. DO NOT stay in room 8. We were moved to room 15 which was a bit better, but still felt cramped for an expensive room with my supposed Relais Chateau RC Club upgrade. Be sure to ask about upgrades as they are not offered without inquiry. Reception and services were all quite good. But do beware that the entire environment is very unfriendly to anyone with impaired mobility.

Room Tip: Avoid room 8, and ask to see your room for size and comfort. All rooms are different
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in late June, just after the end of the wet spring. Room 4/right at the top of the main Mason Rouge house. Stunning views. As other reviewers have said, there are some cooking smells but not at the top.

All the staff were charming and friendly, especially the parking valets - a great team -took me a while to work out where they hid the cars as they appeared so quickly.

Ate the first night in the main restaurant. Best wine list I have seen for a while and a good collection of half or 50cl bottles, in fact the best collection of halves for a while. Amazing selection of perfect cheeses.

Ate in the bistro the second night. Limited menu but only of local food. Amazing vegetable soup and good trout. Let down by the poor choice of cheese, only goat and the lack of staff. A charismatic champ g head waiter who did everything and a novice non English speaking Waitress. A recipe for disaster with demeaning English and American guests. I don’t know why another staff member wasn’t pulled in from the main restaurant which was empty.

It’s worth doing the hotel walks, all spot on in terms of directions.

Give it a try !

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank OccassionalTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and they were blissful. Many of the gusts were advanced cyclists who had come to climb nearby Ventoux. You have to love a high end hotel that carries more cycling gear in the gift shop than spa lotions. That said the spa is very very nice and if you do climb Ventoux you’ll want their Signature Massage. Food, views, pool & staff were all top notch. We loved our stay and hope to return one day. This is a special place. There were more international guests than French here as you’d expect. We included the Spa photo so you can see how special this place is.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

First things first, I would challenge anyone to find a more stunning setting in France, in it’s commanding position the hotel takes over almost the entire hilltop village of Crillon-le-Brave. After our first stay here last autumn, my husband and I declared it our “favourite hotel ever” and vowed to return. This time, it was a special trip, celebrating two birthdays, so we booked six nights in a great room. The hotel setting is still as lovely as we remember: the restaurant great; the rooms well-appointed and the wonderful breakfast buffet still served on the sunny terrace with stunning views of the iconic Mount Ventoux. The only but I would say - and this is more feedback for the new owners than it is complaint - there was not quite the same level of attention to detail as we remembered from last year. The main problem area was poolside: a broken sun umbrella, never fixed during our stay; lack of any poolside attendance, just a phone to ring for a drink - our call left unanswered when we tried it; lack of towels; cushions not put out on the soft area; leaves in the pool… All in all, the area felt unloved. We also never saw/met a manager in our 7-day stay. This, along with some other minor problems, gave me cause for concern that the new owners are not quite on top of things - or perhaps we just suffered from being there in relatively early season? I hope we are wrong and they get back on top their game as the season goes on. We just love this place and really hope to return.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Harriet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in the third week of April in the Sousto village house room

Pros:
- Unbelievable views from the pool area and terrace of the surrounding hills, mountain and farm lands. This is difficult to explain in words but you truly feel this is a special place when you take it all in either having a glass of rose by the pool or lunch on the terrace
- Very interesting buildings in a small village where you feel like you are staying in your own little castle. The hotel is relatively small so you get a very intimate feeling and connection with the property
- Main restaurant is fantastic and we had the 7-course tasting menu which is certainly Michelin star quality (probably better than the actual Michelin star restaurant we dined at a few days later). Great service as well
- Free bike rental and some great paths visiting the nearby lookouts and villages. Get ready for some climbs but well worth it and good for off the exquisite food and drink
- The pool is very special with its incredible views, very comfortable and classy sun loungers and style. One of the highlights for us was taking in the sun and watching the sky with a glass of champagne by the pool

Cons:
- Mattress in our room was way too soft and would be good to get a much firmer mattress
- TV is quite small which was no big deal for us but I can imagine if it’s raining and you want to watch some movies at night, it’s probably not the best size TV

Nothing else really comes to mind in terms of cons and of the five places we stayed in Provence, this is definitely the most special and we will definitely be back

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alpine1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews