We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge du Vieux Chateau
Ranked #1 of 2 Cabris B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose to stay at Auberge du Vieux Chateau on our way through Grasse and we were very pleasantly surprised with this wonderful find. The journey through Grasse was hair-raising but when we arrived at the Chateaux we were thrilled with the accommodation and the magnificent views. We stayed on a Tuesday when the Chateaux's restaurant was closed but we were advised of other options by our host, which turned out to be wonderful. The village was delightful and we would definitely like to return and spend more time there in the future.

Room Tip: We had room 10 which had magnificent views from its two large windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 85 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Cabris is perched high overlooking the Cote D'Azur. The views are amazing from the Auberge. It is quiet and peaceful. Our room was huge with two French windows and beautifully decorated. Staff are warm and welcoming. The restaurant is excellent. As the hotel was closed on the day we left we got breakfast easily in the village. Will return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank anniewUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at l'Auberge du Vieux Chateau, and enjoyed it very much. We went off season and found great company in the staff. The food was great and the patio a beautiful place to eat. It was also an excellent base for hiking.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrell P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We stayed at l’Auberge du Vieux Château in the pleasant village of Cabris for one (Sunday) night at the end of September 2013. L’Auberge is a small hotel in Cabris and is situated at about 500 metres AMSL directly overlooking Grasse. Grasse itself seems to be becoming increasingly a theme park for the excellent local parfumier, Fragonard, whose products we have been using for years. The best spot in Cabris with views of Grasse out to the Mediterranean, Nice and Cannes is the terrace just south of l’Auberge. We had chosen/pre-booked room 10 which had views over the Med (but no terrace as such). Room 10 (the most expensive, but still reasonably priced at €129) was delightful and airy, with white walls and light pastel blue woodwork. The room had been recently refurbished as had, I believe, the other rooms in this small establishment.

We parked the car overnight at the church (there is no parking at the hotel) which lies a short distance from l’Auberge. Our welcome, which occurred in the restaurant, was friendly and efficient. The reception closes in late afternoon for an hour or two, but keys can be left in the doors by prior arrangement.

We ate dinner at l’Auberge’s own restaurant. We both chose from the €45 menu du jour (quail or girolle with fois gras as a starter, half-partridge for both of us as the main plate, the alcoholic sorbet framboise avec eau de vie or mirabelle tart with ice cream as pudding). The wine was a 2009 Côtes de Provence Terrebrune (€49). Obviously, the meal was not inexpensive, but the French Riviera is not exactly the location for a bargain basement holiday. My only criticism of the meal would be that the service was somewhat rushed. As a matter of choice, I would want to spend at least 2 hours over a meal of this nature. We must have been finished after about 1¼ - 1½ hours on this occasion.

Breakfast was not available at l'Auberge on Monday morning, but then we normally venture to a local bar/café for that meal rather than eating at our hotel and this is precisely what we did. There were at least two nearby. All-in-all, this was a delightful stay, so much so that we are thinking of returning to Cabris and staying at longer-term rental accommodation when I retire especially since, in addition to l’Auberge, there seems to be a second decent restaurant in Cabris. The local newsagent even has English newspapers available!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MADPhilOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

very helpful staff. quirky rooms some with fab views. We eat in the restaurant wonderful experience great food. The couple running the place were unflappable when a storm brought down a huge sign off the roof made sure all was safe and carried on.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karenhenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed two nights and were really taken with the location, the setting and the hosts. Originally we had booked a single night, but stayed on for a second. It meant moving rooms, but we simply left our stuff packed and they moved it for us. We ate in the restaurant the first night...it was very good indeed, possibly the best meal we have had on our tour. The second night there was a massive wind, so strong it brought the large illuminated sign crashing down across the access steps up to the rooms, tearing chunks of roof tiles with it. We never learnt our hosts names, but they coped with an on going mini disaster (and we could see a full restaurant)with calm charm and concern that everyone was safe and attended. The wind was so strong that late in the evening we went down to the restaurant because we couldn't sleep the howling wind was too noisy, and were treated to calvados and cognac 'on the house'. We have stayed in a number of really good places, but this is the one that stands out, not just because of the storm either, it was simply a gem.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 14 the first night, website said a terrace and we thought there was some mistake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is a superb location in the small village of Cabris, right on top of the hill. The food is very well prepared and quite high end. Very accomodating for children. I will go back anytime to enjoy some more of that. Unfortunately we only ate there. Hmm, next time I am gonna sleep there, too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank TravelRaider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabris
5.2 mi away
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
Campanile Grasse - Chateauneuf
#1 of 1 in Chateauneuf de Grasse
39 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#4 of 16 in Grasse
60 reviews
2.9 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#1 of 16 in Grasse
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hotel Le Patti
Hotel Le Patti
#14 of 16 in Grasse
176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Moulin Sainte Anne
Moulin Sainte Anne
#7 of 39 in Grasse
91 reviews
2.2 mi away
Les Palmiers B&B
Les Palmiers B&B
#4 of 39 in Grasse
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux Chateau

Address: Place Mirabeau | 7 montée du Château, 06530 Cabris, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse > Cabris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cabris
Price Range: £60 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come discover Cuisine steeped in the flavors of Provence and the Mediterranean made with fresh products from the morning market. A very attentive service. In the enchanting village of Cabris, 4 kms from Grasse end 20 minutes from Cannes, the Auberge nestles in the court of honour of the feodal castle with its amazing panoramic view of the Cote d'Azur, from the Esterel hills to St Jean Cap Ferrat. . Savor the sun on the terrace from the shade of our parasols, or relax before the imposing fireplace in the chateau's guard room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge du Vieux Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing