We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of L'Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Horizon Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabris
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We got lost and found this place and we are so glad we did. The view is breathtaking. The host is very nice as well and he speaks english. The village is quaint and the food is delicious. Breakfast is served on a very nice terrace looking over the countryside. I would stay here forever if I could.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
26
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Looking for a place to stay on the way from Italy to Avignon we remembered we had stayed in Cabris a couple of time about 20 years ago. We were a bit surprised to find L'Horizon still there and looking much as it did years ago. In this case that is a compliment and not a criticism. We found it to be as charming, welcoming, comfortable and as affordable as we remembered.
We reserved a standard room, and indeed it was on the small side, but immaculate and well designed. After all it was on the front of the building with a full length double window to enjoy the view for which Cabris is famous.
Also, little changed, the typical French breakfast with excellent baked goods, jam and coffee. I do deplore the current trend for hotels to offer a giant buffet, none of it being of good quality. And here you just sit at a table on the terrace and it all comes to you.
The village is also as before, with the same excellent restaurants plus a couple of new ones. The only thing we missed was the cricket team that had been visiting when we were there before. We are so hard to please!

Room Tip: Do be sure to get a room with a view. Most of them are. Keep the outer shutters closed in the hot p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank capresina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Enjoyed our two-night stay in Cabris. The hotel was charming with wonderful views. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Wouldn't visit in the summer again though. There is no air conditioning and the rooms were unbearably hot so difficult to sleep but would like to go back when the weather was cooler.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJ66London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

A real find. The owner is an interesting, friendly and helpful man who speaks excellent English. He was quick to recommend a lovely restaurant, to offer us breakfast although we were very late up, to give us directions for a lovely walk and helpful tips on what to do on a rainy return trip to the airport.

Our room, no 18, overlooked the charming rose filled courtyard. It was simple with a double bed and brand new bathroom. Double doors open onto a Juliet balcony overlooking the valley.

We spent a sunny afternoon on loungers by the deserted pool. It was too cold to swim but imagined in the summer it would be fabulous.

Breakfast was croissant, breads, yoghurt, fruits and a orange juice.

Total charge was 154 euros for two of us. We were very helpfully allowed to have the room until well gone 3pm so we could wash and change after our long walk.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DLBLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The hotel was recommended to us and we were very lucky - Cabris is a delightful village and we explored the countryside and also visited the beaches at Cap d'Antibes all in easy reach.
The hotel terrace for a glass of wine overlooking the breath taking views in the evening and fabulous breakfasts 'the full story' with the same view. The rooms, the service and the swimming pool all great but the hotel is special because of the kindness and humour of the people who work there. A very special place. Close to the 'gorges du loup' and all the beauty of the mountains.... we didn't see a wolf though!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank amandaw13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Frozen North
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

We spent six very relaxing nights here in July 07.

The hotel itself is clean & fairly well maintained but looks a little dated (don't let this put you off unless you intend to spend all of your holiday counting your toenail clippings inside your room!)

The bathroom was very clean & water is hot (if you can stand it!) and plentiful with good pressure (not quite pressure-washer levels but very good all the same)

The rooms could really use a mini bar (as we normally empty this & stock it with our own booze from the supermarket!) & the TV channels are a little limited due to terrestrial availability only.

Breakfast is fresh & delicious served on the terrace overlooking the beautiful sweeping vistas below (or valley in plain-speaking terms)

The pool is a little shallow (no conga eels here!) which is ideal for kids but the sunbeds could really use a mattress as they are very firm without - back sufferers take note!

The hotel is conveniently located several hundred yards from the charming village centre with a coulple of bars & a handful of restaurants which cater for most tastes.

There's a maze of teracotta-fronted houses & alleys which are a joy to explore & provide some nice photo opportunities.

If you're looking for a relaxing get-away for a week or less then this place is highly recommended - any longer you might go stir-crazy (unless you hire a car which we did to visit St Paul du Vence & Nice - both recommended)

Another tip - take a sweater/cardy as it does get a tad chilly of an evening.

  • Liked — Proximity to village & beautiful views
  • Disliked — Dated interior
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Nite-Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2007

I stayed three nights by myself at this wonderful hotel in this very charming village.

Think tranquility add more tranquility. Book a "suite" ( no 21 )with a balcony facing the valley. It is just amazingly beatiful and peaceful. If you consider going to Grasse, drive 10 minutes more up in the mountains and stay here instead. A couple of good restaurants but no other nightlife. Breakfast at the square with all the locals.
Or have your breakfast at the hotel overlooking the valley, then get into the pool.

This is a perfect place if you want to get away from the robbery places in Nice, Cannes etc and a place with genuine atmosphere.

Remember; go here for the tranquility and the scenery, do not go here for the night life. Go here with your beloved one or go by yourself, bask in the sun and charge your batteries.

Peter G

  • Liked — The scenery
  • Disliked — The rooms are slightly worn
  • Tips/Secrets — Book a suite or a room facing the valley!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PeterGustafssonDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cabris
4.0 mi away
Hotel La Bellaudiere
Hotel La Bellaudiere
#4 of 16 in Grasse
40 reviews
3.0 mi away
Le Virginia
Le Virginia
#6 of 16 in Grasse
70 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bastide Saint Mathieu
Bastide Saint Mathieu
#3 of 16 in Grasse
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
La Bastide Saint Antoine Jacques Chibois
3.1 mi away
AEC Les Cedres
AEC Les Cedres
#2 of 16 in Grasse
141 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Elixir Grasse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Horizon Hotel

Property: L'Horizon Hotel
Address: 100 Promenade Saint Jean, 06530 Cabris, Grasse, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Grasse > Cabris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cabris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L'Horizon Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your L'Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel l Horizon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing