We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Au Soleil d'Or(Pontaubert)(Great Value!)
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Citotel Hotel d'Avallon Vauban(Avallon)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dak'Hotel(Avallon)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Crispol(Saint-Pere)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
A La Renommee(Saint-Pere)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Capucins(Avallon)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
160
32
20
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
32
20
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine listall kindsfrance tripamazing foodparked our carluxurious bathroombeautiful parklovely groundsnice experiencewi fisunny daya wonderful place to stayvegetable gardenstone wallsvery special placeboth nightsworking fireplace
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We came from Washington, DC to Burgundy and spent a perfect three nights at the Chateau, a movie set worthy of Catherine Deneuve, with magnificent grounds, a vegetable garden that, with a little help from the innovative kitchen, showcases vegetables that turn up on your table in the evening meal. The adorable dog, known to turn up at day's end with truffles in his mouth, is worthy of a New Yorker story. The indoor cave-like pool and setting melts stress in a second.

You could easily spend a day under the beautiful tree in the center of the front yard, reading a book and forgetting about the overflowing gutters at home. If you must, there are neighboring wine towns for retail therapy and Paris is not too far away.

I'm planning to return.
Sofia B

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sofia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Please imagine a magnificent chateau situated alongside a lovely river surrounded by beautiful flowers and mature trees. Sound like a dream? On our first visit we drove up the driveway and we were granted access through an iron gate. We were greeted by peacocks, birds of all kinds and a lovely dog his name was Reglise and we will never forget him. He went with us on our daily walks - king and queen of the manor. This is a lovely place to stay in burgundy. We are returning for our fifth visit and frankly we have constructed this trip to be able to stay here. The owners are warm and welcoming and it truly feels like coming home.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Piper150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is one of the very few special places I have been, where I desire to came back to, over and over again. The midieval castle is one of the most gorgeous in the French countryside, in a beautifully wooded settting, along a picturesque stream, on the edge of the historic village, Lugny, which is home to one of France's most famous 3-Star Michelin resatuarants. The rooms are individually and tastefully decorated, with elegance and warmth. The dining room is in the historic kitchen in front of the enormous hearth/fireplace. Most important is the service, warmth and friendliness of the staff, especially the owners Elisabeth and Paquel. They cater to your every need and want; and can even create fun and excitment inside the chateau as well as offering help with many activities and excursions in the Burgundy region. I recently had a midieval costume party there. Elisabeth supplied the very realistic custumes along with a dance group and music troubadours... I warn you that this will be habit forming if you come just once.
EG
US Ambassador, Ret.

Room Tip: All the rooms are special, different and exquisite. There are no bad rooms in the Chateau that I have stayed in.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EdG970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This was our second stay at Chateau de Vault de Lugny and once again the experience was exceptional. The location is private and beautiful and the accommodation is spacious, décor traditional and opulent with all the mod cons. For those guests driving the parking is covered and secure. The service is excellent (respectful, friendly and efficient - nothing is too much trouble) and then there is the truly amazing food! The chef had noted the food we particularly loved from our last stay and on our first visit to the dining room this time consulted with us - would we like to order from the new menu or would we like him to cook our favourite dishes/food from our last visit. The wine list is good and extensive and the service staff very knowledgeable. The property is occupied by the owners Elisabeth and Pascal who are always on hand to offer assistance and advice of this very special region. We found their approach to be professional, relaxed and friendly - the perfect mix!. If you have enjoyed such properties as Southern Ocean Lodge (Kangaroo Island, South Australia) Saffire (Tasmania, Australia) or the Hotel le Bristol in Paris, you will love this Chateau. I can not recommend visiting this fantastic place enough - every reason to come to France!

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are great but our room on the first floor looked out over the front gardens of the Chateau - very beautiful and peaceful.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This stunning Chateau set in the quiet Burgundian countryside is what one dreams of when planning to escape to France. The rooms are gorgeous and the grounds and common areas are impeccably maintained, dotted with cozy little nooks to relax and read in. There is a lovely indoor pool under a vaulted ceiling that is inviting and private, which I really enjoyed.

I could speak volumes of the architectural marvel that is the Chateau de Vault-de-Lugny, but it is the staff that makes this getaway the special place that it is. The owners, Elizabeth and Pascal, have succeeded in striking the perfect balance between providing service fit for royalty and making you feel right at home. The staff is friendly yet unimposing, willing and ready to do anything to make your stay special.

The dining experience is the best that I have had in France, and in my line of work I dine in some of the finest establishments this country has to offer. The Chef and his culinary team are passionate about serving only the freshest ingredients they harvest from their garden and the best that the local terroir has to offer. The wine list provides yet another reason to extend your stay.

This Chateau is a wonderful place to come relax and discover France's finest wine region. Elizabeth and Pascal can help with recommendations of local attractions; some highlights: truffle hunting with their dog and a hot air balloon excursion. Looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews