We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great coffee”

The Cafe and Tearooms on Bridge St
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Pembridge
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A cafe and tearooms serving light meals specialising in freshly cooked meals and scones and cakes from 9.00am to 2.30pm five days a week. We sell the best local ice cream Shepherds served an cones specially made for the ice cream.
uk
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It is easy to find a quaint tearoom in this part of the country, but a rarer thing is a modern café with good coffee. I had a really great cup of coffee. The service was really friendly, there was a good selection of home made cakes, papers to read and nice clean modern tables to sit at. I would definitely make a detour to visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcreader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    2
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
448 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I called in here today whilst out cycling and got a very friendly welcome. Really good coffee and tea cake . Good selection of homemade cakes . Had a quick look at the lunch menu and there seemed to be lots of choice and well price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bikerchick39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We certainly chose the right place to eat”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We popped in for lunch during a stop off in Pembridge. We had a sandwich each which was freshly prepared and well presented with crisps and dressed salad. I also had a slice of cake which was delicious. There was a very good selection of cakes and it was difficult to chose which one to have. The coffee was very good too. We received very good service and the owner was very friendly and welcoming I will certainly be back on my next trip to Pembridge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CJohnson648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
monmouthshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Don't even look over the road - eat here”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This unassuming café is on the black and white villages cycle route and we always plan our trip so that we stop here for lunch. The problem is there are too many nice things to choose.

The owner is a very experienced and skilled cook - so as well as enjoying well prepared food and cakes you can get a lesson on how to improve your own.

The owner takes great pride in choosing specialist tea and coffee to go with the food.

Things we have really enjoyed here - the beef and ham in sandwiches or salads, the soups, the scones and cakes.

The place over the road is probably fine - but this is where we will be parking our bikes

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GoodService4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Cafe”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

My Wife and I visited this cafe on 6th November after delivering to the Old Chappel Gallery opposite. Having driven nearly three hours we were in need of refreshment and were delighted to discover this delightful establishment. Veronica Richardson who runs the cafe single-handed, proved a very friendly and welcoming host and it turns out she does most of the cooking and bakes the wonderful selection of cakes. The homemade soup was delicious and coffee better than most of the chains. Bright and fresh, well decorated and spotlessly clean we will certainly visit again when in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnHazlemere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cafe and Tearooms on Bridge St also viewed

Pembridge, Herefordshire
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 
Pembridge, Herefordshire
Pembridge, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Cafe and Tearooms on Bridge St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing