We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”

Review of Chalet Marmotte

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Swimming pool with loungers Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Swimming pool with loungers
Living room
Dining room on roast night
Bedroom 6
Bedroom 1
Swimming pool
Table setting
Poached pear
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
9 Bedrooms, 11 Bathrooms, Sleeps 19
Champagny-en-Vanoise, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Paul B
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 November 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Beautiful chalet with great facilities just a short leg warm up walk to the lifts.
If your looking for party town skiing then Champagney is probably not for you, but there are some good bars and restaurants.
The catering in the chalet is of a high standard and well worth the money and the staff were excellent - friendly, helpful and efficient .
Particularity loved the outside hot tub and indoor pool (also with a hot tub).
Skiing in the area is extensive and caters for all abilities.
Loved it let's go again!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Food and facilities
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
Champagny is not a Meribel or a Val D'Isere in terms of 'in your face partying', but equally it is not a quiet backwater and does have several lively bars - La Timbale has live music and dj's every weekend and there's even a nightclub! We do have lively staff to help keep you entertained. Thanks for the review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
634martin...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great again”
Reviewed 13 November 2014 for a stay in March 2014

2nd visit to this fabulous chalet, decent food, lovely location, hot tub with a view of all views across the mountains to Courchevel, with the added bonus that you can leave your ski equipment near the lift in the ski hire shop.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CCorinne
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome views and great skiing”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at Chalet Marmotte! Natalie and Alan were great, food spot on and the views and facilities at the chalet were awesome, short but steep walk to gondola, you can ski all the way down to the village. The village was small with a few restaurants and bars with friendly staff.
Massive ski area linked to La Plagne and Les Arcs with lots of facilities.
Enjoyed relaxing in the hot tub every afternoon whilst taking in the breathtaking views - we will be back !

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aino P
Vaerloese, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, service and facilities”
Reviewed 12 November 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We - a group of 5 adults and 7 children (10-15 years old) - spent a fantastic week at Chalet Marmotte. My friend had recommended Barrelli Ski and Chalet, and we were not disappointed :-).
The location is perfect within a short walking distance from the lifts. The rooms are well sized and clean. The outdoor spa and the indoor pool were used every day after skiing :-). The young British couple, who prepared our meals was SO nice, funny and helpful and made our vacation perfect.
Steve from Barrelli Ski provided excellent service prior and during the reservation process.
I will highly recommend families or large groups to choose Chalet Marmotte!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melvin M
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Location - Fantastic Leisure facilities”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in December 2013

The village was perfect and very picturesque with the location of the chalet excellent in relation to the bars, restaurants and Gondola
Bedrooms were comfortable and the pool was fantastic for the kids along with the steam room and games room.
We were made to feel very welcome by Natalie, Alan, Brett and Rachel. They really mixed in with our crowd and worked hard to accommodate our needs

A couple of outstanding examples of this were……………….
• Some of the meal options were a little too rich for our younger tourers so Alan worked with us to pull together some menu options that suited the whole party
• One of our families had a catastrophe at Christmas where they were involved in the floods in Yalding Kent that were on the National news. The guys really helped out with access to scanners and printers.

There were others that “popped in and out” through the course of the week but these 4 guys deserve a mention

Prior to our holiday, the information flow really helped us with directions, lift passes, ski hire etc.

We have been back for 2 months now and I so want to go back !

BOOK NOW - YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and Pool area
Liked least: Walking up the hill to the bar !
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek T
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice Chalet and great staff in a pleasant village.”
Reviewed 28 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

I took a group of 18 people to the Chalet Marmott and the adjoining apartment Flocon as a catered holiday. The Staff were fantastic and chef coped with the various special dietary needs incredibly well. The Chalet is warm and comfortable and the facilities of exclusive outdoor Hot tub and indoor pool, hot tub and sauna make this a lovely place to stay. The food was excellent with good portions and very nice wines. The views across the valley are stunning. It's a short but fairly steep walk to the lifts in the morning or a very short drive with free parking at the lifts.
Champagny is a small pleasant village on the edge of the Paradiski but don't expect to ski Les Arcs as well as La Plagne every day, it's a fair hike to the Vanois Express taking about an hour for medium speed skiers. For all but the better skiers the return to the village at the end of the day is down in the gondola as the piste is red and not pleasant in poor conditions.
I do have a few minor criticisms. The mezzanine rooms are really only suitable for small children so so don't think about using them for adult sharers. The en-suite rooms do not include wc so there is only 1 toilet downstairs for the use of all residents at night and the staff doing the cooking/serving, and 2 toilets upstairs. During our stay there was an issue with the hot water supply which meant quick showers and no deep baths were the order of the day. Despite promises the local plumber did not fix it during our week there.
We had a fantastic holiday and would recommend the Chalet for groups and families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Staff and the views. Sitting in the hot tub with a glass of champagne surrounded by snow and admiring the view.
Liked least: Lack of toilets
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Dec 2014
We did everything we could to sort out the hot water but unfortunately one of the three hot water cylinders feeding the chalet broke down and needed replacing and this didn't happen until the end of this group's stay, for which we were very sorry and gave them several bottles of champagne to apologise. This meant there was hot water but not as much. Normally there is plenty with three tanks on continuously. The toilet issue has now been largely fixed as we have fitted two new en-suite shower and bathrooms downstairs, each with en-suite wc. Next year there will be another upstairs too. Thanks
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael W
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, excellent facilities, great stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a weekend at the end of the season with a large group of friends with small children. We used both the Marmotte and Sapinere chalets. Both are excellent for large groups with decent sized rooms, kitchens and living spaces. The swimming area is superb with a great pool, jacuzzi and sauna.which the kids loved. There is also an outdoor jacuzzi with views down the valley to Courchevel. The staff were excellent, they were friendly and helpful. They even managed to babysit for 15 children under the age of 6 on one evening - I think this is going way beyond the call of duty!!!

Champagny itself is a beautiful old french village. There are still farmers working in the village but there are enough bars and restaurants for apres ski (although the music in the galaxy disco pub is not for the faint hearted). The skiing is excellent. The telecabine from the village arrives at nearly 2000m so it is snow sure. There is enough in the champagny ski area to keep beginners happy and the massive La Plagne ski area is one lift away (verdons sud) from the top of the telecabine. It's possible to be on the Vanoise express to Les Arcs in an hour from champagny.

Overall I would thoroughly recommend Marmottes and Sapinere for a ski holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The swimming area
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing