We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Savoyard chalet with superb meals”

Review of Chalet Sapiniere

Skies clearing after heavy snow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Skies clearing after heavy snow
Atmospheric indoor swimming pool, hot tub and sauna with beautiful mountain views Spacious dining and living rooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Skies clearing after heavy snow
Atmospheric indoor swimming pool, hot tub and sauna with beautiful mountain views
Spacious dining and living rooms
Open plan dining and living room
Upstairs double opposite bathroom and next to shower
Loungers by the pool
View from upstairs twin twin bedrooms with balconies
Ski School at top of Champagny cable car from village
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Champagny-en-Vanoise, Savoie, Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
HunsleyFa...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Savoyard chalet with superb meals”
Reviewed 1 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Chalet Sapiniere is part of a small group of associated chalets which can be combined to provide extra accommodation if needed, as we did. Our group of 13 couldn't fit Sapiniere with sleeping arrangements but by also taking Flocon we were very comfortable and all fitted round the table for our meals.

To access the skiing you have a 'warm up the muscles' walk to the gondola, picking up your hire skis, on the way, at the rental shop where you store boots and skis each day. Your lift passes are organised and waiting for you on arrival and all we had to do was add the extra insurance for slope emergencies.

The food was tremendous; from hearty breakfasts to cake and tea for your return from the slopes to the superb evening meals, including very tasty alternatives for our 'veggie'. We were asked to vote for our favourite dishes at the end of our trip and the votes were fairly evenly spread!

The wood burning fire in the seating area gave a cheery glow to add to the underfloor heating so toes warmed up nicely while having preprandial drinkies.

Bedrooms are comfortable and having a tumble dryer and washing machine available is a useful addition.

Sauna, hottub and pool were used by some of our party and Steve tells me the 'bracing' temperature of the pool has been resolved but was great for after ski wind downs.

Finally the staff. We had a warm welcome and introductions to all the 'saisoner/res'. Josh is runnning the show this year and nothing was too much trouble. The chefs, Torrie and KiKI produced the wonderful meals and cakes including my birthday cake! Bravo.

This was our second visit to the complex and is not the last!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2017
We finally got to the bottom of the 'bracing' pool temperatures (24 deg C instead of the usual 28 - 30). One of the heater units had stopped working, meaning the remaining heater couldn't quite keep up with demand! The faulty heater has now been replaced (the day after it was correctly diagnosed in fact). This customer has just boked their third holiday with us for 2018, so we know this must have been just a small blip on their overall holiday experience!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aligCambr...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous family ski trip”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

For our first family ski trip this was an amazing experience. From the initial meet and greet, we were made to feel very welcome and able to sort out ski passes then get our skis, boots etc.We were so well looked after for the whole week, considering we were a large group of 14. The food was really amazing 3/4 course meal-tasty and wholesome-just what is needed when coming off the slopes.also catered for the little kids-nothing was too much trouble.Plenty of wine and bread to go with it too! Chalet was very comfortable with plenty of beds and bathrooms and seating area. The swimming pool and games room was an added bonus-and great to relax in after a day on the slopes. The kids loved it-pool a bit cold and showers were far too cold to use (only gripe!). Kiki and Brad were lovely chalet hosts-Thank you in making our first ski trip a holiday to remember! We would love to return again in the future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food!
Liked least: Cold showers on poolside
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1allon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful winter break”
Reviewed 19 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for a week, lovely little place the staff were very pleasant and made us all feel very welcome. The food was excellent and the accommodation was very clean overall it made a fantastic holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoboFamil...
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Look no further...”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment you make your initial contact with Steve to the point where you are forced to say goodbye to James, one of the nicest and definitely the best chef's ever to grace a chalet, this is an absolute delight. The accommodation is fantastic - from the wonderful wellness suite to the super-comfortable beds - the staff are all friendly and professional and the food is absolutely top notch. Of course the skiing ain't half bad too. We will be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dora E
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I just can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This chalet was perfect, I've been so impressed.

Let's start with the location, it's less than a ten minute (downhill) walk from the ski hire shop/ restaurants, and lift. It looks over Savoie with breathing taking views from the two double sliding doors of the south facing rear of the chalet.Within 5 minutes is a delicious boulangerie, a SPA for essentials, and this chalet sits off the main road so it easy to find. The area was quiet, serene and very relaxing. A perfect getaway.

Now for the chalet, it held 14 of us with such ease, not to mention with warmth and comfort. The beds were comfy and snug, just what we needed after a long day on the slopes. The chalet was warm, during the night we could even afford to open the window for some fresh air. The underfloor heating was an absolute joy – no tip toeing around cold floors. No thank you.

With several bathrooms queuing was not a problem at all. The downstairs hosts a huge but snug seating area, which could entertain 14 of us , but also just two when needed. All whilst having the backdrop of the mountains from the huge windows onto the balcony. There is wi-fi to photo message envious pals back home of the digs, food, and the views.

Adjacent to the sitting area is the dining area, which was able to effortlessly sit 14 around it's huge table. This leads me onto the food which was simply outstanding! 10/10.

The day started with the table laid with fresh baguettes, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs (to your preference), baked beans, butter, a gazillion slice of cheese, meaty stuff ( I ate veggie), cereals (muesli, cornflakes, choc cluster things – the lot), orange juice, apple juice, tea, coffee... you get my drift. It was plentiful and the perfect start to the day.

As for dinner, well, that was something else. Where does one start?

We kicked off with a different tasty starter every evening from blue cheese salad, to mushroom topped bruschetta (tomatoe for one person who politely declined mushrooms). Mains – well I ordered veggie, which is what I will comment on. I had salmon, trout, mussels, sea food stew, prawns, veggie lasagne– each meal was cooked and prepared beautifully. My meals were carefully prepared separately, and certainly not as an after thought. Finally, dessert, again was delicious, and as ever plentiful. There was not one mouthful of food that was not well received by anyone during this week.

Incredibly despite the large group the chalet hosts paid attention to each person, and were able to please 14 hungry stomachs without anything but praise all week. They juggled meat and non meat eaters, fish and non fish eaters, gluten and gluten free eaters plus other more weird and wonderful random food requests- all with patience and in good spirits. And such were the portions that the bread often remained neglected in the centre of the table.

Finally, the crème de a cream was the pool downstairs, which aside from a hot tub and sauna next to it, looked over the most stunning view of the alps. Just what is needed post slope workout, and pre delicious dinner.

In summary, I can't recommend this place enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Leaving :(
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic ski resort with a relaxing retreat in the Alps”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a fantastic place in a small village of Champagny en Vanoise!!! Chalet Sapiniere and Barrelli ski have been excellent which has made this years ski holiday with friends a memorable one!!!
The hosts were kind, hard working and a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude which has made our stay a truly relaxing and enjoyable one. The food was great and the chalet itself was clean, tidy and has a warm feel to it plus with the swimming pool and hot tub, it's made this a truly relaxing place to be after a great day of skiing!!!
Would I go again....ABSOLUTELY!!! This has been our 2nd year and just keeps on getting better!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - can't fault this chalet or resort
Liked least: Wifi - poor signal
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlesmi...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Warm and welcoming - amazing team work”
Reviewed 11 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

From the very start, Chalet Sapiniere and the amazing team worked hard to make each of us feel welcome, fully engaged in making our holiday easy and enjoyable, 100% achieved - Thank you Team Sapiniere.

Our food was prepared and delivered professionally – can honestly say, there was not one choice on the menu that I didn’t like, dinner times were yummy (as were the daily cakes).

The property was warm, cosy and well maintained. There was plenty of room for each of us. I really enjoyed relaxing the Pool, Sauna and hot tub after a full day on the slopes.

Chalet Sapiniere, is located in a great spot for easy access to all facilities in the town and the lift.

Amazing team work - thank you - you made our holiday even more enjoyable :)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing