We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing, friendly and convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Glieres

Les Glieres
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Les Glieres
Essxe
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

We absolutely loved our time at this hotel. The owners were very friendly, helpful and accommodating, yet with a sense of humour.
Plus points;
- evenings relaxing in the lounge in front of the open fire
- easy sub 5 minute walk to the telecabine
- attractive village centre, with great views back to Courchevel
- we stayed in one of the largest rooms which was ample in size
- good ski room with heated boot storage
- good quality four course evening meals and good buffet breakfast
- perfect location on the edge of Paradiski, with quick access to La Plagne via new fast chair.
- our hosts very helpful when I was injured with a minor fall

Great trip, we will return...and we have stayed in numerous ski resorts over the past 27 years

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jools1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    16
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
22
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This may sound strange, but we didn't actually stay in this hotel; it just felt as if we did, so I hope this is accepted as a valid review. We had booked a self catering chalet 100 m away in Champagny and had dinner and breakfast there every day for 4 days in March this year. At the end of this we had found the hosts so friendly and helpful and the food so good, that we asked to see the rooms for next season. Beatrice showed us all the rooms with some pride - she and her husband, Jean-Francois, have completely decorated and fitted out this hotel, and just finished this year.

The hotel is situated in Champagny en Vanoise, quite high up in the village, making access to the cable car easy (about 250m up the hill). The snow in the village was gone when we were there, but under normal snow conditions it should just be possible to ski back to the hotel from the lift. Since it's on the side of the mountain the views are terrific.

We were shown all the rooms, spread over 3 floors. The rooms are not huge, but they are tastefully decorated, all with en-suite, all well-lit and clean.

6 of us ate 3 course dinners there every night of our stay. We struck a deal for a fixed menu and breakfast for 4 nights, which cost us €30 each. This is extraordinary value for a French ski resort. The food was not spectacular with the fixed menu, but it was certainly good and there was plenty of it. Breakfast each morning was a buffet with no limits - cereals, fruit, pains chocolat, croissants, fresh bread rolls, cheese, ham, egg, cake (if you're that way inclined) and as much fruit juice, tea, coffee or chocolate as you can drink. Breakfast is served from 8:00 to 10:00, which may not be early enough for some, though it was for us. Service was prompt and friendly.

Rooms cost from €77 (low season) to €88 (high season), half board, per person, per night, based on two person occupation. (Note that this is a little unusual in France, where most room prices are quoted per room). Better deals (10% to 12% less) are available for longer stays.

Free WiFi.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our fifth visit to this hotel, and each time we enjoy it more and more. The owners are lovely people, warm, welcoming and very kind. The food was better than ever and the traditionally decorated rooms, whilst compact, are cosy and spotlessly clean. The best value to be found in this part of the La Plagne ski area and away from the busier, more well known ski villages of Belle Plagne and Bellecote or Aime La Plagne, which we find rather too commercialised. Breakfast is substantial, cereals, yoghurt, warm croissants, various delicious breads and brioche, yoghurts plus ham and cheese with quite simply the best coffee I have ever tasted. Perfect for a large group (as we were) or a small family or for a romantic break. The bar/sitting room is a great place to relax in the day or for a pre dinner drink, with a roaring fire and plenty of books and games to while away an hour or two.

Room Tip: Room 24 is a very large triple (can also be made into a quad?). The south facing balcony rooms have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

My husband and I spent four nights here during a mini ski holiday. The owners were very welcoming and made us feel at home. We had to arrive very late at night and they gave us instructions to access the hotel, as well as their cell phone number to reach them if necessary. The room itself was small (this is Europe) but quite lovely and comfortable. As others have said, the fireside bar is a great place to relax after a long day. Additionally, the location is superb. We didn't need to use our car the entire time we were there - just pop out the door and you are at a little ski village and a lift to the La Plagne resort (Champagny side).

We were a little disappointed that the advertized sauna is not free - you have to pay 11 Euros for an hour. Additionally, while the continental breakfast was quite nice, for 10 Euro each I would have liked something a bit more substantial.

All in all, a great hotel. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We had a great stay (as hoped after choosing it because of the good reviews) in this nice hotel. The owners are very friendly, the food (breakfast and diner) were very good and the accomodations very warm and comfortable (great fireplace!).
The location in the nice village of Champagny is good if you want to go skiing as it´s close to the start of the cabins going to the slopes.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrottersforlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

this is the second time we are staying in this hotel
we love it here
the welcome from the staff is excellent, they are really looking after us as if we were family
food is very good
we have food intolerance and all our meals were adapted to our needs
the main room with its fireplace is a great place to get a drink after a full day of ski
the hotel is 5 minutes (max) walk to the ski slopes
we highly recommend the place

there is a kids room with a huge TV and a pool table

Room Tip: ask for a room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robertvalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

A very good value typically 'French' small family run hotel located in the most perfect location on the edge of the huge La Plagne ski area. Nothing is too much trouble for the owners of this lovely little hotel, so friendly and welcoming. Small traditionally furnished bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms and stunning balcony views across to Courcheval the other side of the valley. A very comfortable bed. Our only slight criticism would be not enough hooks on which to hang damp ski gear in the rooms. The bar with its open log fires was the perfect place to relax after a long day skiing. There is a large ski locker room with heated boot racks and plenty of space for 'booting up' in the morning. We chose to eat the set menu at dinner and whilst not always to our taste the food was well prepared and varied and very, very French. Excellent wine at reasonable prices. Plenty of on street parking right outside. It would be difficult, if not impossible, to find a better hotel in this sought after ski area, at such good value. We will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: The triple and quadruple bedded rooms are lacking in storage slightly. The South facing balcony roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Champagny-en-Vanoise
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ancolie
Hotel Ancolie
#1 of 4 in Champagny-en-Vanoise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Bellecote
Hotel Bellecote
#1 of 2 in Montchavin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel les Cimes Blanches
Hotel les Cimes Blanches
#27 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
CGH Residences & Spas Les Alpages de Champagny
CGH Residences & Spas Les Alpage...
#2 of 5 in Champagny-en-Vanoise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Residence Les Edelweiss
Residence Les Edelweiss
#1 of 5 in Champagny-en-Vanoise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Glieres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Glieres

Property: Les Glieres
Address: Planchamp, 73350 Champagny-en-Vanoise, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Champagny-en-Vanoise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Champagny-en-Vanoise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Les Glieres 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Les Glieres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing