We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“summer visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“summer visit”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and since our last visit four years ago the apartments have a slightly tired feeling about them. Although we were the first visitors of the summer, bathrooms and kitchen areas could have done with a good deep clean and all carried a neat layer of dust on the skirting boards. Most of the crockery had chips and the beds are the smallest and worst I have ever experienced in my travels.Staff however are very pleasant and the pool area was a welcome relief from all the rain.
If staying here ask for a 3 bed apartment at the front. My husband and I had a two bed (which was designed for 6 apparently at the back which was like a dungeon after mid day and so tiny we found it claustrophobic)

Room Tip: definately at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karynArmagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RJ J, Directeur général at Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Dear KaryArma,

Thank you for this view and for your frank comments.

When you make your booking reservation you can make some wish, if you prefer an apartment juste next to the reception area or with a South view.Please know that we are really sorry that your stay in your flat wasn’t what you were expected.

Your comments asking us lots of vigilance, we'd love to have the chance to welcome you again to make you love this beautiful place.

Sincerely,
RJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    35
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
79
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Built by MGM, run by CGH, this slickly operated apartment building (NOT a hotel, despite what the Tripadvisor category header says) is still the best of the big in Sainte Foy. And it has the ideal location – walk out and ski in, when some others are 300m from the lift.

Larger than the average MGM apartments (minimum two bedrooms) the fit out is to a high standard. Multi lingual reception staff are friendly and efficient, there’s a pool and beauty spa and for those unable to face the short walk to the baker’s your morning baguette can be delivered. A branch of Ski Set is in the building.

Resort facing apartments look up the mountain and are ideal for keeping an eye on the kids. Valley facing have views to Mont Pourri and Les Arcs. Although no longer new the apartments are well maintained and not noticeably tiring – but be certain to check the inventory very thoroughly on arrival. Increasingly, small losses are not being picked up in pre-occupation checks (a pity given the otherwise high standards) though a handyman corrects any problems swiftly.

The MGM/CGH formula is much imitated. But what sets Les Fermes apart is the way the operators actually understand skiers. Skiers have lots of gear – so there is lots of storage space in the apartments. Skiers have to kit out with skis and boots – so there are big ski rooms with plenty of seating. And these days skiers (and their families) have lots of devices. Some operators provide Wi-Fi only in reception, others charge for more than one device.

This year Les Fermes offers two free and very fast Wi-Fi connections for every apartment - a subtle nod over the shoulder at competition still running hard but not quite catching up.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Downhiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéven E, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Peak retreat staff,

We thank you for your feedback and for all the important information you share.

Kind Regards and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at Les Fermes, and the apartments are still comfortable, nicely furnished and generally well equipped. I would say that, this time, they had a slightly more tired air and could do with a little updating. Some of the equipment in our kitchen was missing, two lightbulbs weren't working, and the extractor fan in the kitchen simply fell off the wall when we tried to remove the cooking smell from the previous occupants! These are all relatively minor points though: overall the apartments are spacious, with good bathrooms and kitchens, and cover every need. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly, and speak a very wide range of foreign languages. The apartment buildings are excellently situated just by the nursery slope and chairlift (although it does involve a steep walk of approx. 200m on a snowy track to reach them!), and they have a ski hire shop (at which you will get a discount) on site. Other amenities (lift pass office, supermarket, bakery etc) are a short walk away.

This is our third visit to Ste Foy, and we have noticed that the resort has become more crowded and more English - it's appeal on previous visits was that it was uncrowded, short lift queues (despite limited ski area) and very friendly. In the meantime, more apartments have been built, but not more additional facilities such as restaurants or ski lifts (except one new mountain restaurant) so everything is that bit more crowded.

For us, with children, the limited ski area is not generally a problem, but on two days, the highest lift (Aiguille) was closed due to the wind, which restricted the available runs, and on one other day the second lift (Arpette) broke down, meaning that the only lift in operation in the resort was the bottom one (Grand Plan). We were offered passes for Les Arcs, but that only works if you have a car to get there! Nobody seemed to be working on the lift all day, which amazed me in the busiest week of the year (half term), but it reopened the next day, thank goodness. It made me realise how dependent you are on all the lifts working perfectly to get a reasonable range of ski area.

We used a lovely ski instructor for our children (her English was perfect), and they progressed really well. Some of the mountain restaurants are excellent (I would particularly recommend Les Brevettes) but a final word of warning: book evening restaurants as soon as you arrive, as by Tuesday (when we tried to book) they were all full for the entire week!

Room Tip: If possible, have a room overlooking the valley rather than the ski lift: it's much quieter! Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéven E, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Sir,

We thank you for your feedback and we are happy that you enjoy your stay in this CGH résidence and in this small and quiet resort.
We also notice the diferent point you mentioned

We hope to see you again in Les Fermes de Ste Foy.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Apartments are comfortable, well presented, clean and well placed at the foot of the nursery slope aswell as being close to shops. Good views either way across the valley or back to the nursery slopes. Found the facilities to be good throughout the complex and the staff more than willing to help.

As for the resort, normally good snow, good ski schools for beginner / intermediate levels and great off piste. Plenty bars & well stocked shops. Helpful ski hire shops willing to assist and make your break a good one. Becoming more developed as each season passes and not sure that it is such a good thing as it may lose its "family feel".

However, we've been back time and time again, so that says it all. Recommended.

Room Tip: If you have small children avoid the duplex rooms on the upper floors as these have steep wooden sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GBRTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stéven E, Gérant at Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We thank you for your feedback, myself and all my staff are very happy of your comments.

We hope that you will stay again in our beautiful Resort in the future and that your next experience with us will be again excellent.

Kind Regards,

Stéven EMILY - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Stayed with a bunch of mates and the accommodation is exceptional with friendly staff and excellent facilities.
As another reviewer states these are self catering apartments; but good ones, well equipped and very spacious.
The pool and sauna are great and the apartments are within a 2min walk of the lift, restaurants and shops so life becomes especially easy and laid back.
The resort is close to perfect, very quiet and very friendly with excellent well planned runs and lots of off piste.
All in all I loved it so much I've just booked to go back next year with my family...

Room Tip: The apartments on the East look directly out onto the slopes which is probably great if you want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We (2 adults, 2 kids ages 5 and 7) stayed here for a week in January. The resort is small, but all the better for it. There are only 4 lifts (all chairs) but somehow it feels bigger, and there was plenty of good skiing to keep us interested for a week - a good selection of red and blue runs, plus a huge off-piste area for the more adventurous. Even though it was peak season, there were no queues at the lifts and the slopes were not too crowded. There are only a few restaurants and bars, but what's there is fine and quite cheap. We ate most of our meals in the apartment, buying provisions at the little mini-market in the village which had everything we needed. The majority of skiiers were British and Dutch families; they were well behaved and drunken chavs and annoying teenagers were not in evidence. Overall, the resort is less crowded, cheaper and more charming than its more famous neighbours.

The residence is newly built to high quality, and is well situated at the bottom of the nursery slope with easy access on skis to the main lift. We had a 2 bedroom duplex apartment that was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was modern and well equipped, and the other furniture was fine, although it was missing a nice comfy sofa to sprawl on after a hard day on the slopes. The beds were a bit small, but otherwise fine. We made daily use of the swimming pool and sauna, which, unlike for other reviewers, were fully working and hot. Mrs Yarbles and kid 1 also had a massage which they liked. It's true that the residence is not a hotel, and there is no restaurant or bar, although there is a nice common area with a pool table, but no fire, unfortunately.

Overall, it is a very nice residence in a small but charming resort. We would certainly go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France and Oxford, England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Why is this listed as a Hotel? It isn't.

This is a collection of serviced apartments. Thre's no bar, no comunal area, no restaurant....in fact nothing you'd expect to find in a Hotel.

I repeat that this is not a Hotel!

There is a Spa though. Don't be tempted to go there though. The day we went the jacuzzi was cold and the noise of the screaming children everywhere made us leave straight away.....and no they didn't give us our money back and yes they said that 21 degrees was the right temperature for a jacuzzi.

Client service hitting new depths; I think so!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AnneMarie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
7.2 mi away
Hotel Village Montana
Hotel Village Montana
#2 of 37 in Tignes
370 reviews
0.2 mi away
Residence Club mmv Sainte Foy Tarentaise L'Etoile des Cimes
Residence Club mmv Sainte Foy Ta...
#1 of 24 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
161 reviews
0.4 mi away
Residence Le Ruitor
Residence Le Ruitor
#3 of 24 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Residence CGH les Cimes Blanches - La Rosiere 1850
5.7 mi away
Residence CGH Le Kalinda
6.6 mi away
L'Oree des Cimes
L'Oree des Cimes
#1 of 12 in Nancroix
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy

Property: Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy
Address: Sainte Foy Station Bonconseil, 73640 Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of the Tarentaise Valley, the resort of Sainte-Foy is seen as the refuge of those who love tradition and the conservation of nature. It is here that we chose to build our magnificent residence, Les Fermes de Sainte Foy, with the sun as a witness and the Thuria glacier as a neighbour. Off-piste fans, welcome. A real hymn to mountain hospitality, the Fermes de Sainte-Foy combine warm and welcoming decor and spacious volumes to create areas entirely dedicated to your relaxation and getting you back in shape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ski Planet, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Les Fermes De Sainte Foy Hotel Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing