We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small treasure in the French alps”
Review of Hotel Le Monal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Monal
Certificate of Excellence
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A small treasure in the French alps”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel's restaurant is one of the best gourmet restaurant in the whole area.
The amenities were l'occitane. We choose a double comfort room, that was very beautiful and minimal with a superb kitchen.
The only disadvantage was the bed. It was little small for two persons.
It would be more comfortable if we had chosen a double suite with terrace.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinaki_yianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    38
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
20
30
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed in the apartments/ studio across the road from the main hotel. We had a great stay in a clean and modern apartment with fantastic views.
Large studio compared to places you would find in the main ski resorts. Tignes about 20 minutes drive and Val D'Isere about 30 minutes, there is also a bus stop outside which runs frequently throughout the day to ski areas.
We had a studio, pull out sofa bed in the lounge and large double in the bedroom area all open plan fine for two adults and a 7 & 10 yr old.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having had to walk out of the planned hotel, Le Monal came to our rescue! Recommended by a local friend it was excellent in all respects.

Both couples arrived hot and frustrated in two old classic cars and the barman had two large glasses (deux seriouses) of cold beer standing waiting for us without payment - and we had yet to check-in!

The rooms were well furnished to a good standard and very clean. We had wonderful views across the valley towards Villaroger and a remarkably comfortable bed.

The evening meal was outstanding verging on fine dining with great friendly, but unobtrusive, service; similarly the breakfast was substantial.

Overall the ambience, good facilities and friendly service ensured that we shall stay here again

Room Tip: The front rooms have the views but the rear rooms are perhaps quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resource_inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After staying in a variety of 3 star hotels on our recent tour through the alps we were pleasantly surprised by this one! In a gorge like valley it has a convienient position on the main road but as our room was on the back we were not bothered by traffic noise. The decor was unique and quite cute. The restaurant outside had a very good atmosphere as it seems to be popular with the locals and the food was very good. The breakfast was equally good. The only downside was no airconditioning in the room so we had to keep the balcony door open and then got woken by a delivery lorry! Apart from this we thoroughly enjoyed our night in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have a good view and seem to be shielded from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

A nice room with a balcony and a view of magnificent mountains. This hotel has that. Nice staff and a good breakfast. We also had a very good dinner in the hotel restaurant. Wonderful cheese fondu mmm...

Room Tip: Get a room with a view and balcony to enjoy it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMatth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We a group of six ski touring tourist spend four day at Le Monal in April. We enjoy the hospitality of this place in general and the local but personal atmosphere that exist here. Our rooms was at the other side of the street in a recently renovated building - the renovation is done with a lot of effort in trying to maintain an original atmosphere - and they succeeded. View was fantastic.

Room Tip: ask for the appartments on the other side of the street !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Falholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I booked a able for 1:45 for 9 people today. I turned up at 1:45 There was no table. I was presented with a variety of excuses Notwithstanding there was an entire empty floor of table On the first floor they had given our table 'to a local family' We ended up eating with our party split between the bar and a small table. Al very stressful
Any concession on the bill because of their incompetence? - no
Any attempt to manage our stress with a smile or a complimentary aperitif? - no
Btw the food was quite good
We left the place hoping that other travellers wanting to spend their hard earned euros won't make the same mistake of getti g ripped by this restaurant who clearly assume that they can rip off passing tourists without any comeback. Shame on them!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gd2betru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
5.9 mi away
Hotel Autantic
Hotel Autantic
#9 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
127 reviews
3.2 mi away
Relais du Petit St Bernard
Relais du Petit St Bernard
#2 of 8 in La Rosiere
67 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sainte Foy
Residence CGH Les Fermes de Sain...
#7 of 25 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Residence Club mmv Sainte Foy Tarentaise L'Etoile des Cimes
Residence Club mmv Sainte Foy Ta...
#1 of 25 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
159 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ruitor
Residence Le Ruitor
#3 of 25 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Monal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Monal

Property: Hotel Le Monal
Address: Route de Val d'Isere | Chef Lieu, 73640 Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Monal 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Checked on third party agents and as per checked 23 rooms in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Monal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing