We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and quality meal”
Review of Hotel Le Monal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Le Monal
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Poor service and quality meal”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Visited this hotels restaurant for an evening meal whilst staying up the road in sainte foy station with family. Booked a table well in advance of the date however had to wait nearly an hour until other diners had finished their meal before we could sit down. Bar very busy therefore very few spaces to sit as a group of seven. Expected to be eating upstairs away from the bar in the restaurant but table set downstairs which was a little disappointing as the area was noisy and crowded with locals therefore difficult to converse. Service very slow and food very average.

Room Tip: Not staying at hotel had a meal in Le Monal restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shada50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    37
    12
    1
    4
See reviews for
20
30
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is popular because of its location. 30 minutes or less drive to Les Arcs or Val d'Isere and a short free shuttle to Sainte Foy station (a gem of a resort). We stayed in a family room. It was functional, had a good view and but wasn't much better than the standard of a good quality hostel. We were disappointed as the room price was indicative of the time of year and not the quality of the accommodation. During peak season, the advertised room rates (booking.com) are exclusive of breakfast - another €10 pppn.
This contrasted with the restaurant and bar which served excellent food and wines but at a price to match. We were forced to travel to eat elsewhere most of the time at about half the cost, and this is the reason why I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a skiing break. It is not the 'complete package' for the average skiier who is in the alps for the skiing followed by refueling, rather than the gourmand experience.
We were pleased to see that he room came with a kettle and selection of teabags and coffee sachets. Unfortunately, the stock of tea and coffee was never replenished during our stay (4 nights) and room service never washed up used cups. A trivial irritant I appreciate, but a pretty basic expectation of any hotel. This may be linked to the fact that they were clearly understaffed. The bar area service was poor and it was the same every night.

The location is good as the free shuttle bus to Sainte Foy ski station stops outside the hotel. Very handy as parking up at the Sainte Foy Station could be quite a challenge as the roads were covered with compacted snow near the ski station when we visited.

Overall, a not very suitable hotel [for our needs as skiiers]. Probably a completely different story for a romantic getaway. I wouldn't recommend it but at the same time, if I could find nowhere else, I would stay there again with my expectations firmly downgraded.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zureal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel monal is a comfortable and aesthetically pleasing stay , with breakfast served from 7:30 onwards and evening meals from 7:30 pm onwards with food of a very nice standard . The difficulties arise from transfers dont be tempted by cheap easy jet flights as you will loose two whole days travelling i found myself having to leave one day earlier than scheduled because of no busses for a 9:00 am flight out of geneva. After a long days boarding there is no facility to relax , i e no swimming pools no spas no massage no hot tubs in any of the village hotels , however you will be rewarded with some very nice blue & red runs on st - foy-terantaise allow about 30 euros incl insurance for lift passes, also the tourist info at this resort is the most helpfull that i have come across all in all a great resort and certainly cheaper than tignes .

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The hotel's restaurant is one of the best gourmet restaurant in the whole area.
The amenities were l'occitane. We choose a double comfort room, that was very beautiful and minimal with a superb kitchen.
The only disadvantage was the bed. It was little small for two persons.
It would be more comfortable if we had chosen a double suite with terrace.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rinaki_yianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed in the apartments/ studio across the road from the main hotel. We had a great stay in a clean and modern apartment with fantastic views.
Large studio compared to places you would find in the main ski resorts. Tignes about 20 minutes drive and Val D'Isere about 30 minutes, there is also a bus stop outside which runs frequently throughout the day to ski areas.
We had a studio, pull out sofa bed in the lounge and large double in the bedroom area all open plan fine for two adults and a 7 & 10 yr old.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Having had to walk out of the planned hotel, Le Monal came to our rescue! Recommended by a local friend it was excellent in all respects.

Both couples arrived hot and frustrated in two old classic cars and the barman had two large glasses (deux seriouses) of cold beer standing waiting for us without payment - and we had yet to check-in!

The rooms were well furnished to a good standard and very clean. We had wonderful views across the valley towards Villaroger and a remarkably comfortable bed.

The evening meal was outstanding verging on fine dining with great friendly, but unobtrusive, service; similarly the breakfast was substantial.

Overall the ambience, good facilities and friendly service ensured that we shall stay here again

Room Tip: The front rooms have the views but the rear rooms are perhaps quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resource_inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After staying in a variety of 3 star hotels on our recent tour through the alps we were pleasantly surprised by this one! In a gorge like valley it has a convienient position on the main road but as our room was on the back we were not bothered by traffic noise. The decor was unique and quite cute. The restaurant outside had a very good atmosphere as it seems to be popular with the locals and the food was very good. The breakfast was equally good. The only downside was no airconditioning in the room so we had to keep the balcony door open and then got woken by a delivery lorry! Apart from this we thoroughly enjoyed our night in this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back have a good view and seem to be shielded from road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveJ1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
2.6 mi away
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#2 of 3 in Seez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
Hotel L'Aiguille Grive
#2 of 17 in Les Arcs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Hotel Autantic
Hotel Autantic
#9 of 28 in Bourg Saint Maurice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Arc 1950 Le Village
0.8 mi away
Residence Le Ruitor
Residence Le Ruitor
#4 of 25 in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Monal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Monal

Property: Hotel Le Monal
Address: Route de Val d'Isere | Chef Lieu, 73640 Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Foy-Tarentaise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Monal 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Checked on third party agents and as per checked 23 rooms in total. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Le Monal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing