We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family Christmas at Chalet Ecole”
Review of Chalet Ecole

Chalet Ecole
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Roche-sur-Foron
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chalet Ecole
Falmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic family Christmas at Chalet Ecole”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

Wow!! What to add to the already excellent comments about this place that hasn't already been said! Having scoured the internet for several weeks looking for something a bit special/different for our extended family ski trip at Christmas I happened upon the Chalet Ecole website and knew i'd found something special. A little more research (including tripadvisor!) and recommendations in the Telegraph was enough for me to take the plunge and book the trip. 10 of us stayed (6 adults and 4 children ages 8-4) and were picked up by Dan at Geneva airport (transfers included!) which was really straightforward and saved a lot of hassle - especially with 4 young kids in tow. The chalet exceeded our expectations (it really does look better in the flesh!) and was suitably complete with Christmas tree (real!) and the whole ambience was very festive. After our long journey we were introduced to our chalet host Ian - who had already prepared cake and afternoon tea for us with a warm fire to relax next to - an excellent start to the trip. Food was gourmet standard and everything was tailored to us (kids ate earlier) - every evening felt like we'd gone to a 5 star restaurant - superb. Dan and Becky were only too happy to help with anything we needed - the kids were driven up to the resort every morning for lessons and picked up again in the afternoon with no fuss - again another reason to recommend this place. Christmas day itself was amazing - we arrived back from day out on the slopes to home made Christmas cake, mince pies and chocolate treats for the kids. Mulled wine prior to dinner then champagne and crackers before a cracking roast turkey with all the trimmings, followed by raspberry pavlova and flaming Christmas pud!! Would whole heartedly recommend this special place for a relaxing break with friends/family - or in fact if you just fancy a rest!! Skiing was excellent and we hope to come back at some point -Thanks Dan, Becky and Ian for such a memorable trip. Love from the Bidgoods, Sewells and Minters.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VBidgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Our first ski trip and what a place to experience it. The chalet was beautiful, whoever designed it has a rare talent. The food was divine and Nina our chalet host was perfect and professional in every way. Dan and Becky have thought of everything to make a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just come back from a week's skiing in La Plagne. The chalet we stayed in couldn't have been any better. The quality of the chalet was second to none with an amazing interior design that was both modern and really comfortable. We were looked after incredibly well by our chalet host Nina who cooked some amazing food over the week, whilst chalet owners Dan and Becky did everything to make our stay really memorable, from airport pick ups to top tips on where to ski.
All in all, a chalet thoroughly worth recommending!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oli k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2011

This is a beautifully designed chalet with quality interior build throughout, the photos say it all. Add to that perfect hospitality where Dan, Becky and team do everything they can to help you enjoy your stay and it really is the perfect place to stay in La Plagne. There is a great restaurant/bar just down the road by the ski lift for lunch and the food, cakes and breakfast in the chalet are just great.

Being picked up and dropped off at the airport is just another great service you don't normally get. Will be going back.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nickgerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paddock Wood
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

The chalet is gorgous being both stylish and cosy. Every room is lovely and there are great views of the mountains. After a days skiing it was lovely to come back to the fire roaring, a jacuzzi bath and freshly baked cakes or biscuits.

Dan and Becky put in those extra touches, which we certainly appreciated from the beautifully decorated christmas tree and wreath on the door, to collecting us from La Plagne after a lively New Years Eve.

The food was really delicious and they made every effort to cater for our tricky tastes.

La Roche is quieter, but the local restaurant had good food and the bob sleigh was great fun.

It really was as good as it looks on their website.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryE15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

We have just stayed in Chalet Ecole (sleeps 10) for a week from Boxing day 2010. The stunning photo's on the website are accurate and are what first attracted us to book this residence. The building has been lovingly restored and the decor is very cool (why doesn't my own house look like this !).
The food is truely excellent and prepared fresh for every meal. Our hosts, Dan & Becky could not have been more helpful and were always flexible around our varied schedule. Dan even came to collect us from Plagne Bellcote at just after midnight on new years eve/ day so we could get the kids into bed.
The pistes are easily accesible from a chair lift just down the road where there is also a very good restaurant who give an extra warm welcome to 'friends' of Chalet Ecole
I would absolutely recommend Chalet Ecole to anyone, but especially families.
We loved staying here and would hope to come back in the future - no question.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremy_neeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Quite simply brilliant. I stayed last year but have only just got around to putting on a review as we are beginning to plan the next skiing holiday. Chalet Ecole is amazing. The style is contempory but so comfortable and warm. The food was absolutely brilliant- tasty and filling- exactly what was needed after a hard day of skiing. The hosts were very friendly and made sure that we had everything that we needed.

I would definitely recommend this chalet.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rwliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Roche-sur-Foron
0.5 mi away
Inter Hotel le Foron
Inter Hotel le Foron
#1 of 1 in La Roche-sur-Foron
41 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mont Blanc Hotel
Mont Blanc Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pierre-en-Faucigny
137 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Les Afforets
Hotel Les Afforets
#1 of 2 in La Roche-sur-Foron
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Ecole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Ecole

Property: Chalet Ecole
Address: La Roche | La Plagne, La Roche-sur-Foron, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > La Roche-sur-Foron
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in La Roche-sur-Foron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 17

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing