We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
43
29
3
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
43
29
3
3
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The staff was great. I showed up late and was a little worried because Offline Maps said it would take 30 minutes from where I was staying in Halong City to get to Alex Hotel. My friend who was staying at Alex, waiting for me asked the front desk & they wrote out directions in Vietnamese to give to my taxi driver. So helpful! It took me less than 10 minutes to get there thanks to their directions.

Room was comfortable. I stayed on the second floor which provided window views of the surrounding houses, which was cool to see locals doing laundry & going about their business.

The only two things I think that could be improved upon is the internet and the water temperature. The wi-fi was not very reliable and dropped pretty frequently. The hot water lasted less than 10 minutes so you have to move fast & there's no divider between the shower and the toilet so everything gets wet. Keep your towels outside the bathroom until you're done.

Other than those two things, my stay was great! They arranged an amazing 3 day, 2 night cruise w/a bungalow stay with Imperial Cruise Lines. It was amazing. Definitely recommend the cruise and it includes a shuttle ride to Hanoi in the price.

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kathrynlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosy-halong, Người quản lý at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Hi Kathryn,
We would like to thank for your stay in my hotel!
I remember you and your friend are very closely and lovely customers. All for your idea about your staying will be solve with best way. Because we always want to improve best services for our guests.

Thanks and regards,
Rosy/Ms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2016 via mobile

Alex hotel is a geat place with comfortable beds and a great staff. It's a great place to stay if budget and comfort are on your mind. Would definitely stay again. The rooms are spacious and provide what you need. Mine had a great balcony for morning coffee drinking. Thanks for giving me a place for a good sleep.

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank 309amab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosy-halong, Người quản lý at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

Hi Ama,
Thanks very much for the lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us.

Regards,
Rosy/Ms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2016

Our stay in Alex Hotel was perfect for us. The room and bathroom are very clean and the staff in really helpful and nice. We will recommend this place to everyone who need to stay in a simple and economic but perfect place!

Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Elodie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosy-halong, Người quản lý at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Dear Elodie
Thanks very much for the lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us. Once again thanks so much and we do appreciate your time writing a review.
We remain with best regards and look forward to seeing again one day.

Thanks
Alex Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 via mobile

Very friendly staff who are extremely welcoming and kind. They genuinely want to help you get the best tour deals while actually making sure you really enjoy your stay in Ha Long. Plus they speak English very well. Rooms are simple but nice. Comfortable bad and very clean.

Date of stay: November 2016
Thank happy2travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosy-halong, Người quản lý at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2016

Dear Happy2travelgirl,
Thanks very much for the lovely review and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed such a wonderful stay with us.
It is very important for our business, we appreciate your time writing a review
Thanks again and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We booked this room and paid £5 for the night and to be honest we were not expecting great things. On arrival we were greeting with friendly lad who spoke good English. We did all the normal check in procedures and he then went on to tell us we weren't staying in that hotel we were staying in the sister hotel just down the road. We were slightly confused but went a long with it as this is no problem for us as we are laid back! We got to the other hotel (can't remember the name) the owners did not speak a single word of English (not an issue) so the lad translated and showed us to the room. The room was big and had to big beds with extremely hard mattresses. We had no hot water and had to dry ourselves after a shower with hand towels! The rooms however were clean and that is the main thing. Overall the stay was comfortable and the friendliness of the staff was a bonus. So I recommend!

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sebastian2k11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews