We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bar 10 Ranch
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Mesquite Inn(Mesquite)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rising Star Sports Ranch Resort(Mesquite)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites(Mesquite)(Great Value!)
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites St. George(St. George)(Great Value!)
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wingate by Wyndham St. George(St. George)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites St. George(St. George)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (143)
Filter reviews
143 results
Traveller rating
124
11
7
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
124
11
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand canyonskeet shootingthe riverhorseback ridingcovered wagonrafting triplas vegasbeefmade us feelsouth rimgreat fununique experienceno alcoholboulder city airportst georgeevening entertainmentworth every penny
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 143 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Stayed here for a day/night as the first day of a rafting trip on the Colorado and had a great time! When you say that the Bar 10 is remote, I don't think that begins to explain how remote it is. It's like being on another planet, in a good way!

Where else can you experience good people, amazing scenery, a working cattle ranch, great food, sleeping in a covered wagon, horseback ride, ATV trip to the edge of the grand canyon, and skeet shooting. All in one day.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ktimmons001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is an amazing place. We stayed here for 4 nights and had a terrific time. The food was out of this world. It is in a beautiful location. The lodge is quiet with no outside distractions. You can go for horse rides, hikes, 4 wheeler rides and shoot skeet. They even provide evening entertainment that is wholesome, uplifting, and fun . If you want to get away from it all this is the place. Make sure you take an ATV ride to the rim of the Grand Canyon to see the sunset. It is spectacular.

Room Tip: It is fun to sleep in the covered wagons
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akerdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We spent time at the Bar 10 before heading down the river the next day. Mother Nature was not kind to us, but the Bar 10 was!! They had horseback riding, ATVs and 'skeet' activities for during the day and a fun performance by the staff in the evening. They had meals prepared (dinner and breakfast for our Mother-Nature-induced-shortened stay) and coffee/juice/water available at all times. My only suggestion would be to bring a few snacks for between mealtimes as the only other option is to purchase snacks from their store (or perhaps they could offer some sort of small items throughout the day?).

Sleeping options include the bunkhouse, out on deck or in a covered wagon. We chose the wagon, but for our overnight I think everyone should have camped in the bunkhouse - the winds were tireless and the temps dropped drastically....and then it started to rain (we woke up to fresh snow on the hills around us). Not many got sleep that night, but this was not the Bar 10's fault!!

Their supply/gift store was well stocked and included a number of items that were on our 'suggested to buy' list for the rafting trip, and their prices were not crazily marked up. I took advantage and purchased the waterproof rafting guide that I couldn't locate before leaving on our trip.

Ben and the crew took great care of us and were more than happy to adjust their planned activities to meet our wishes for how we spent out time there. It was very obvious that they had our safety as a first priority as we spent a while watching them coordinate with the small planes bringing in people from N. Vegas airport and shuttling folks to the canyon in the helicopters. Many thanks to them!!

Room Tip: If you plan to sleep outside, plan for a significant drop in temperatures. As others have mentioned, bring a flashlight to maneuver around in the evening.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank mjliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

This place was all that we imagined a remote ranch experience to be. Do not expect luxuries and you will find the basics are very good.

On arrival it was immediately tranquil and laid back. Our guide, Caden, was relaxed and very easy to get along with, as were the rest of the very young staff here.

We had booked the 3 day odyssey which meant 2 nights in our choice of the lodge or a wagon. We chose the wagon. It was very novel and great fun, but be prepared as the temperatures at night get close to freezing. Also, if you need to use the facilities during the night there is a short walk in the dust to the toilets, so take a torch!

We took a ride on the ATVs (quad bikes to us Brits) down to the rim of the Canyon which took an hour each way. I found it great fun as did my wife, but being slightly built she found it quite physically demanding and given the opportunity again may have ridden in the ranger. Also, be prepared to get VERY dusty. The views are predictably spectacular and we were allowed to spend as much time as we liked there.

Then in the afternoon we went horse riding. We were complete novices on horses but this experience could not have been more reassuring. The horses were very well behaved and we loved every minute of it.

Dinner is served at 5.30(ish) as everything is fairly flexible here, and all of the food was amazing and home cooked. We could not fault it. The beef was reared on the ranch and very tasty. The portions were large and you could always have seconds if you wanted!

Our first evening was ours to spend as we wished. We were exhausted, but in a good way. We had the option of a camp fire but chose an early night under the stars, which were spectacular. We even saw a shooting star!

Day 2 we took a ride on the ranger up to Mount Trumbull for some spectacular views and a few short hikes. We saw deer and ancient Native American petroglyphs (rock etchings). It was a 6 hour round trip but well worth it.
When we arrived back at the ranch we were given options to go horse riding again or just relax, which is what we did. Then, after dinner, we did some skeet (clay pigeon) shooting which was great fun with a pump action shotgun. As it got dark we sat round a camp fire and discussed our favourite spaghetti westerns over a few glasses of wine that we had brought with us. (They even let us chill it in their fridge!)

If we had one disappointment it would be that we did not get to see the ranch demonstrations or the traditional entertainment that is sometimes provided. This may be because we were the only 2 'ranchers' staying and it may have been a little awkward for just 2 of us! Maybe this is just done at the weekends when it tends to be much busier.

Our final morning we were given a bonus trip down to the bottom of the Canyon in the helicopter and had half an hour riverside. This was not in our itinerary but the staff went out of their way to make sure we had a very memorable time during our stay. I must point out that we were only able to do the helicopter trip because of the numbers coming up from the river that morning and there were only 2 of us. This was an unexpected treat that I am certain the ranch will not be able to provide for many people.

Some general tips:
1. It gets VERY cold at night if you are sleeping in the wagons. It is also cold at the top of Mount Trumbull so take warm clothing.
2. Nearly everything you do outside means getting extremely dusty. Take suitable clothing. This said, we wore shorts for all activities and this was not a problem.
3. Sounds obvious, but take sunscreen. It gets hot and is very clear during the daytime.
4. The showers are very good indeed with plenty of hot water and the best pressure we have experienced on our 3 week states adventure!
5. Don't be afraid to take your own alcohol as previously mentioned, as they will usually accommodate wines and beers in their fridge if they have room.

All in all we had an unforgettably amazing stay at Bar10 Ranch and would recommend it to anyone we know and those that we don't. Come here to avoid the crowds and experience the real Grand Canyon.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Jazzwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We visited the Bar 10 Ranch in April 2104 after we booked an atv Grand Canyon adventure. Justin took us out and the trip was superb, we really enjoyed it as it was just the two of us plus Justin meaning we had more time to see the sights and ask Justin questions. We were out for about 3 hours and on returning we were given pulled beef sandwiches with salad which were delicious.

We had some spare time before flying back to Vegas so Justin asked if we wanted to do some clay pigeon shooting which we accepted, he also showed us the family pets, rattle snakes :-) all of which he didn't need to do, he and the Bar 10 Ranch went that extra mile to make our day.

Bar 10 Ranch is a superb place in the middle of a beautiful valley in the Grand Canyon national park, we'd go back everyday if we could.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews