We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Le Monte Cristo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nimy
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The staff were very friendly and pleasant. I have to stay in numerous hotels around the World, however, this is the worst hotel I have stayed in for many years. The room was extremely tired and desperately in need of renovating, the traffic noise made sleep difficult, though this paled into insignificance when the cast of Riverdance and Stomp woke up ridiculously early in the room above and every step reverberated through the room. The bathroom was not clean and the toilet seat had some gross caked on dribbles. Breakfast consisted of 2 slices of cheese meat and some pastries, there weren't any staff to assist

Room Tip: Try the Utopia, Mercure or Casteau Resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Hello and thanks for your advice. We are sorry that your stay went wrong. We do daily every effort to ensure that our customers are satisfied. Regarding our rooms, their preparation complies with the requirements of the clients. Of course, Monte Cristo is not a prefab impersonal, sanitized and completely soundproof space. It is an ancient house of character, with all its qualities for those who enjoy these places. In case of problem, there is always a phone number you can dial to obtain first help and informations. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2013

Rooms was damp smelling. Difficult to sleep because of the traffic noise - not double glazed. Hotel sign shone through my window at night no blackout curtains.
Service was not great I had to ask for additional soaps.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chaosbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Hello and thank you for your opinion. We never had any comments on any moisture in this well maintained and well dry building, you can be sure about that :-). Regarding the road, it is more than 30 meters away from the rooms and all guests staying in this house of character know that the charm of the place is in no way diminished by the presence of the road far from rooms. So if you want a local completely black and completely soundproofed room in order to sleep, we would have led to another type of institution most appropriate to your needs. For the soaps, all our rooms are equipped, and as in any luxury hotel, just ask what you want. It’s our job as professionals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

Very nice people. The hotel's restaurant is nice, clean and delivers tasty food. The rooms are clean and well heated. Coffee machine in the rooms. If you need to eat on weekends, try the restaurant. In the summer you have a nice terrace and play ground for the kids as well.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BogdanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Le Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

A big thank you for your opinion. Do not hesitate to let us know when you are back. We’ll welcome you with great pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

My initial impression is that the hotel within this building was an afterthought for the quaint and stylish restaurant that seems to serve as the main draw for this locale. In terms of location, the Monte Cristo is not very close to the center of town unlike the Ibis hotel, for example, which is within easy walking distance. I haven't yet figured out what the benefit is of having the MC located where it is....perhaps there is none. With that said, the staff is welcoming enough but the night crew consistently knows the most English. The morning laborers have little grasp of anything other than the local language, it seems.

Breakfast cost €12, which I think (for what you get) is pretty pricey but may not be all that uncommon for other hotels in the area. The choices consist of bread, sliced cheese, some deli meats, cereal, spreadable cheese, fruit and a selection of coffee, milk or orange juice. The restaurant of the hotel makes pretty tasty evening fare with a decent offering of wines and beer. The rooms are fine...nothing fancy but they come equipped with everything necessary for a comfortable stay. The free Wi-Fi is certainly nice and works well. The cost of the room when I was here averaged approximately €110 per night.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
Thank Bryce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc L, Front Office Manager at Hotel Le Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2013

Dear Customer,

We would like to thank you for staying in our hotel. We are happy to hear that your stay went well, as well as that our free Internet connection made your stay pleasant.

Regarding our location, it is a strategic point of our establishment. Our hotel is located on the outskirts of the city of Mons and serves mlostly to business travellers or professionals to reach the local enterprises and political institutions (Shape, Google, etc.).

To reach the city center is not difficult with the local transport and we are always happy to assist our clients with this service.

We appreciate your loyalty in the year 2012 and we hope to see you again in 2013.

Best Regards,

Simona Brezanova
Assistant to the Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We had a family room booked for one night. No-one at check-in, keys just left on the front desk. The room was not ready and smelled of damp. There were not enough beds - we had booked a family room - the TV didn't work and there were not enough towels in the bathroom. There was no-one to complain to apart from the Chef in the adjoining restaurant. Would never recommend this hotel, the Mercure Mons just down the road is far, far better.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Hello and thanks for your advice. We are sorry that your stay went wrong. We do daily every effort to ensure that our customers are satisfied. Regarding the safety of our rooms, it is perfect and we have a strict control from the AFSCA, a regular organization of the state. The preparation of the rooms complies with the requirements of the clients. In case of problem, there is always a phone number you can dial to obtain first help and informations. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I ve been at that hotel in the second week of May 2012. The price was 93 Euros incl. breakfast but for sure the hotel is not worthed to that price. Empty minibar. Nothing in the bathroom you have to request for shampo, very poor breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank visitorrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Hello and thanks for your advice. We are sorry that your stay went wrong. We do daily every effort to ensure that our customers are satisfied. If there is a problem with the service or with a room, you can always ask a waiter to obtain what you want for a room running or for your breakfast preferences. Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Hotel prebooked, but overbooked. Reception quickly found alternate accomodation in nearby bed & breakfest. Bed & breakfest in rual surrondings wit exelent service.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fritsR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe D, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Le Monte Cristo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

A big thank you for your opinion. Do not hesitate to let us know when you come back. We’ll welcome you with great pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nimy
1 mi away
Utopia Hotel
Utopia Hotel
#1 of 1 in Masnuy-Saint-Jean
151 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel & Aparthotel Casteau Resort Mons
2.1 mi away
Congres Hotel Mons Van der Valk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ibis Mons Centre Gare
2.5 mi away
Dream
Dream
#2 of 8 in Mons
612 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Lido Mons Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Monte Cristo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Monte Cristo

Address: Route d'Ath 119, Nimy 7020, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Hainaut Province > Nimy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nimy
Price Range: £48 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Monte Cristo 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel of character situated on the outskirts of the city of Mons, the Monte-Cristo welcomes you in a family atmosphere with 12 comfortable rooms.By nice weather, you can enjoy the large sunny outside terrace with a play area for the kids.For your sport activities, the hotel is situated near by a Golf, tennis club, nautical center du Grand Large and the riding school of Ghlin. For the amateurs of hikes or bike riders and the nature lovers, the region is full of rural itineraries, bucolic and surprising.For your cultural and leisure activities, the center of Mons is situated at 10minutes by car and proposes different temporary exhibitions. You will find there the Royal Theater, the Museum of Fine Arts, the Treasure of Saint-Waudru.For the families, two inescapable parks at 15min: discover the wildlife park Pairi Daiza or the scientific park “Le Pass” … for the pleasure of young and older. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Le Monte Cristo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing