We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Caletas
Nearby Hotels
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort(Herradura)(Great Value!)
US$236
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
South Beach Hotel(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$162
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mango Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Creole(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$412
US$372
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Backyard Hotel(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,430)
Filter reviews
1,430 results
Traveller rating
1,002
238
97
65
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,002
238
97
65
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla caletascosta ricainfinity poolprivate beachzephyr palaceamazing viewswatch the sunsetjunior suiteour honeymoonsan josemy boyfriendthe pacific oceanbeautiful placerainy seasonscarlet macawslos suenospura vida
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
613 - 618 of 1,430 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Its on a cliff that is breathtaking. Its so tropical and beautiful, the place is a real gem. I thought for the price, I got way more than expected.

We were only there for one night and we were so happy.

Breakfast, get the plantains with natilla. So good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samm5149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice comments !!. As in your words, Even one day in Paradise is enough feel great !! We hope you will visit us back soon . Pura Vida. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

This place was a gem! It's nice because it's easily accessible by major hwys but far inland that you can't hear anything but the wilderness. The resort is located at the top of the hill and nested nicely in a rainforest setting. However, let me warn you if you're afraid of critters and insects... There are tons! Highly recommended bringing a small flashlight because at night, the walkways can be hard to see AND there are things like... snakes and lizards hanging out in the middle of the stairways! Par for the course I suppose. Also be careful of spiders. Can't detect them very well unless the sunlight is hitting the webs a certain way... They look poisonous. The resort has a private beach which you can access via shuttle (see their schedule) or you can hike down. Like we did. Let me warn you again it's not a leisure hike. There are parts that are steep and slippery. Highly recommend picking one of the walking sticks provided. It's a def workout and once you get to the bottom it's quite nice and peaceful. Of course, it's not going to be like Hawaii sand, but it's shallow enough you can swim pretty far out. Also recommend swimming shoes because of the rocks. Watch out for the big crabs that lurk around the shore. The food was great! Not bad priced and a variety. Breakfast is the best because the vibrant morning colors shine at it's peak. But of course, the coliseum seating for the sunsets are to die for if it's a clear day. We were lucky and had nice colors to see. Jaco is about 5 miles away. It's very touristy but I suppose to go into town once or twice for dinner wasn't bad. I do recommended the super market in Herradura. You can stock up on snacks, fruits, etc... Great bakery too ;) the massage we got was excellent. It overlooks the valley and the therapists were very skilled (I'm a massage snob). The gym was ok. You can still get a good workout but it's HOT since it's outdoors. Great view of the ocean and mountains though. And finally the infinity pool. It's great and relaxing. The only problem is it's a small area so sometimes you'll be SOL if you get there late bc all the lounge chairs are taken. But the staff and guests are usually accommodating and will move stuff around so everyone can enjoy the pool. Again, the staff were phenomenal. At first the check in guy seemed uninterested but I figure that's his personality then we talked to him some more and he was better. We will def book this again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maylee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear friends, thank you very much for your warm comments.! We all take a great pride in our work and desire to give the best service to all of our guests, we are glad to know that you were able to feel it. Have a great day. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It took my breath away as we walked into our garden suite! It was beautiful and the view was amazing! The people that worked there were very friendly and cleaned the rooms thoroughly.

I would refer Villa Caletas to anyone traveling to Costa Rica!!!!

Room Tip: The garden room suite 20 was amazing!
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KristaFine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice comments. Paradise will stay here, and will be waiting for your next visit !!. Have a great day . manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

THIS IS THE BEST HOTEL IN COSTA RICA! I stayed in a beautiful villa with a direct view of the tropics and the ocean. The above average hotel staff were from start to finish, the most pleasureable group of people. When I arrived, I was greeted with a much needed cold towel and fresh iced tea! Then I was driven to my room which had a private entrance for me and the person with the room below me and that's it! I loved the fact that the rooms are so private. It truly felt like I was at home away from home. The spa treatments are affordable and the service sublime. After hiking for the first half of my trip to Costa Rica, my stay at Villa Caletas proved to be my perfect resting place! Many thanks to Randall and Giovani - these men work from the heart and were always ready to assist me with my needs as well as take care of things I didn't know I needed. Just so respectful and courteous! The only negitive I have to report is the food is a hit or a miss. For lunch chicken fucilli was amazing but the rib eye for dinner was lacking good taste. The private beach was a complete surprise! The beach made the trip up hill worth it and the views were the cherry on an already spectacular cake! If you are looking for relaxation, privacy, exclusivity, excellent service and comfort surrounded by a perfect view from all points...Villa Caletas is the perfect place to be!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Coco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Dear Friends, thank you so much for your very kind words. All the staff feel proud of your comments and will be looking forward for your nest visit. Pura Vida !!. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This is not the typical property you find in Costa Rica. It definitely has a European flair. If you are looking to find Costa Rican culture you will not find it here. Having said that, this is a magnificent property. The infinity pool at sunset is incredible. The fitness room over looking the Pacific is great. Having drinks at sunset in the amphitheater is simply unbelievable. The restaurant over looks the Pacific from high on a mountain. While it is difficult to get down to the ocean (they do have shuttles) it is worth it. Beautiful sunbeds with canopies and a nice bar. The rooms are very nice and have all the amenities you would expect including bathrooms,etc. The food in the restaurant was very good and beautifully presented. While this property is away from anything at the top of a mountain, it is easy to get transportation to Jaco,etc. The only drawback- the sleep sofa in the room was terrible.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank islandgirl04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear friends, thank you very much for your nice comments. We strive to give a one of kind experience to each and every guests that visit the hotel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews