We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, shame about the restaurant”
Review of Lafarques

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lafarques
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pepinster
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We visited a couple of years ago when it was still a micheilin star restaurant. I booked still using the old Lafarque booking engine and did not think anything of the email confirmation "Simplecomme bonjour".
We arrived, and saw the name change going up the drive and I began to worry. The place is still wonderful, tranquil and allows you to rest. We entered and the old restaurant in the veranda has been replaced by the residents lounge, an improvement. Looking at the restaurant the table clothes had gone. Oh no. The menu is small and depending on the season some of the choices are not available. A reasonable brasserie and good value but if you have driven there especially for a birthday treat, not a good surprise.
Since I have booked the original website seems to have gone and the new website explains very well the new concept. Hopefully we are one of the last to expect the old but understand the new.
A big PS... The owner is charming

Room Tip: Wifi weak except in the restaurant near the reception, so don't come here to work! Only for rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lloyd1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2013

Since we went there first, the Hostellerie Lafarque has changed hands and name, and it is now called "simple comme bonjour". The location is peaceful, the rooms are large, very well equipped and comfortable, not to say luxurious, but the food isn't up to the same standard. Don't get me wrong, the cooking is good, and if I lived in or near Pepinster, this is probably a restaurant I would like to go to quite often. But in contrast to the hotel, the restaurant doesn't "vaut le voyage". In its defence, the food is quite reasonably priced, but it doesn't match the luxury of the surroundings - and doesn't pretend to. A pity

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesidees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This hotel is now known as Simplecomme Bonjour as no longer part of Relais Chateaux - consequently very good value. Difficult to find but once you get there, it is a little haven. We were looked after beautifully and had a delicious dinner. Lots of comfortable places to sit. Very relaxing.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank carhep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We stayed a couple of nights on a gourmand package. The meals were outstanding and I appreciated the bottomless glass on the degustation. Accommodation was very good but... Service was a little lacklustre, perhaps because the hotel staff struggled with English and our French was less than adequate for the occasion.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

My wife and I went to the Hostellerie Lafarque on a Friday evening for a 1* Michelin dinner and stayed overnight. We had a luxury room which was very nicely decorated, perfectly clean and an excellent bed. One minor point was the bathtub that was very very small.
Dinner was just excellent with each dish being a surprise in composition and adventure of taste. The minor point here was the wine selection. I like to give the sommelier the liberty of choosing the wine so he can surprise me with wines that you may not know or combine wine and food in an original manner. I must admit that I was quite disappointed. There were no original ideas in his wine selection. I also found it very surprising that one of the guests was allowed in the restaurant with a dog (and not a small one).
The breakfast was correct but for 20 € pp. and in such a location, you expect also something more than the standard croissant, egg, cheese and ham … Nevertheless, it is certainly a place where I would like to return when I have something to celebrate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WW-Traveller-Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

Only eight luxurious rooms, a tranquil setting and a gourmet restaurant - just right!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hntrswd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2008

Located just outside of Pepinster Belgium, about 35 miles from Liege, this is a beautiful and tranquil setting that also offers Micheilin 1 star dining for gourmets. Rooms are gorgeous. Recently under new management, they were outstanding; make a wish and they deliver on it.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank ShelDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pepinster
10.6 mi away
Les Comtes de Mean
Les Comtes de Mean
#3 of 19 in Liege
1,037 reviews
7.4 mi away
Manoir de Lebioles
13.7 mi away
Romantik Hotel Le Val d'Ambleve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
R hotel experiences
R hotel experiences
#1 of 1 in Sougne-Remouchamps
103 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Verviers Van der Valk
17.4 mi away
Hotel des Bains & Wellness
Hotel des Bains & Wellness
#1 of 6 in Robertville
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafarques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafarques

Address: Douys 20, Pepinster 4860, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > The Ardennes > Liege Province > Pepinster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Pepinster
Price Range: £113 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lafarques 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Lafarques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing