We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our absolutely most favourite B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clayton Wickham Farmhouse
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The Guthrie family from Cambridge feel they must add their voices to the praise of Susie's and Mike's wonderful place: we started coming years ago because of Glyndebourne and to see our daughter and sister who studied at Sussex Uni, but she has long finished, and we keep coming back, not least because of requests from our German cousins who have spent holidays here with us several times. The wonderful atmosphere, the gorgeous rooms, the delicious breakfasts - the fruit salad! and Susie's poached eggs are unsurpassed (we are collecting the feathers!) -, our hosts' friendliness (and tolerance regarding misplaced keys), the good tips as to where to go for dinner: we could go on. John and I have stayed in many B&Bs in England over the last forty years and none remotely compared with Clayton Wickham!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UlrikeHoGu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I have stayed at Clayton Wickham every year for the past 7 years whilst on business.. My wife and I have just completed a long weekend there because my niece got married in Brighton last Saturday. My wife is really quite 'picky' about where we stay but CW always hits the button for her. Susie and Michael are always very welcoming and go the extra mile - CW is a very special place. As Charley C says (I have never met him) you MUST ignore any spurious reports. The ambience is palpable from the moment you get there. Mike has now taken to flying the county/country flags for guests which is an unusual and novel touch - let them know as you book and he will do his best to obtain your flag if he does not have it. Breakfasts are delicious served in style - try Mike's scrambled eggs.

I look forward to many more happy days at CW

Room Tip: The four poster at the top of the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

What a gorgeous setting to spend a weekend! Please ignore the bogus reports if you are looking for somewhere to stay in this area as it was a very special place. The rooms were very spacious and well presented with everything on hand, and the rest of the property has a British charm about it that you just can't fake. The gardens in particular are magical and absolutely stunning, with lots of little areas to discover, a thai inspired pagoda to relax in, and a tennis court if you're feeling energetic. Susie and Michael couldn't have been more welcoming and we had a thoroughly lovely weekend. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: The Seaside room/suite was truly lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights as we had a wedding to attend and a BBQ on the following day. It came highly recommended by the brides parents and we were delighted with our choice. It was actually even better than the photographs. The owners Susie and Michael Skinner were very welcoming. nothing seemed too much trouble. Great full English breakfast and fresh fruit salad. Beautiful house, beautiful situation with magical gardens.Gorgeous Thai garden room which was recently built by Michael and his son, and so lovely to relax in overlooking the south downs. The only downside is that we couldn't stay longer, but we will be back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the barn area, which is separate from the main house so I can't comment on the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BMD59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The owners turned their noses up at us as we entered the farmhouse. Very rude. Mike was nasty, and we were woken up at 2am by him shouting in the bar downstairs.
2 nights - very poor and overpriced. Made us feel very unwelcome.

George and Stacy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
35  Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie S, Owner at Clayton Wickham Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Please disregard this review as the reviewer did not, and could not have stayed at our property, as we were away for a few days on the relevant date!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I'm sorry to write this review but this b&b is currently overpriced and overrated.
Allthough the owners try to act normal and helpfull it is clear that we as clients are just tolerated.
Room we stayed in was not clean at start , later on it improved with a daily change of towels and cups and glasses however i feel this b&b is in need of a major cleanup and a change of furniture.
Since we stayed at the sunflower room the double bed (ikea ?) and it's matras have seen better days thus a restfull night is a long way from your dreams and if the room upstair is occupied the peace and quiet is long gone. Breakfast is average , i will not go any deeper in this subject as what happend to us is hopefully a one off .... One pointer for the owners , rather then stuffing every bit of free space full of trinkets the same applys for the breakfast area, keep it clean let the rosepebbles in the garden were they belong and give the place a good cleanup !
Our rating is overpriced, not clean and poor sleepcomfort.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank TGSTL2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We have just had a wonderful 5 days stay with charming hosts Susie & Mike. A beautiful house & warm welcoming home. Delicious breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble for Susie. The house is in a lovely setting & there is lots to "see & do" in the area. We had the Four Poster Bedroom & it was very comfortable. Thank you Mike & Susie!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cath G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Clayton Wickham Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clayton Wickham Farmhouse

Address: Clayton Wickham Farmhouse Belmont Lane, Hurstpierpoint BN6 9EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Hurstpierpoint
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hurstpierpoint
Price Range: £129 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Clayton Wickham Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clayton Wickham Farmhouse Hotel Hurstpierpoint
Clayton Wickham Farmhouse Hurstpierpoint, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing