We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great way to spend an afternoon!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stables at Tamaya

The Stables at Tamaya
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great way to spend an afternoon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I usually am not a fan of trail rides, but this one was great. It's still just walking, but it's not in a line and the views are terrific. The staff is wonderful - friendly and informative - and they have a "get on" step that makes it easy for all to mount and dismount. I rode "Beauty" and if I had a place for her, I would have bought her! They also rehab horses as well. I wonderful afternoon break!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DalTexTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great ride, great horses and great guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The trail provides beautiful views of the mountains and the Rio Grande. the horses are all gentle and well-trained- my wife who had never been on a horse before really enjoyed the ride a lot and wants to ride again! We were lucky to see several large elk on our ride as well. The guides were great and very friendly but kept a close eye on all the riders and their horses at the same time. Definitely gives you the flavor of the old West!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank mccoydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solana Beach, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Horse Rides on the Rio Grande”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is not to be missed! Sunsets, blue skies, orange cottonwoods in the fall... Trail rides on the Pueblo with the staff of the Stables at Tamaya is really special. Visitors and residents will enjoy these rides throughout the year but fall is really exceptional.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachmamaesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington DC
Level Contributor
70 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Worth the time and money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

Nothing to dislike about this experience. The guide was funny and helpful. The ride is beautiful and very serene. I can't wait to do this again

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cimartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice ride, excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The horses were older, gentler than most. The trail was pretty. I would have preferred riding along the river more. The staff was amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Javajules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stables at Tamaya also viewed

 

Been to The Stables at Tamaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing