We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rialto, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT, EXCELLENT place to stay”
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We recently stayed at this beautiful resort and were so pleased with our expericence. It was the most relaxing resort we have ever stayed in. The hotel staff were very helpful, and the food was excellent. We ate in the Santa Ana Cafe and the Rio Grand Lounge. We had the best Salmon I ever tasted in the Santa Ana Cafe, and when we told our waiter our compliments, Chef Joshua came out to meet us and tell us how the dish was inspired and prepared.
They have 3 relaxing swimming pools, with a water slide area and an adults-only pool and there are tennis courts, basketball courts, and a large area to watch humming birds. My husband and I took long walks on the Bosque Trail wich is a 1 mile loop near the resort that takes you through the Cottonwood forest and along the Rio Grande River. We also enjoyed long bike rides (no charge to resort guests) on the North Turquoise Trail which took us 1 mile north of the resort to the Stables at Tamaya, which has many horses to ride or just enjoy. The staff there is extremely nice, and took us on a tour of their facility and explained all about the horses (many of which are rescued horses) and how they are rasied. You will even get to meet the friendly barn cat. You can go for horse rides, and at special times you can take a hay rides along the facilites in the resort and come back to the resort for a S'mores cookout. This trip we did not bring our granddaughters with us, but we plan to make a return trip there next year with them. They offer many special acitives for children, like pottery classes, scavenger hunts, jewlery making, stories under the stars. At the conclusion of that event you can make S'mores around a camp fire (too many activites to mention). This is a huge facility; it also has its own spa & salon to get a full pamper if you desire that. There are many spots to just sit and relax. One of my favorites was outside the Rio Grande Lounge on the patio. I enjoyed the rocking chairs...looking out over the Grasslands and the Cottonwood Forest. There are many fireplaces you can sit in front of and just have some quiet time. Needless to say, we did not want to leave.

Room Tip: We asked for a top floor, balcony room at the end of the facility. It was very quiet with a great vi...
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel is very much into environmentally friendly. There were many recycle bins throughout the facility. The used shampoo, soap,etc. is donated to an orginization that helps promote cleanliness among disadvantaged children.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babystjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Hello Babystjo,

Thank you for reviewing your stay. We are so happy to hear you were pleased with your experience! It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed so many different aspects of our Resort. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you and your granddaughters on a future stay!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,131
    386
    101
    50
    22
See reviews for
433
473
49
518
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We booked Tamaya as the first stop of our 40 th Anniversary wedding tour of New Mexico and were happy with our choice . We had a mountain view room on the second floor , which was a good size and comfortable, if you can try to get the third or fourth floor. Nice view , quiet and clean. The concierge was very sweet, but she really should know enough to advise travelers who say they are from sea level against going up to Sandia peak the first day they arrive ? We were unfamiliar with the height of the peak which was our fault also for being uninformed but still we asked her advice and she sent us there the first day as something fun to do. I became faint and O2 was needed. Breakfast out on the patio is very good and the view is lovely ,but be prepared for a long wait , we requested coffee several times and was brought orange juice and no coffee.We requested sugar also and waited 15 minutes and then the coffee was cold so again we waited.It wasn't crowded and the server was very nice but a little scattered. Finally the best part of Tamaya for us was the Corn Maiden restaurant. The staff was very professional, the chef was excellent! Even though we continued to enjoy fine dining on the rest of our trip this was the standout. Overall this resort is very good with just a few hiccups that could easily be addressed with just a little additional training of the staff.

Room Tip: Mountain view, floors 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnecticutDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Hello ConnecticutDeb,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay with us and thank you for choosing to stay with us for your 40th Anniversary. Though we are pleased to hear you enjoyed our resort and your dining experience in Corn Maiden, we regret to hear you had an unsatisfactory experience going up the Sandia Peak and with your breakfast. Your comments will be forwarded to our management team for further review. We appreciate our guest feedback as it helps us to improve our services. We hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to New Mexico.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

As Albuquerque natives, we truly love and appreciate the beauty of Tamaya. We have loved this place so much that we have spent countless weekends here even though it is just a short 30 minute drive from our home. We even got married at Tamaya in 2008. We have a small business and have for the last two years in a row brought our staff to Tamaya for team building and annual planning meetings. I am so sad to report that the quality of the staff and the attention to detail have fallen so far that we will not be returning for a LOOOONG time. We rented a conference room, specified how we needed it set up (13 chairs, u shaped table). We had to scramble at the last minute to make this happen. All early communication was completely lost as if it never happened. We served continental breakfast ($21/person for bagels & coffee), paid for wifi ($45/person -which was a nightmare & slower than dial up) and rented a screen ($165) - only to also be charged an additional $45 service fee. When I stopped our meeting to call our tech to inquire about the terrible wifi- I was told they could bump us up to 4 times faster service... WOW! Why didn't I start out at the 4x faster? Does it cost more? Does it take more effort to set that up? We pre-ordered lunch (menus faxed in more than 24 hours prior to event) only to sit with empty ice water/ice tea glasses for 35 minutes before our food - dried out from sitting under lights? (Should ahi tuna salad really be put under heat lamps?) was served. I am honestly so saddened by this experience. We did ask to speak with a manager & even asked if we could speak in confidence with him - instead of in the main lobby where there were other guests around so as not to let anyone over hear all our woes. He assured us they would follow up with us. I know you will be shocked to learn that we have heard NOTHING! The cost of the spa, the rooms, the drinks - everything is justifiable IF the quality is present. Unfortunately, the HYATT excellence no longer resides at Tamaya.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KLH8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Hello KLH8,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are truly sorry to hear of your experience and assure you that this is not typical of our property. Your comments have been forwarded to our management team and someone will be in touch with you to discuss further. Please message us your contact information so that we may contact you sooner. We hope that we have the opportunity to remedy your experience on a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Absolutely amazing. The ambiance, the food, the hospitality.......... perfect for a getaway. Very well-appointed. The bed was comfortable and the sheets had that "fresh off the clothes line" feel and smell. The shower was very soothing and the soaps/lotions were of a very good quality. It was a delight to wake up with a view of the mountain. The nature trails are developed and have exercise stations along them. They lead to the Rio Grande. I stayed there a week and got a chance to participate in some of the activities. I liked the fresh baked oven bread with the homemade butters and jams.....simply delicious. I did not rent a car and took the airport shuttle ($49.00 one way). It cost about 72.00 to take a taxi to Albuquerque. I found out there is a MUCH CHEAPER commuter train 2 miles away that takes you into Albuquerque and Santa Fe. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the train stop. One night, the chef prepared meal especially for me and my traveling party of blue corn pancakes, Swiss chard, and grilled tofu. It was excellent. I appreciate that special touch. We'd tried all of the vegetarian options (the fish tacos are amazing) and wanted something different. The fruit was fresh and sweet, and they even have steel-cut oatmeal and soy milk. The hot tub and pool are really nice. The backdrop of the hot tub is a waterfall. Really beautiful and it really gets hot. They have a family pool and an adults-only pool designed like a kiva. I had a nice time socializing at the bar and outside on the patio watching the sunset. Customer service is exceptional and it shows that customer satisfaction is a priority. I needed a wine bottle opener, how about the front had disposable ones for guest like me that went to the service station to buy wine (it gets pretty pricey buying it by the glass at the resort) .... Now for a shameless plug for the Warrior service station - the food is cheap but good, salads very fresh, and they have homemade pies.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trvln_d_wrld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello trvl_d_wrld,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It sounds like you had a wonderful stay with us! We love hearing you enjoyed your room, our nature trails, and had such a memorable dining experience. It is great to hear you were able to relax in the hot tub and enjoy our pools as well. We look forward to serving you again the next time your travels bring you to New Mexico!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This is an excellent resort. The bedroom is spacious, beds are wonderful, it is fairly quite, and the food is excellent. There are nice walks around the resort but everything inside is interesting, like a museum. Use self-park as it is not far and is free.

The only few quibbles, and the major quibble, is about charging for internet. At the hotel prices, internet should be free in the rooms. Really, in this day and age, it is not nice to make someone pay $13 for every 24 hours of service.

The second minor quibble is that the room was not cleaned up. There was trash on the desk, the trash can was full, and the previous occupant's soap and shampoo was still in the shower. The hotel took care of it immediately when I told them but quality assurance should have seen it.

Still, if you are in this area of New Mexico, this would be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maimutzacelmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello maimutzacelmare,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed our Resort but regret to hear your room was not prepared for your arrival. Your feedback has been given to our Housekeeping Management team for further discussion. Regarding the internet service, this charge is included in our overall Resort fee which includes many additional amenities as well. We hope to have you with us again for a future stay.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very nice resort with tremendous views.staff was very friendly. The rooms are simple but offer everything you need for your stay. Definitely ask for a room with a mountain view on floor 3 or 4. Take advantage of all of the nature trails but be aware of the wildlife. Overall great trip amid will visit again.

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins are located throughout. Leftover food is donated
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello Wendy B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the views, rooms, found our staff to be friendly and you were able to explore our nature trails. We look forward to you visiting us again very soon.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This well-appointed resort is off the beaten path and for that I thank them. The property is amazing and is close to another casino, if you're into the gambling scene. Otherwise, this serene resort is the place to kick back and soak in the sun. The adult-only pool is great! We were attending a conference and so received a break in price on the room. The gift shop was small, but packed a variety of local art, at fairly reasonable prices. Beverages were a bit pricey, but I'm willing to pay $7+ for a beer if I can sit out on their lounge patio and enjoy the evening sunset on extensive manicured grounds.

Room Tip: This is a large property with several wings. Many of the rooms require a long walk, so if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochalite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello Mochalite,

Thank you for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to soak up some sun by our pools. It is also wonderful to know you enjoyed our location and you took in some of our amazing evening sunsets. We look forward to having you with us for a future stay!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#6 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,328 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,601 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#32 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,138 reviews
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#18 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trl, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004-5940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing