We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Scenic and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Newberg, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Scenic and comfortable”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I attended a meeting for 4 days in October here, my first visit.

The meeting spaces were comfortable and attendees needs were well met.

Food and beverage was very good, staff great at dealing with a large seating for dinners.

Check-in process was slower than I would have liked and the request for a later check-out fell on deaf ears.

Highs: great facility from the native art and programs to the food. Meeting space was well above average.

Low: front desk slowness.

Tips:

this place is at elevation, +/- 5000 feet. If you are going to have any difficulty breathing, make sure you know where your room is. It can take a long time to get to some remote rooms.

bring lip balm and if you're going to play golf, mosquito repellent. It is a dry climate and the mosquitoes were thick when I played in the mid-afternoon.

Room Tip: If you don't need to hike to your room for exercise, make sure you ask exactly where it is on ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyFromOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello GuyFromOregon,

Thank you for taking the time to review your first trip to Tamaya. It is a pleasure to read that you were pleased with our service-oriented staff and the overall experience of your meeting. We are sorry to know you were disappointed with our front desk team but we thank you for the feedback. This information will be passed along to management so that we can ensure the check-in process is a positive experience for our guests. Safe travels and we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    420
    111
    58
    26
See reviews for
485
517
52
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My first time staying in New Mexico. I was very impressed with the Resort overall. The food was excellent. Great views and facilities, very friendly and courteous staff. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Housekeeping was spotty at times, but otherwise a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_G0nz0_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello Knettix,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your first trip to New Mexico! Our staff is dedicated to providing excellent guest service and we are delighted to know you were impressed. We are sorry to hear that our housekeeping services were less than satisfactory, but thank you for your feedback. We will make sure to pass this along to our management team. We hope to welcome you back to New Mexico again in the future!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Tranquil Oasis best describes this beautiful resort. I have stayed t this resort several times over the last 7 years, never have had a bad experience. The rooms are pricey but the view is to die for! I think it's best suited for those wanting to "get away from it all as it takes a good 10-20 minute drive to go anywhere.

Room Tip: Summer guests wanting to keep an eye on the kids would prefer the poolside view. While those looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seasaltshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hello CappsRealtor,

Thank you for sharing your positive review! We are delighted that you had a pleasant experience once again and appreciate your kind words. Thank you for continuing to visit Tamaya and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the future!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkland, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The property is scenic, the staff accommodating and the overall experience was quite pleasurable.
Make sure to pick up a schedule of activities at the concierge desk. I don't know why they don't hand out that schedule during check-in at the front desk. There are plenty of activities listed that may be of interest to you. The property is clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Don't be afraid to ask for a room change after seeing where yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello Gail B,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with us. We are happy to know you enjoyed our beautiful property as well as our service-oriented staff. We appreciate your recommendation regarding the weekly schedule of activities that are available and will be sharing this with our front desk management. Our team is dedicated to improving the overall guest experience and is always happy to receive feedback! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

An organization whose Board I sit on had our annual conference here in 2007, and it did not go so well. Our constituent companies are all in the high tech industry and when we meet, we suck down a LOT of Internet bandwidth. In 2007, this hotel was a disaster. The staff was exceptional and the facilities were beautiful, but the food was predictable, the hotel pools were inadequately heated, and the cell phone and Internet was beyond awful. Despite that experience, we gave this property a second shot in 2013, and they have improved, a LOT. The staff is still exceptional, and the facilities are still beautiful (and MUCH improved), but everywhere else it was pretty obvious that management has taken their shortcomings seriously and is working to address them. The food was much better (though it took them till the last day to have salsa available with our eggs ... which I found odd because, well, it is New Mexico after all) ... although I have to say the afternoon snack time remained a mixed bag ... the cupcakes on the last day may have been the finest yet made by man, but the cookies on day one were frankly short of Hyatt standards (they need to contact the Hyatt by O'Hare in Chicago and get their afternoon cookie recipe, THOSE things are so good you'll go to Chicago in cold weather for them). The pool is salt water, heated far more effectively than it was 6 years ago, and was delightful for lap swimming (for those of us who are swimmers, this is a BIG deal). But the biggest improvement was in technology delivery. In 2007 you couldn't get make or receive a phone call throughout the entire property and the Internet speeds in the rooms bordered on 1990s dial up speeds. In 2013, they have their own cell tower on property (4 bars minimum pretty much everywhere I went) and the Internet speed was acceptable (we're a little forgiving in that there are hundreds of us, all making serious demands on the Internet service they provide ... it wasn't instant, but it was orders of magnitude better than it was and, after a bit of a rough start on day one, certainly within our organizations acceptable standards (one thing that was a bit odd/annoying though was that the network disconnected anyone idle for any significant length of time ... again, this was more a minor annoyance than anything.

The only thing this property really fell down on this time was the comfort of their beds. Clearly the beds haven't been replaced in too long. I have had back surgery so I'm obviously sensitive to this issue, but a number of others also noted to me that the beds simply weren't very comfortable, and that really is a significant negative (and definitely the key reason I'm giving them 4 and not 5 stars with this review). Still, this property has always had a lot going for it; they have a great staff and a great facility, and they're a LOT better than they were a few years ago. If they replace the beds, I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello Duane B,

Thank you for the detailed feedback regarding your recent visit to Tamaya. We regret to know that your past experience with our property was unsatisfactory. Thank you for returning and allowing us to provide you and your fellow board members the exceptional guest service and quality that we strive for. We appreciate your suggestions, which will be reviewed by our management team, and we thank you for pointing out specific areas where we can make improvements on guest accommodations. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is one of the most most unique hotel properties that I've had the opportunity to visit. The Hyatt Tamaya is located about 35 minutes from the ABQ airport. To say that it is tucked back from most civilization would be an understatement as it is located on the Santa Ana Pueblo reservation in the foothills of the Santa Ana Mountain range.

My five day stay was part of a business conference. The accommodations were quite nice and themed to the Indian motif of the entire hotel. The property is visually striking ... both from inside and outside and materials used to construct the exceedingly well maintained property were first class.

Conference food (always a challenge feeding a couple hundred people en mass) was FAR above the norm for conference food. My litmus test? If it were a sit down meal and I was paying the table, would the food and service past muster? For EVERY meal during my stay, the answer was an enthusiastic yes.

I didn't visit the Spa, but understand from others that the facilities and staff were first rate. I did visit the hotel gym a couple of times and found it well equipped, exceedingly clean and ALL equipment was 100% functional (rare for most hotels). I'm also a runner and was delighted with the rustic running path that also ran beside the Rio Grande River (which is located about 3/4 of a mile on the backside of the hotel property).

I enjoyed my stay immensely and even after five days was sorry to leave.

Remember - you get what you pay for. This is not an inexpensive property, but I considered it a value for the dollar given all factors.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins were scattered throughout the property,
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank audio_man01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello audio_man01,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We sincerely appreciate your positive feedback and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay during your conference. We strive to provide all of our guests with an excellent experience and we are happy to know that you were impressed with our unique facilities and guest service. We hope to be able to welcome you back to our beautiful property again soon!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband surprised me with a romantic night away at the Tamaya Resort and it was a wonderful gift. We enjoyed a relaxing couples massage at the last minute and a quiet night away from everyday life. The onsite restaurant was good for dinner and breakfast, but a bit overpriced for the breakfast buffet. Pools were closed for quite a bit in the afternoon due to lightening nearby, irritating but understandable. The couples massage would have been better if they allowed relaxation time for the couple together instead of just meeting in the room, have massage, then go your separate ways. The staff was very nice and courteous.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room facing the Bosque (that's the direction of the Rio Grande) instead of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZamLat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jmm12, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Hello Zamlat,

We are happy to hear you and your husband chose to spend your birthday with us and we appreciate your valuable feedback. Thank you for your suggestions on improving our spa experiences. We will be sure to share this with our spa management team. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Jena Marquez
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana Pueblo
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,374 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,653 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,718 reviews
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#20 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa
Address: 1300 Tuyuna Trl, Santa Ana Pueblo, NM 87004-5940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Ana Pueblo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Santa Ana Pueblo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique pueblo design with 350 guestrooms arranged in two wings connected by open air courtyards, providing convenient access to pools, gardens, restaurants, and other facilities. Most room opens to a private patio or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Hotel Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort And Spa
Hyatt Santa Ana Pueblo
Hyatt Bernalillo
Tamaya Resort
Bernalillo Hyatt
Hyatt Regency Tamaya Resort Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing