We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rhino in the garden”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
River View Jungle Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here in march this year and was a great place to stay. The garden bungalows are just lovely. Best rooms are those overlooking the river. Rooms large, spotless, big soft beds, big bathroom with plenty of hot water. Restaurant small but the food was excellent. The biggest treat was the rhino that visited some nights , crossing the river to feed in the garden. Also every morning the elephants are brought down to the river just on the riverbank for their morning bath which you can help with. My sister stayed here 20 years ago and was welcomed like old friend. Lovely and attentive staff. They also arranged for a great trip into the park for the day with an very knowledgable guide.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerriE392014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
There are newer reviews for River View Jungle Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently stayed at the River View Jungle Camp in Sauraha, Nepal. I just happened to arrive at a time when they were between big groups. Perhaps that is the reason for the way I was treated but I do not know for sure. In short, I was treated like visiting royalty. The staff was very attentive and helpful, always seeming genuinely interested and concerned that everything was to my liking. They went above and beyond to make my stay great. When I left after a few days, a number of the staff went out of their way to personally thank me for staying there and wished me well in my future life. They were also very helpful with setting up day trips and excursions, making it all simple and easy. As an added bonus, the spot where the elephants bathed was right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the river and park are best, but a bit more expensive.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Having booked into a nearby lodge only to find the beds were rock hard we set about finding another place to stay for our 12 day 'hang out' at Chitwan.

We walked into River View Jungle Camp and Gopal showed us one of the brand new rooms overlooking the river where the elephants bath.....the rooms were really well equipped and the view across the river to the national park must be the best in town. Our private balcony was perfect for sitting with a G&T to watch the sunset, coffee while watching the elephants take their morning bath and to watch the wildlife.

The beds are super comfy, the bedding spotless, the hot shower is walled keeping the rest of the bathroom dry and there is free wifi (during our stay the router was broken and should now be repaired so we picked up a lower signal from the restaurant).

Madhav (the boss), Krishna, Gopal and all the rest of the staff were wonderful.....the answer was always 'yes' before we asked the question.

It's just a two minute walk to the village shops and restaurants and our trip into the park was well organised and well priced.....we saw many rhino, crocs and birds. It's a pleasant hours walk to the elephant breeding centre.

Finally, somehow they seem to have been adopted by a wild rhino!! Twice during our stay a rhino crossed the river to graze on the grass near the riverfront bar and I have pictures taken from a scary 5m to prove it!!

Room Tip: Up the budget for the river view
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itcanbedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

The camp really lives up to their motto, "Arrive as a guest, leave a friend." The management and staff are a true testament to this statement. After a long stretch of teaching without any breaks the 5 hour adventurous bus ride from Kathmandu was worth the welcome and comfort that this camp offered upon arrival. They organised everything for us on the first day so plans were made and decisions were confirmed, as to make our trip all the more enjoyable.

We stayed in the newly built Rhino Block which is aptly named as we were able to watch a wild rhino outside our balcony in the garden below! The staff were equally as excited about the prospects and the arrival of wild animals to the property, in which set the joyful mood. It also has a beautiful view of the river where the elephants bathe each day. The food was good and the location quiet...a nice distance away from the main concentration of tourists.

Room Tip: Rhino/elephant block. The newer complex, which has the view of the river.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjtzathas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The overall ambience is quite nice and the food was good but if you get given room 175 or the next to it, don't accept it. The room is very musty, the carpet was disgusting (unlike the other rooms which are tiled) and the bathroom was a shocker.

Room Tip: Stay clear of Room 175.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa12345959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Great location, beautifully maintained grounds. Close to town - everything within walking distance including ATM and restaurants. Backs onto the river where I had the pleasure of bathing with the elephants. We were taken to our elephant safari where I saw a rhino in the wild, elephant breeding centre, canoeing down a croc infested river - though I only saw one. Thoughtful caring staff who made me feel very welcome. They provided an incredible performance of dancing, drumming and martial arts for us one night too along with great local food. I would thoroughly recommend River View for your jungle experience. Thanks Khrisna and all the wonderful staff at River View.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June 2013... a slight hitch in that, typically, our last meal before leaving India had made us ill, so we arrived into Sauraha feeling terrible and our (justifiably) expensive stay at River View would have to be worryingly extended (we are budget travellers!) All of the staff here were extremely attentive and caring and managed to readjust our itineraries so that we could fit all our activities in. To Krishna and Gopal, thank you for making it an unforgettable stay with wonderful food, a beautiful room and adequate rest in between perfectly organised activities... and helping us get through the humidity! And thank you Mangara for being a wonderful guide also! We felt very well looked after during the entirity of our stay.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bell1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
0.6 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
242 reviews
0.8 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#2 of 12 in Sauraha
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jungle Safari Resort
Jungle Safari Resort
#2 of 33 in Sauraha
80 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chitwan Village Resort
Chitwan Village Resort
#1 of 33 in Sauraha
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Jungle Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Jungle Camp

Address: 2 Bachhauli | Chitwan National Park, Sauraha, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Sauraha
Price Range: £20 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Jungle Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is situated at the edge of the Rapti River near Chitwan National Park. We have cottages(attached bathroom equipped with 24-hours running hot and cold water facilities)spread in large area with flowers and plants that make you feel as though in paradise in our Jungle World.We provide you friendly service and take better care of you, We look forward to giving you Nepalese hospitality and sharing the jungle World with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your River View Jungle Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Jungle Camp Nepal/Sauraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing