We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and cultural show”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River View Jungle Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,998 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,647 helpful votes
“Great meal and cultural show”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I came here as part of a tour group and was treated well from the moment we arrived. The staff were almost too keen to bend over backwards for our every need. We were shepherded into a little room on arrival and told about what tours were on offer and we should book then & there. There is a fine line between being helpful and coming across as pushy. The grounds were huge, as were the rooms. Beds with mosquito nets and large shower rooms. The grounds extend right down to the river, a beautiful place to come and watch sunrise or sunset. We laughed at the spelling mistakes on the menu. We were treated to a cultural show in the gardens one night. Stick dances of the Tharu people, a fire dance and all meticulously explained to us. A very good stay - staff a bit too controlling for independent types.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jolyon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    27
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
44
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice and helpful owner.
Well educated and perfect english speaking guide (Mr. Mangara).
Pleasant and high standard new rooms in a new building next to the river.
We stayed two nights and every night there had been the Rhino in the garden. One time we approached round about 15 m to the rhino ... very exciting!
The elephant bathing takes place every afternoon right in front of the hotel complex in the river.
Best place to go in Sauraha!

Room Tip: Pay a little bit more and take a room in the new constructed buidling next to the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boozy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed at River View Jungle Camp for 2 nights and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. All of the staff, including Gopal and Krishna, were very welcoming and attentive from the moment I arrived. They paid attention to every detail to make sure I had an excellent stay. Mangara the local guide at the hotel was very knowledgeable and friendly and provided an excellent introduction to Chitwan. The hotel is conveniently located on the main street, and backs onto the river. So best of all, the elephant bath time takes place right in the backyard of the hotel. There were no rhino visits to the hotel's garden but apparently this has been known to happen before! All in all an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: The new blocks at the back of the hotel have balconies that overlook the river and elephant bathtime...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saffire66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at the resort for two nights at the end of a mountain bike trip in the Himalayas, so this was a radical departure from the scenery of the rest of my Nepal experience. I didn't know what to expect; I had been staying (as expected and welcomed) in very sparse accommodations in the mountains and was expecting something similar for my jungle trip. I was pleasantly surprised and excited to arrive at the River View Jungle Camp and be treated like I was at a vacation resort!

The positives:
1) A friendly and courteous driver met me at the bus stop in Chitwan on time and delivered me to the resort.

2) Upon arrival I was greeted and treated exceptionally well by the management and staff, who prepared a DELICIOUS chicken korma set for me and described the resort and Chitwan history--all while sitting in a beautiful garden gazebo.

3) After a description of the activities that were included with my trip, I discussed alternatives and with the help of the staff, organized an individualized set of activities around my interest. This made the trip personal and much more fun.

4) The food was terrific!! I was so impressed with the kitchen and quality of the food. Extremely good and tasty, always prepared quickly and even had options for vegetarians and however you needed to have certain items prepared.

5) The room... BEAUTIFUL!! Part of my thrill upon arriving at my room was due to my experiences up to that point in tea houses and guest houses in the villages and towns of the Himalayas and Kathmandu, yes, but the room was fantastic. I am seriously impressed. The bed was large, comfortable and clean. The view over the river was outstanding; I could wake up and sit on my balcony drinking the coffee that the staff brought for me, looking out over the glorious Chitwan Jungle. The shower/bathroom was spacious, clean and had plenty of clean towels and hot water.

All in all, this was a terrific experience. I HIGHLY recommend this resort and make sure you tell Krishna "Hello" for me when you see him--he will treat you like royalty.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

It's fantastically located, both next to the river and near the small strip in town to get a meal or a beer. The room was spacious, breakfast was good and the staff were friendly. There is also an exceptionally friendly and kind gardener who showed us rhino tracks in the garden!

The hotel was let down however, by the managers continually pushing extra offers on you, more safaris, cultural shows etc, which are not necessarily best organised through the hotel. Otherwise, great.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed333255120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Stayed here in march this year and was a great place to stay. The garden bungalows are just lovely. Best rooms are those overlooking the river. Rooms large, spotless, big soft beds, big bathroom with plenty of hot water. Restaurant small but the food was excellent. The biggest treat was the rhino that visited some nights , crossing the river to feed in the garden. Also every morning the elephants are brought down to the river just on the riverbank for their morning bath which you can help with. My sister stayed here 20 years ago and was welcomed like old friend. Lovely and attentive staff. They also arranged for a great trip into the park for the day with an very knowledgable guide.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriE392014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I recently stayed at the River View Jungle Camp in Sauraha, Nepal. I just happened to arrive at a time when they were between big groups. Perhaps that is the reason for the way I was treated but I do not know for sure. In short, I was treated like visiting royalty. The staff was very attentive and helpful, always seeming genuinely interested and concerned that everything was to my liking. They went above and beyond to make my stay great. When I left after a few days, a number of the staff went out of their way to personally thank me for staying there and wished me well in my future life. They were also very helpful with setting up day trips and excursions, making it all simple and easy. As an added bonus, the spot where the elephants bathed was right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of the river and park are best, but a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
0.8 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 7 in Chitwan National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 11 in Sauraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#3 of 11 in Sauraha
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#2 of 11 in Sauraha
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chitwan Village Resort
Chitwan Village Resort
#1 of 31 in Sauraha
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jungle Wildlife Camp
Jungle Wildlife Camp
#4 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Jungle Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Jungle Camp

Property: River View Jungle Camp
Address: 2 Bachhauli | Chitwan National Park, Sauraha, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — River View Jungle Camp 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is situated at the edge of the Rapti River near Chitwan National Park. We have cottages(attached bathroom equipped with 24-hours running hot and cold water facilities)spread in large area with flowers and plants that make you feel as though in paradise in our Jungle World.We provide you friendly service and take better care of you, We look forward to giving you Nepalese hospitality and sharing the jungle World with you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your River View Jungle Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Jungle Camp Nepal/Sauraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing