We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect family destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sapana Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Sauraha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect family destination”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What to say that has not been said already!.

It's a nice and charming place, with a beautiful landscape, door to door with the National Park, nice rooms and well managed. If you travel with kids, don't miss a walk crossing the bamboo bridge, among buffalos, lambs, fishers, and frogs. If you are lucky you can try fishing with the locals, and maybe chase some frogs.

The hot water comes from solar panels, like almost every place in Nepal, so it's better to have a shower during mid-day, otherwise the water could be a bit cold.

The hotel support Tharu people, the indigenous of Chitwan, and something very interesting to do is, before travelling to Nepal, take all those things that no longer serve us at home, whether it is clothing, books, school supplies, and take them to be donated anywhere. Then the space in your suitcase will be filled, for sure, with your shopping.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Many thanks for this wonderful comment in TripAdvisor sharing your recent experience at Sapana Village. We are glad to hear that you chose us as a destination of Family vacation. I would also like to thank you the entire workforce at Sapana Village for providing you the excellent service and hope that your family truly enjoyed everything here.

Thanks and we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    444
    90
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
106
190
67
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A beautiful place to stay. The rooms are wonderful, with custom charming hand painted decoration. The surrounding area is beautifully landscaped and gardened. The dining room offered wonderful food cooked to order! A mother and baby elephant live on the grounds! You can sign up to swim in the little river with the elephants, climbing on their backs and getting sprayed with water from their trunks. Excellent guides will take you on walks in Chitwan National Park, and find deer, all sorts of rare and beautiful birds, and rhinos to see. Other trips can be scheduled. Sapana Village also sponsors a women's cooperative, which makes hand crafted items. These are on sale in a store at the village. All of the staff is friendly and eager to help the guests.

Room Tip: We had plenty of hot water! The hot water heaters are turned on at a switch on the wall before showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are very kind to share the experiences of your staying at Sapana Village. We would like to thank you for the wonderful complements you have given about our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything here ans thanks to the staff as well for being able to meet all your expectations through services. Your inspiring comment motivates us to perform best in service.

Thanks again and we are looking forward to your next visit to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to feel like you are part of the safari experience! Lovely staff, good food, tharu village nearby, excursions which are interesting.

Downsides: we went in winter and had no hot water for showers so became freezing cold, also no heating! Sure this is not an issue normally, just that we went in January.

The elephants are very cute and seem well cared for. We went as part of a G adventures tour.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Siobhan,
Greetings from Sapana Village!!!!!! We truly appreciate your beautiful comment posted in TripAdvisor finding Sapana Village as a lovely place to stay. Many thanks for your advice regarding the cold room and shower in winter. We are really concerned about this matter and take your advice positively. January of course is the coldest month in Nepal and you could hardly see the sun even during the day. The solar system for hot water could hardly work and more than that there will be no regular hydro electricity power for water heating. The only way to keep you warm is having extra blanket that we provide on request.

Thanks again and we are really looking forward to serve you the best accommodation in your next visit.

With warm regards and respect,
Dhruba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The Sapana Village Lodge is sure to remain in your family's hearts forever. Set along a river and overlooking rice paddies, we couldn't help but instantly relax while listening to sounds of the numerous species of birds around us. Outside our room, the elephants greeted us each morning with kisses. The staff became friends quickly, and cared for and looked out for our children. The food was amazing, even tempting us into a cooking class to learn how to make the traditional Momo. For the kids, "chicken fried" is a healthy version of chicken nuggets, the plain grilled cheese sandwich was a hit, the Sapana Special Yogurt was delicious and the banana cinnamon porridge was satisfying. Be sure to take advantage of the activities, such as the Jeep Safari (1/2 day for kids) where you're likely to see a rhino or two!

Room Tip: Room 303 is facing the elephants, which was a lovely surprise every morning. Ground floors stayed m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddleEast_TMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Heather and Family!!!!!! We are delighted to hear from you that Sapana Village became the perfect family destination of your visit to Nepal. As you said, we expect that you keep the name of our resort in your heart forever. We are thankful for your marvelous comment and wonderful pictures posted in TripAdvisor site.

As a hotel owner and Managing Director, I would personally like to convey sincere thanks to my entire team for their great service during you a week long staying at Sapana Village. Comments like yours always motivate us to reach towards excellent.

We expect your visit to this resort again.

With armful respect,
Dhruba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is an amazing place to stay and relax in the nature. It was lovely to sit outside the room at night listening to the curious noises. From here you can explore Chitwan Park. Very comfortable rooms with local decoration and great food. Plus the house pets are elephants!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raquel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings!!!!!!!!!!! We are extremely happy to read your inspiring comment in TripAdvisor sharing the experiences of your recent staying with us. As you discovered, we are blessed to have a beautiful and relaxing place offering various culture and nature excursions. It is definitely a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed everything here.

Thanks again and we are looking forward to your visit to our place in the future.

Regards and respect,
Dhruba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, BC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful experience. The colourful grounds , comfortable room, dining patio overlooking the river, excellent food (the fruit pancake is to die for), helpful and cheerful staff added up to an experience we thoroughly recommend. The presence of a 2 month baby elephant just added to the ambience.
And do take advantage of the elephant bathing - everyone should experience riding bareback, being dumped in the river, massaging an elephant to be rewarded by being doused by her when you get back on!.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Merlin081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Merlin,
Greetings!!!!!!!!! Thank you for taking time to write such a glowing review in TripAdvisor expressing the experiences of your recent visit to Sapana Village. The staff members were extremely delighted to hear that their service was perfect. Through this short review, you are motivating us to perform our best.

We are looking forward to see you in the future again.

Regards and respect,
Dhruba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was completely my favorite stay of the whole trip. It sat on the edge of a small river, and the staff was smart and friendly. They quickly learned our names and our favorite dishes.

Washing the elephant in the river was my second favorite memory in the 3 week tour ... the first was WHEN WE SAW A RHINO!!! It was remarkable.

The food was great, and the mood was so relaxing. Like the small bar at the lower gazebo. I could imaging flying around the world to just stay here for a week. It was so great.

I love how they support the surrounding Therapu Village and how just behind the elephant stables there was a classroom to empower women through education. I would like to add an additional star and rate this 6 stars.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to inform staff of any problems. We let them know of a hive of bees that was for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Greetings from Sapana Villge!!!!!!! We truly appreciate your valuable and inspiring comment posted in TripAdvisor. This definitely encourages us to move towards excellent. Your notes of appreciation about our resort was informed to entire Sapana team members and they were very excited and happy.

Thanks once again for your beautiful review and we are expecting to your visit to this place i the future.

Regards,
Dhruba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
1.2 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
422 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
177 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sauraha
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
109 reviews
1.3 mi away
Green Mansions Jungle Resort
0.4 mi away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 15 in Chitwan National Park
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapana Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapana Village Lodge

Property: Sapana Village Lodge
Address: 3 Sauraha | Chitwan Nepal, Sauraha 32909, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapana Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapana Village Lodge is located in a fantastic location bordering beautiful Chitwan National Park area in the southern part of Nepal. With an approximately 4 hours drive by road or a 15 minutes flight from Kathmandu, Sapana Village is definitely a suitable destination for individuals, couples and families. A uniquely designed hotel with an authentic Tharu decoration, Sapana Village aims to support the local community. Started as a small business hotel, it has developed as the sustainable and responsible eco tourism project contributing to the indigenous people of the Terai region. Sapana Village Lodge has a small petting zoo for the children. We have rabbits, goats, peacocks , chickens and two elephants named Champakali and Chanchalkali. Our beautiful botanical and medicinal herbs and plants have become the residence for more than a hundred regular and migrant birds of the lowlands of Nepal. You will receive an amazing wake up call by these beautiful coloured birds! At the lodge, you can book a great variety of excursions.Sapana Village Lodge has 28 beautifully decorated deluxe rooms. All rooms have a private bathroom with toilet, 24 hour hot water, and a balcony or veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Sapana Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapana Village Hotel Sauraha
Sapana Village Lodge Nepal/Sauraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing