We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birding and Relaxing: Sapana Village Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sapana Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 27 Sauraha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kampala
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Birding and Relaxing: Sapana Village Lodge”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The Sapana Village Lodge has a natural garden charm. The restaurant and verandah are cool, overlooking a curve in the river that invites you to watch the birds, elephants bathing, and the comings and goings of villagers in the distance. The rooms are large and comfortable, with the feel of a Nepali country estate. The service was excellent, and the staff friendly and accommodating. On short notice they went out of their way to connect us to the expert Bird Guide Makunda. In 3 ½ days of safari in Chitwan National Park, Makunda helped us to see 140 bird species including the rare Bengal Florican, the Collared Falconet, and the Great Hornbill. Of course, if you’re looking for birds, you see the animals too. With Makunda we spotted 35 rhino in a single day, breaking his own record. We highly recommend both Sapana Village Lodge and the Bird Guide Makunda. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upper back balcony to see the mother and her baby elephant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGKampala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Namaste and Greetings!!!!!!!!!!!! We are truly thankful for your wonderful comment posted in TripAdvisor sharing your recent experiences at Sapana Village. Through this mail, we we apologized for not being able to accommodate you more than two nights because the hotel rooms were fully booked. It was our pleasure, we were able to manage your excursions with the bird expert Mr. Mukunda as your guide.

Once again, Sapana Village Team would like to thank for your visit to our place and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed everything here. See you next time again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    90
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
106
190
68
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I, his parents and 4 more friends were at Sapana Village Lodge last December 2013.
It was an incredible experience!
First of all, the people that works at the hotel are amazingly kind. Everyone wants to make sure you are well taken care of.
The food was very good. The breakfast is included on the price but you need to order it from the menu and there is no limits of what you can order.
The accommodations are simple, but tasteful and clean. The nature surrounding the place is beautiful.
They have their own elephants which you can arrange to give them a bath. They also can arrange the elephant safari and jungle experience. We even saw a tiger in the wild during the safari, which is very rare to see.
If you are looking for a relaxing and pleasant experience I recommend Sapana Village. Be aware though that if you are coming from Kathmandu by road it is a long and dangerous ride through the mountains, but well worth it!

Room Tip: Make sure to check the weather before to be prepared. Depends on the time of the year you go it can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robea2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Namaste !!!!!!! We are delighted to read your wonderful review in TripAdvisor sharing your experiences of your every visit to Sapana Village. Comments like yours are truly appreciated and they inspire and motivate us to perform with the best potentiality.

We are really thankful to you for selecting Sapana Village as your accommodation during your every visit to Chitwan and we are glad to know that you have enjoyed everything here. We hope you will honor us with your return visit to our property. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Sapana means dream and this is definitely a dream place. Completely idyllic and a beautiful little piece of heaven. Its peaceful, pretty, beautifully laid out gardens, hammocks, decking with cushions overlooking the river. If you sign up to the package it is run with spectacular efficiency by Naran the hotel manager, who is very friendly and helpful. The whole place is really friendly, there's a leaflet in the rooms telling you the personal stories of every member of staff, which is really nice, and there's a real feeling that its part of a project that is helping the local community.
Our room was gorgeous, with paintings by one of the staff members on the walls, spacious, AC, clean, balcony. There was a 3 month old baby elephant in residence! (not in the room obviously....) Elephant bathing was just the most fun EVER, don't miss it!
Can't recommend this place highly enough, thank you very much to Naran and all the staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

We truly appreciate your kind efforts to write this positive comment in TripAdvisor which means so much us. We are more than happy with your title itself saying, "Totally Amazing." Thank you for saying Sapana Village as "A little piece of Heaven."

We are definitely thankful for your visit to this place and we take it as an opportunity to serve.
We are always determined towards excellent providing the better service and care to the clients.

Thank you again and we are expecting to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Very relaxing place to stay. Rooms are simple but very well designed. Great hot showers and very clean. Lots of comfy places to sit outside and admire the view. Great friendly and helpful staff. We had a fantastic holiday here. Went on jeep safari and the guide was brilliant.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Thrisk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Namaste !!!!!!! We are delighted to read your excellent review in TripAdvisor sharing your experiences of your every visit to Sapana Village. Comments like yours are truly appreciated and they inspire and motivate us to perform with the best potentiality. We are really thankful to you for selecting Sapana Village as your accommodation during your every visit to Chitwan.

Thanks and looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

What to say that has not been said already!.

It's a nice and charming place, with a beautiful landscape, door to door with the National Park, nice rooms and well managed. If you travel with kids, don't miss a walk crossing the bamboo bridge, among buffalos, lambs, fishers, and frogs. If you are lucky you can try fishing with the locals, and maybe chase some frogs.

The hot water comes from solar panels, like almost every place in Nepal, so it's better to have a shower during mid-day, otherwise the water could be a bit cold.

The hotel support Tharu people, the indigenous of Chitwan, and something very interesting to do is, before travelling to Nepal, take all those things that no longer serve us at home, whether it is clothing, books, school supplies, and take them to be donated anywhere. Then the space in your suitcase will be filled, for sure, with your shopping.

I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Many thanks for this wonderful comment in TripAdvisor sharing your recent experience at Sapana Village. We are glad to hear that you chose us as a destination of Family vacation. I would also like to thank you the entire workforce at Sapana Village for providing you the excellent service and hope that your family truly enjoyed everything here.

Thanks and we look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

A beautiful place to stay. The rooms are wonderful, with custom charming hand painted decoration. The surrounding area is beautifully landscaped and gardened. The dining room offered wonderful food cooked to order! A mother and baby elephant live on the grounds! You can sign up to swim in the little river with the elephants, climbing on their backs and getting sprayed with water from their trunks. Excellent guides will take you on walks in Chitwan National Park, and find deer, all sorts of rare and beautiful birds, and rhinos to see. Other trips can be scheduled. Sapana Village also sponsors a women's cooperative, which makes hand crafted items. These are on sale in a store at the village. All of the staff is friendly and eager to help the guests.

Room Tip: We had plenty of hot water! The hot water heaters are turned on at a switch on the wall before showe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RLXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Guest !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You are very kind to share the experiences of your staying at Sapana Village. We would like to thank you for the wonderful complements you have given about our resort. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed everything here ans thanks to the staff as well for being able to meet all your expectations through services. Your inspiring comment motivates us to perform best in service.

Thanks again and we are looking forward to your next visit to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent place to stay if you want to feel like you are part of the safari experience! Lovely staff, good food, tharu village nearby, excursions which are interesting.

Downsides: we went in winter and had no hot water for showers so became freezing cold, also no heating! Sure this is not an issue normally, just that we went in January.

The elephants are very cute and seem well cared for. We went as part of a G adventures tour.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Siobhan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Siobhan,
Greetings from Sapana Village!!!!!! We truly appreciate your beautiful comment posted in TripAdvisor finding Sapana Village as a lovely place to stay. Many thanks for your advice regarding the cold room and shower in winter. We are really concerned about this matter and take your advice positively. January of course is the coldest month in Nepal and you could hardly see the sun even during the day. The solar system for hot water could hardly work and more than that there will be no regular hydro electricity power for water heating. The only way to keep you warm is having extra blanket that we provide on request.

Thanks again and we are really looking forward to serve you the best accommodation in your next visit.

With warm regards and respect,
Dhruba
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
1.2 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
425 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#2 of 12 in Sauraha
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 14 in Chitwan National Park
397 reviews
18.2 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle ...
#1 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
177 reviews
9.4 mi away
Kasara Resort
Kasara Resort
#2 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapana Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapana Village Lodge

Property: Sapana Village Lodge
Address: 3 Sauraha | Chitwan Nepal, Sauraha 32909, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapana Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapana Village Lodge is located in a fantastic location bordering beautiful Chitwan National Park area in the southern part of Nepal. With an approximately 4 hours drive by road or a 15 minutes flight from Kathmandu, Sapana Village is definitely a suitable destination for individuals, couples and families. A uniquely designed hotel with an authentic Tharu decoration, Sapana Village aims to support the local community. Started as a small business hotel, it has developed as the sustainable and responsible eco tourism project contributing to the indigenous people of the Terai region. Sapana Village Lodge has a small petting zoo for the children. We have rabbits, goats, peacocks , chickens and two elephants named Champakali and Chanchalkali. Our beautiful botanical and medicinal herbs and plants have become the residence for more than a hundred regular and migrant birds of the lowlands of Nepal. You will receive an amazing wake up call by these beautiful coloured birds! At the lodge, you can book a great variety of excursions.Sapana Village Lodge has 28 beautifully decorated deluxe rooms. All rooms have a private bathroom with toilet, 24 hour hot water, and a balcony or veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sapana Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapana Village Hotel Sauraha
Sapana Village Lodge Nepal/Sauraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing