We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“restful. informative. inviting.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sapana Village Lodge
Ranked #1 of 29 Sauraha B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

My son had just finished a semester abroad at Chitwan through the U of MN. As my husband and I planned our travels, I picked this lodge because of the owner's desire to give back to the larger community. The staff was friendly and we enjoyed conversations and joking. The staff sat with us and learned what we wanted to experience during our stay, and then helped with the arrangements.
This is where I got the dreaded traveller's sickness. . .(not because of the wonderful food here!!!). . . and the staff made a point of helping me to feel better with chicken broth soup. Kindness knows no language barriers and I hope I can return to this paradise some day.

Room Tip: The rooms are in clusters to form small communities. All places appeared to be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Nancy,
Greetings!!!!!!!!!! I would personally like to thank you on the behalf of Sapana Village for your positive and inspiring comment on this site. Many other travelers would be really benefited from your review of your experience while staying with us. We are always committed towards excellent.
We didn't feel good because of your sickness and it was definitely our pleasure to make something for you to eat.

Once again, we thank you from our heart for this wonderful comment. See you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2014

Wonderful place to stay! Amazing views from our room and from the dining area. Staff very helpful in arranging excursions. Food was terrific. We rode elephants, saw crocodiles & rhinos and many, many birds. We wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Julia,
Greetings!!!!!!! We are extremely delighted to read your short and sweet review in tripadvisor, sharing the experiences of your recent staying at Sapana Village Lodge. We are glad to know that you enjoyed all our services including the jungle activities and I would also like to thank to Team Sapana for their great service.

We are looking forward to your next visit to our property. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I got to have a bath with an elephant. Not something I thought I would ever say. I can't remember her name but will never forget this experience. We rode to the river bareback, rolled over and scrubbed behind her ears. It was magical.

The hotel/lodge is fantastic, very clean and tidy, the chalets/rooms are spacious and secure and the staff warm and friendly. Service at the bar/restaurant was very good and the food was great. The surrounding area is very peaceful and everyone we encountered was smiling and friendly. There is wildlife everywhere, from elephants to crocodiles, dogs to goats and cows. The tours and activities offered by the hotel were wide ranging and priced reasonably.

I have recommended Sapana to all my friends back home and will return one day. Sitting in the bar in the afternoon haze, drinking a cold beer and watching the elephants bathing in the river is a memory I will never lose, one of the best of my life.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fat_aj999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We are always inspired by the special comment like yours to move towards the excellent service for both to the clients and the local people. It is definitely the pleasure to hear that you all enjoyed very much at Sapana Village. Our team is always there to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Thanks for recommending Sapana Village to your friends back in your country.

You might had a bath with one of our two resident elephants named Champakali and Chanchalkali. We do not use the mother and baby elephants for bath activity.

Thanks again and we expect your visit to our place in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We spent two lovely nights here as part of a G-Adventure tour. Everything about this place is perfect-the view from the bar verandah is just stunning, with the resident elephants regularly splashing in the lake.

Food excellent and reasonably priced, rooms spotless and comfortable. Staff so friendly.

Best of all is this is a social enterprise and by staying you support the local villages and elephant welfare projects. Loads to do in the surrounding area which is safe and clean. We will definitely be back one day!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bonnieboobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Dear Guest, !!!!!!!!!!!!!

We are really thankful for this inspiring comments you have posted in TripAdvisor of your experience at Sapana Village. We are delighted to hear from you that you enjoyed your staying and the excursions which were offered by the lodge.

We are really expecting that other travelers will be benefited with your review.

With Regards and Respect,
Sapana Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

We loved pretty much everything about this place: sleeping in our cosy hut, surrounded by the noises of the jungle, waking up to see a baby elephant wandering past our window, spotting a crocodile in the river while eating our breakfast. Sapana is right in the heart of Chitwan, with beautiful views and walks in every direction. I spent hours just watching the river: the elephants bathing, the fishermen with their handmade nets. The lodge also works closely with the nearby Tharu village, selling beautiful local handicrafts in the shop (we loved the bedsheets and the peacock cushions) and supporting community projects. They offer a whole range of activities: we tried the 'elephant candy making', which was fun. The restaurant was great too: the Tharu Cheechar was one of the tastiest things we tried in Nepal. Overall a great experience, would recommend to anyone!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank IceMaskWhale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We really appreciate our stay in Sapana . Clean room , friendly service and professional guides . After a long trek , definitely the right
place to rest and to enjoy the jungle activities . Bathing with the elephants was awesome , even if the manager had to convince me first :-)))) ( thanks again :-)
I can recommend this hotel to everyone
Greetings from Luxembourg

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Macko80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Regards from us for your short and sweet review in TripAdvisor sharing your experience of recent staying at Sapana Village. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved this place. Comments like yours are the sources of motivation for the entire working team at the lodge.

Thanks again and we are looking forward your visit to this plane in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Sapana Lodge is perfectly located and the entire Lodge is very nice, authentic and lovely designed. We arrived from a chaotic drive and the noise of Kathmandu and we found it like paradise. Owner and Manager let us feel so welcome right after we arrived. The employees are nice and smart. Everyone is relaxed and helpful! Food is very good there. Try the vegetarian Bowl and the Masala Tea. They have their own Elephants incl. a Baby Elephant! Our Highlight was the Elephant Bathing. You can walk to a traditional Tharu Village, the impressions were unforgettable. The Lodge supports the social development and built up a school. For us it was perfect. We extended our stay and went relaxed and blessed! Thanks Sapana Village Lodge, we'll come back soon!
Best Alex + Bibi

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alextanzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dhruba G, General Manager at Sapana Village Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment in TripAdvisor that inspires us towards excellent service and quality. We are truly delighted to hear from you that you thoroughly enjoyed our beautiful resort and your headline itself adds the great value. Your comment was shared to the entire staff members.

We are also happy to hear that you loved our rooms, elephants walking through the garden, amazing views from the restaurant and all the jungle activities. We are expecting your visit to this place again and we would be serving you the Vegetable Bowl and Masala Tea with smile. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
1.2 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
441 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jungle Safari Lodge
Jungle Safari Lodge
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
244 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Green Park Chitwan
Green Park Chitwan
#1 of 14 in Chitwan National Park
404 reviews
1.2 mi away
Eden Jungle Resort
Eden Jungle Resort
#4 of 12 in Sauraha
169 reviews
18.2 mi away
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle Lodge
Pugdundee Safaris Barahi Jungle ...
#1 of 22 in Chitwan National Park
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapana Village Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapana Village Lodge

Address: 3 Sauraha | Chitwan Nepal, Sauraha 32909, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Sauraha
Price Range: £42 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapana Village Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sapana Village Lodge is located in a fantastic location bordering beautiful Chitwan National Park area in the southern part of Nepal. With an approximately 4 hours drive by road or a 15 minutes flight from Kathmandu, Sapana Village is definitely a suitable destination for individuals, couples and families. A uniquely designed hotel with an authentic Tharu decoration, Sapana Village aims to support the local community. Started as a small business hotel, it has developed as the sustainable and responsible eco tourism project contributing to the indigenous people of the Terai region. Sapana Village Lodge has a small petting zoo for the children. We have rabbits, goats, peacocks , chickens and two elephants named Champakali and Chanchalkali. Our beautiful botanical and medicinal herbs and plants have become the residence for more than a hundred regular and migrant birds of the lowlands of Nepal. You will receive an amazing wake up call by these beautiful coloured birds! At the lodge, you can book a great variety of excursions.Sapana Village Lodge has 28 beautifully decorated deluxe rooms. All rooms have a private bathroom with toilet, 24 hour hot water, and a balcony or veranda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Sapana Village Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapana Village Hotel Sauraha
Sapana Village Lodge Nepal/Sauraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing