We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please Improve your rooms”
Review of Hotel Riverside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riverside
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Please Improve your rooms”
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel needs urgent renovation of rooms. I have changed my more then twice but same result all the time. Service was good and the employees are also good. This hotel is well located at the side of river. You can have chilled beer at the garden along with breathtaking view of river, jungle and the sunset as well.

Room Tip: Check the room before you use it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shishir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaan, Owner at Hotel Riverside, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Sir thank you very much for your wonderful suggestion.we will try our lbour best to improve our rooms quality.Next when you will come we will wont give you chance to complain.
Always in your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    22
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
21
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesaieed, Qatar
Level Contributor
150 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

It s my second time to stay in this hotel, just for 25 $ rate per night it s really great deal, room is enough for 3 people. quite clean though. hot water available all the day,this really help you to relax after exhausted from jungle safari.
Morning time river side view is great,you can see elephant bath activity, you even can joint them.
Restaurant menu is just ok, but you can find many eatery place around.
Hotel provided Fire wood at evening it was interesting, just grab some beer and gathering with.
Hotels staff very friendly and try to accommodate what ever your need.
For the the best room pick just try the new wing building river view, highly recommended .
Some villa room type also available if u come with family or honey moon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Setyabudianto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 October 2012

we have been in this place in 2nd october and we booked for 3 nights/4 days package. our accommodation was in some of the cottage called c/3, which is very closed to the river where we could see the elephant bath every morning from 10:30 to 12 :00 pm which was great experienced we had, a lot of tourist were screaming around to have fun with elephant having bath which, may be never used to it. we have done lot of excursion with hotels guide who was very knowledgeable to explain about nature and wild life, we saw 9 rhinos in 3 different major program like jungle walk, jeep safari and elephant ride which was marginal, we saw lot of numbers of two type crocodiles in the river during canoe ride, many deer, monkeys, jeep safari is the best ways to get deep i to the national park which was duration of 4 hours, entire service in the hotel like food , room, was excellent and very friendly staffs, we hardly recommend to any travelers to stay at this hotel. we will come back here again some days . sevaral hammocks are in the garden which was good to read books with sounds of the birds.

Room Tip: c/3 cottage, room above restaurant, room on 3rd floors have excellent views of river,jungle,elephant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auspiciousheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaan, Owner at Hotel Riverside, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Its very nice of you to write your comments in trip advisor.It will help a lot for the growth of our company.We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Riverside.We also want to assure you that we will do our best to provide you with more standard services when you will come here next time....Thank you for your review once again...hope to see u soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stayed here in early June 2012 and it was very hot. We paid extra for a room with air conditioning which was great when the power was on. When the power is not on they run a generator but this only works the fan, not the a/c. We stayed only two nights due to the heat and found the rooms a good size, comfortable beds (although an investment in sheets that fit the bed is required) and no problem with hot water. There was also free wifi in the rooms. We had some issues with mosquitoes but the rooms do have mosquito nets above the beds. We did not chose a package and organised our activities on arrival. We were going to do this with the hotel but they were significantly more expensive than walking around the corner and organizing them with another agency. When we discussed this with the hotel they were not flexible on price and told us to book with the other agency (which we did and saved over 20%). We did not eat at the hotel so can't comment on meals - there are plenty of cafes/restaurants in the town with reasonable priced and tasty meals. The location and gardens are lovely with an outlook over the river and jungle and it is very close to the elephant bathing area which is a must. The staff were friendly and talking to other guests, the guides that the hotel provided with the organised packages were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

You can't beat the location in Sauraha, but they tried to give us the worst room in the hotel despite only a few people staying there, the food was awful even by Nepalese standards, the staff were unhelpful and in some cases downright bothersome with no respect for privacy and would just stand close by and stare all the time and they overcharged on drinks...

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms on the riverside is your best bet (above dining)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maaan, Owner at Hotel Riverside, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thanks for your comment in tripadvisor i am very happy that you have given your valuable time to write such a great suggestion in tripadvisor after you have commented on us we made a staff meetings and we have changed our managing system and one more thing is that we are extremly sorry that we cannot fulfill your expectation but hopefully if you would come here next time i would try my labour best to make you happy with us.At last thanks again for your great suggestion
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Hotel organises a lot of trips (elephant rides, jeep safara, canoeing) with guides. Prices are high in this area compared to the rest of Nepal, but worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeroen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I have to admit that this place isn't the cheapest but the location is fantastic (if you consider seeing elephants being washed in the river from your bedroom window in the morning fantastic...which I pesonally do). The rooms are very clean and the place is friendly.. however, it is the accessibilty to the national park which is the key factor when looking at places to stay in Sauraha. The Riverside is on the very edge of the park. The organised tours that the riverside offer are not cheap, in fact I would estimate that they are in the region of 30% more expensive, however from what I saw they are value for money. Our three day itinerary was a canoe ride, jeep safari then elephant safari. Our guide was superb, he knew the park like the back of his hand and the amount we saw and learned about was fantastic, he even guided the other guides from the more 'cost effective' tours in the town!
We were on a tight budget but my advice with regards to the tours is take the hit of the increased cost, because it is worth it in terms of quality. Use you time chilling in a hammock rather running through town getting a better deal!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sauraha
0.6 mi away
Hotel Parkside
Hotel Parkside
#1 of 12 in Sauraha
422 reviews
1.0 mi away
Landmark Forest Park
Landmark Forest Park
#1 of 8 in Chitwan National Park
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chitwan Riverside Resort
Chitwan Riverside Resort
#7 of 12 in Sauraha
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#3 of 12 in Sauraha
109 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eden Jungle Resort
Eden Jungle Resort
#4 of 12 in Sauraha
168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jungle Wildlife Camp
Jungle Wildlife Camp
#5 of 23 in Chitwan National Park
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riverside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverside

Property: Hotel Riverside
Address: 2 Sauraha | Ratnanagar-6, Chitwan National Park, Sauraha 44204, Nepal
Region: Nepal > Central Region > Narayani Zone > Chitwan District > Sauraha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 31 Speciality Lodging in Sauraha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Riverside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverside is known as the best location in Sauraha as it is situated at the bank of Rapti River. The garden is cozy with beautiful flowers and trees which attract many birds and butterflies. Hammocks are provided in the garden between the trees where guests can rest, read and chill out. Take pleasure in fabulous views of National Park from the garden and restaurant: crocodile basking on the bank of Rapti River, deer grazing, rhinos grazing, birds feeding, animal sounds, beautiful sunsets and elephant baths all can be enjoyed. We have 21 air conditioned deluxe rooms and 14 standard rooms with multi channel television with 24 hour hot and cold shower. We have WiFi service, money exchange service, laundry service, enough parking space, campfire and bar-be-que ground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Riverside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Riverside Nepal/Sauraha

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing