We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good way to bring in the New Year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tradewinds Country Inn
Ranked #6 of 6 Mtunzini B&B and Inns
Boksburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not a good way to bring in the New Year”
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We were booked to stay at Tradewinds for three nights over new year. We bailed after just 1 night. There was no information brochure of any kind in the room, something I always look for to tell me about the amenities and services at the hotel and in the town. The room was primitive - bathroom cramped and shoddy - not even a shelf to put toiletries on. There were 2 lonely coat hangers in the huge cupboard: absolutely no privacy from the garden and pool (which was half full and murky). TV didn't work. Screen door into bathroom and the sliding door out to the garden were not working properly.
Our breakfast was awful - nobody came to check on us or tell us how it worked. The food was limited, stodgy and badly cooked - eggs done only one way (runny) accompanied by overcooked bacon. The one thing we WERE asked for - white or brown toast - was done wrong and we got the opposite. Nobody seemed to care about customer service at all.
It's a great pity, because Mtunzini itself is lovely little town and we loved the beach. But if we go back it will be to a different spot, that's for sure.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S1162JAJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    3
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
4
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We went on a bid or buy special to tradewinds country in for 3 days. We received excellent hospitality, and thoroughly enjoyed all the extras offered by them - The lagoon braai, boat trip and beach picnic. Furthermore the curry dinners were excellent and we enjoyed our evening dips in the pool. I recommend tradewinds to anyone visiting the north coast

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bordeaux, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I went over to Tradewinds with my parents coming from France last week and we stayed for 5 nights.

When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and it already felt like a home away from home!

The three of us stayed in the same room because of the hotel being full. The day following we got offered to have an extra room but we were so nicely settled all together in the same room, just like the old days!
The room was spacious and very comfortable, everything we needed was there. Maybe a little detail missing, a rubbish bin in the room.
The en suite bathroom was very practical and comfortable.
We had a sliding window opening onto the very big swimming pool, always crystal clear.
I was amazed by the very silent aircon, that we had to use every night considering the hot summer days!
We had only one meal at the hotel which was breakfast. Everything you could hope for was there, quality and quantity according to your expectations.
The location of the hotel is brilliant. You are 2min away by car from the beach and less than 2min away by foot from the shops and different restaurants.
The staff was very friendly and always willing to make your stay even better. The attention to detail was amazing, a real home.

I recommend it to any kind of travellers for a few nights in very comfy beds and beautiful surroundings!

Room Tip: Get a room in the front if possible, as behind you might be uncomfortable if many late guests are br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Lucia, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

I have stayed at Trandwinds 3 times in the last few months. My last stay was four days. Tracy and Wendy are very friendly and always ready to assist with your every need. The dinners were very good - I can highly recommend the Tradewinds New Wave meal. The rooms are basic but very clean and tidy and well maintained. Staff members are all very friendly and polite. This is a really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ndiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

There are several different types of rooms at Tradewinds. I was there for a conference and I stayed in the newer rooms. It was spacious with two beds. The bathroom was a bit primitive. The first room I was in had no hot water and actually did not have a shower head. I told the front desk and they moved me to the same type of room, but with a real working shower--and with a few more pictures on the walls and all together a bit cleaner and spiffier. The inn provided all our meals for the conference and they were fine. The managers are working hard to give the place the TLC it needs.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

I stayed at Tradewinds for two nights as part of a conference. The rooms were more basic than they appear in the photographs on the website. Recommend checking to make sure you have a room with a shower or a bath because some of them have one and not the other, or have both but only one works. Staff seemed happy to help with guest needs. Payphone located near the office. Meals were average. Meeting space met our needs and view of the ocean was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etoile983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mtunzini
22.4 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Richards Bay Waterfront
15.4 mi away
Canefields Country House
Canefields Country House
#2 of 3 in Empangeni
3 reviews
23.6 mi away
Imvubu Lodge
Imvubu Lodge
#1 of 1 in Meerensee
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Premier Hotel The Richards
Premier Hotel The Richards
#2 of 8 in Richards Bay
174 reviews
23.3 mi away
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
Indaba Lodge Richards Bay
#6 of 8 in Richards Bay
45 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zululand Country Lodge
Zululand Country Lodge
#5 of 6 in Mtunzini
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Country Inn

Property: Tradewinds Country Inn
Address: 12 Hely Hutchinson Street, Mtunzini 3867, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Mtunzini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mtunzini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tradewinds Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet country hotel set in a unique location with both Nature Reserve and South Africa's most untouched beautiful beach. Tradewinds Country Inn is conveniently located just off the N2 in Mtunzini, Zululand, Kwa-Zulu Natal North Coast. A mere hour and a half drive from Durban, half way on route to Hluhluwe, Mkuze and St. Lucia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tradewinds Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing