We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent relaxing stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Front side of the Villa (1) Front side of the Villa (2)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Ongoye View Residence - The View
Front side of the Villa (1)
Front side of the Villa (2)
Fantastic views over the pool
Infinity pool
Infinity pool with a view
Valley view from the garden
Third and fourth bedroom (with bunk-beds)
Pool party!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mtunzini, Zululand, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
zeendaba
Durban, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent relaxing stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

My family had a great time at Ongoye view residence. Very spacious, neat and extremely clean house. All we needed was already there. Thank you to Mookey the friendly & helpful housekeeper.
I will definately eeccomment the house to friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelissaA...
East Sussex, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most beautiful house we've ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 21 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Honestly just sensational - where do I start? From the moment we arrived and went up the drive we all started smiling and knew we'd have a great time - as we did. The photos actually don't do the house justice. It is just stunning - the architecture, the decoration, the furnishings. Everything was not only beautiful but designed to be enjoyed and to work with the surroundings. We loved being in the pool during the day, before a bit of lounging on the incredibly comfortable sun loungers beside it, and then having a few sundowners on the front terrace. The view is just so wonderful it enhances your day! The outdoor eating area is also fantastic - as was all of the house!

Erik was wonderful to deal with, and it was a pleasure to meet Pie who settled us in with such charm. Mokey the housekeeper kept the house beautifully, and was never in our way.

'Zini' itself we loved - great selection of food in the supermarket and the deli at The Clay Oven (whwre we also got great takeaway pizza from). The beach is just amazing - miles of deserted sand.

We can't wait to go back - thanks so much for letting us stay Erik.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul s
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

3 couples and 4 children stayed here for a long weekend and had such a great time.
The house is well equipped with plenty of space for the children and even when it rained, there was table football and table tennis.
Very relaxing and we would recommend house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JULIE P
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing house in friendly town”
Reviewed 18 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Had a very enjoyable short stay at this stunning house just after New Year. We were made very welcome by the owner's mother and neighbours, who showed us around the house and provided advice and help about the area. The house keeper Moke was always on hand to make our stay hassle free and relaxed. The house and garden are very tastefully designed and well kept and it was a pleasure to spend time on the terrace and by the pool during the hot weather. Mtunzini is a very quiet little town and the estuary area in the reserve is worth exploring with wonderful natural forest and bird life. We even found zebras wondering around near the house and the female gave birth during our stay - amazing if unexpected to see suburban zebras ! Would thoroughly recommend Ongoye to couples or families looking for a peaceful oasis to relax in style and comfort.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candj23
nantwich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow, wow, wow”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
4
people found this review helpful

Our one week stay at Ongoye was the highlight of our holiday in South Africa. The house is wonderful, just like something out of Grand Designs! The pool and garden were amazing and the view to die for, especially very early in the morning sitting on the balcony with a cup of tea in hand! we were very well looked after by Mokey, the Service Manager, and enjoyed meeting the next door neighbours who were also very helpful. We also much appreciated the kindness of the owner and it was a pleasure to meet him. The village has everything you could wish for, including the nearby beach, which was beautiful at sunset. We would love to return, and for much longer next time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CVcvcv6
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view and lovely pool”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Thanks for such a lovely two weeks in Mtunzini! The pool was beautiful, the view over the hills was spectacular and the house was spacious, comfortably furnished and great for all our kids and family. We felt well taken care of by the neighbors and staff, and look forward to coming back sometime.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred S
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in March 2011
3
people found this review helpful

This absolutely is a great house, decorated with a great sense of style, and facilitated with everyting you need, in de friendly village of Mtunzini, which actually means" " a place in the shade". Very enjoyable were the sunsets with a glass of wine, the liquor store and a supermarket are just around the corner.

The pool is great!

Closeby some fantastic beaches and ofcourse the nature reserves. I had a great time staying here a couple of weeks. Had coffee at coffeeshop The Fat Cat everyday, meeting friendly local people and enjoying a great view from the terrace. And cheesecake!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Alleen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing