We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming little hotel”
Review of La Treille Muscate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Treille Muscate
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cliousclat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“A charming little hotel”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had a highly enjoyable stay at La Treille Muscat. The setting in this lovely village is perfect. The service from the young and friendly staff was very good. We opted for two of the cheapest rooms (85 euros a night) and they were small. The bathrooms were also very small with not very efficient extraction fans and, as a result, felt damp. We did though see one of the more expensive rooms and they were much larger and far more comfortable.

Unlike other reviewers, we really enjoyed our evening meal and (at 31 Euros for the set menu) it was very good value. Breakfast was a standard French hotel buffet.

In summary, this is a really good option for someone en route to or from the South of France. Far better than any chain offering.

Room Tip: If you want a large room pay the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJohnN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    79
    30
    16
    6
See reviews for
26
136
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed here on way back to uk from le var. what a place! Stayed in room 15 and whilst €150 was the cost it was worth every euro. Outstanding with views and balcony over valley and even sight of power station was not a problem. Food and service was first rate and good value. So good we have changed travel plans in July to stay again on way back. Cheaper room - nearly half price but looking forward to food and walk around a beautiful village.
Highly recommend.
Rick

Room Tip: Rooms over valley but village is lovely. Booked room 1 for return trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimaud, Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The website for La Treille Muscate implies that it is a very good restaurant with rooms. No-where on the site does it say the restaurant closes for lunch or dinner. We stayed there on Monday the 23rd of September. When we arrived at 2PM, eagerly looking forward to lunch, both the restaurant and the accommodation was locked and no-one was available to welcome us or allow us entry. When the staff arrived at 3PM, we attempted to reserve a table for dinner only to be told that the restaurant was not open on Monday for either lunch or dinner! This had not been shared with us on making the booking or subsequently. Our room did offer us a view across the valley as suggested on the website but also a view of a large power station belching clouds of smoke or steam which had not appeared in the publicity photographs, unsurprisingly. I received no explanation/apology from the owner on checking out, just that "c'était noté". So, I cannot comment on the restaurant since it was closed even for residents but I am not going to give it another try as I did not form the impression that the wishes and welfare of the clients were a priority for this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 10 if you like power stations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We booked this hotel through a tourist information office as the lady recommended the area. It was so hidden away we had trouble finding the village. So quiet with wonderful views down the valley. Our room was small but nicely decorated. The restaurant was expensive but a lovely dining room and the staff served us well. Perhaps a little expensive overall.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel. We didn't realise the big air ducting vent was just bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greeneyes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Last stayed here about 10 years ago, but returned last week to find it was just as nice as on our previous visit. We stayed in Room 1 this time, with a view down towards the Rhone Valley (and yes, the Nuclear Power station as well!) Room was comfortable, nicely decorated and appointed with a 160cm bed. Bathroom was OK too, with a shower over the bath rather than a cubicle but all clean and well maintained. We dined in the Restaurant, where, just like last time the food was superb with a set menu at 32 Euro per person. Our only disappointment was that, along with one other couple, we were seated in a separate room away from the restaurant which was really lacking in atmosphere. Really couldn't understand why this was done, as there were still plenty of tables available in the Restaurant but eventually realised that we were the people on half-board who were kept separate from the other diners, and it made us feel like we were "outcasts".
Breakfast was served next morning in the same room, and the buffet was more than adequate and well presented with a good choice of local produce.
So, ten years on this is still a nice place to stop over on the drive up from (or to) the Cote d'Azur.

Room Tip: Go onto La Treille Muscat's own website and select which room suits you best. We had Room 1 thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We've been going there for several years driving to southern France. It's close to the A7 (less than 5 miles) and the owner has decorated each room differently with great taste.
The village is still very authentic and overlooks the Rhone valley.
This year, we'll add an extra point to the meals, more inventive.
The "cannette" (duck) was perfectly cooked and the "baba au rhum" (desert) , splendid! As for the apricot with macaron desert...a bit more apricot would be appreciated.
Dining on the garden terrace (with view) was quite romantic.

Room Tip: Some bedrooms are really tiny. Ask for a room with view. Some even have balconies or terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenaparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I've stayed here many times over the years and always have had a consistently wonderful experience. The rooms are charming and the restaurant is consistently good with strong wine list to match. Located in the heart of this lovely village, you feel part of it when you stroll this ancient potter's village and sit in the shade of the small town square amid the clacking of the "boules." Can't wait until my next visit.

Room Tip: Check out the Web site for a selection of the rooms. They are different sizes, so it is good to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bwainiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cliousclat
1.1 mi away
Hotel de Mirmande
Hotel de Mirmande
#1 of 2 in Mirmande
109 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Les Oliviers
Hotel Les Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Loriol-sur-Drome
188 reviews
6.2 mi away
Auberge la Plaine
Auberge la Plaine
#1 of 1 in Chabrillan
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
La Capitelle Hotel
La Capitelle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Mirmande
98 reviews
11.1 mi away
Chateau Les Oliviers De Salettes
4.8 mi away
Ibis Loriol Le Pouzin
Ibis Loriol Le Pouzin
#1 of 4 in Le Pouzin
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Treille Muscate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Treille Muscate

Property: La Treille Muscate
Address: 26270 Cliousclat, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Cliousclat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cliousclat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Treille Muscate 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Treille Muscate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Treille Muscate Cliousclat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing