We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find in Churchill”
Review of Hackers End

Hackers End
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Churchill
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hackers End
Ranked #3 of 3 Churchill B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We Stayed for 1 unexpected Night @ Hackers End! The Owner was extremely accommodating on such short notice, very welcoming & our stay there was perfect. Homely, charming, Well put together room, living room & fab Bathroom! Perfect for a lovely get-away from London. Everything was provided for & her Breakfast were simply exquisite! Thank you so much for such a lovely stay! Would definitely recommend this hidden Gem in the Cotswolds! James & Andrew

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank austin05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I had a very pleasant stay here. We were given a friendly welcome, despite being much later than originally planned due to traffic around London. The accommodation is spotlessly clean, the breakfast is super and the location very peaceful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernest60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Tucked away in the small village of Churchill, charming accommodation with just one suite comprising bedroom, small lounge and good-sized bathroom. Very well stocked with everything that could possibly be needed and very clean. Exceptional attention to detail. Breakfast was good quality but perhaps not to everyone's taste - if you want a more traditional English breakfast, you would need to be insistent.
2 friendly red setters and 1 lovely Burmese cat.
Only place to eat in the village is a pub which serves high quality food, if a little pricey.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeedsMadcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Booked up on the strength of TA reviews, and was mildly disappointed, not by the room facilities, or the breakfast which was fabulous, but more on basic comfort. The rooms are tiny, and the bed for us, uncomfortable. I'm 6ft 3, so maybe this accounts for this view. Chris I think was having a bad day when we arrived but had cheered up appreciably the next day. This b&b for us will be ruled out in future due to poor sleep quality. End of story. If on the other hand you can get comfortable here, you will be well looked after, so long as you don't need wifi, which doesn't work, or to eat breakfast at any other time except 8.30am. There are some very good points. Chris clearly tries to do her best for her guests, I have ne'er seen a room stocked with so many goodies, the house is very clean, and the breakfast sumptuous. But that is all for nothing if you're not comfortable. So I know this review is at odds with all the others, but this was our experience. One size does not patently fit all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My mum and I have just returned from a 2 night break at Hackers End Bed & Breakfast which was most enjoyable. The Location is perfect for sight seeing around the Cotswolds including areas we visited Bourton on the Water, Stow on the Wold, Burford, Broadway, Chipping Campden, Morton- in- marsh, Oxford, to name just a few.

The accommodation was superb, clean and spacious with separate tv lounge and comfortable sofa for reading or just relaxing after a long day sightseeing. Wide choice of teas and coffees available with biscuits and chocolates which I couldn't resist. A mini fridge containing fresh milk, water, orange even a home made elderflower cordial which I sampled and enjoyed.

The bed was so comfortable we were reluctant to get up on a morning until the smell of home cooked breakfast drifted up the stairs. Spoilt for choice at breakfast with fresh fruits, yoghurts and cereals a plenty, warm croissants and home made jams. I had a superb Cotswold cooked breakfast which included bacon, egg, sauted mushrooms, tomatoes, sausage and baked beans if you wanted them. My mum had the smoked trout with sauted mushrooms and tomatoes and cleaned her plate. Plenty of tea and toast which kept us going until tea time.

We made new friends during our stay with Mia the Burmese cat who was so friendly and loved her chin tickling and rolled over on our feet also Rafferty and Finnegan the Irish Setters who were always pleased to see us with a warm welcome back after our days out.

We had tea at The Kings Head Inn in Bledington just a few miles away one night which was very nice and the other night at the Greedy Goose which was a lovely pub, nicely decorated but only average food.

On our way back home we stopped off in Stratford Upon Avon and Leamington Spa which ended our trip perfectly.

I can certainly recommend staying at Hackers End if you are visiting this part of the Cotswolds, you will not be disappointed. Christine is a wonderful hostess and has plenty of local knowledge if you need it, she also keeps files full of information for places to visit and eat for her visitors.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nettie19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

My wife and I stayed at Hackers End B&B for four nights on our trip to the Cotswolds at the end of July 2103 and we will strongly recommend it! We had a wonderful stay and can not really express how impressed we were with the hostess, Chris. Her attention to details makes this B&B truly feel like home. After a long day of sightseeing, it was really good to return to her clean and comfortable B&B. There were all sorts of goodies in our own private lounge. The small cooler with complementary water, juice etc was also much appreciated. Waking up the next morning to enjoy Chris' superb breakfast must be the best possible way to start start your day! She can also provide you with recomondations on what to do and where to go in the Costwolds depending on your interests. Towns like Oxford, Stratford-upon-Aven, Bath and the Cotswold villages are in easy reach of Churchill.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPH887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I would strongly recommend Hackers end as a 2, 3 or 4 night base to explore The Cotswolds.

We stayed 2 nights in July, in what can only be described as a modern private serviced apartment, with loads of extra goodies and thoughtful touches provided by a wonderful host Chris, who could not do enough for us during our stay.

The accommodation is a double bedroom a relaxing lounge with a private fridge full of complementary juice, water, cordial, fresh milk (no uht at hackers End) there were sweets and fruit on the table, a cupboard with more herbal teas, coffees and biscuits than you could shake a stick at. A beautiful bathroom with luxury soaps, lotions and fluffy towels.

Best of all was the breakfast, fresh, plentiful and varied, this is a great find, a 4 star B&B with 5 star hotel standards, we will visit again. BOOK IT WITH CONFIDENCE, The Cotswolds villages are all within easy reach of Churchill.

Room Tip: Hackers End 5 star suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nal61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hackers End? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackers End

Address: Hackers End Hackers Lane, Churchill, Chipping Norton OX7 6NL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Churchill
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Hotel Class:4 star — Hackers End 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Hackers End Churchill, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing