We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable one night only”
Review of The Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Forge
Ranked #1 of 3 Churchill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Found this place after deciding to continue our weekend away. Searched internet en route and found this one and luckily they had 1 room left.
Very enjoyable stay. Suited us perfectly as close to amazing pub "The Chequers", across the road. We just wanted a relaxing evening in with couple of hours out and thats what we got.
No hassle with coming in and out and very quiet environment. Clean and all perfectly formed in room for B+B stay. Breakfast times good and choice very good. My hubby bit off it in the am so felt really bad for not eating the breakfast but this was nothing to do with our stay. It was graciously accepted returned.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holsutd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, tell your husband not to worry about breakfast. Our village pub "The Chequers" is a great pub and serves excellent food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for The Forge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2013

Clean (spotless!!), warm, friendly and easily accessible by train from London or Oxford, adjacent to paths for walkers and cyclists. I'd wanted nothing else from a B and B for my five-day stay in the Cotswolds, and here--thanks to indefatigable hosts Debbie and Martin Rushbrooke--I found it all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LightTravelerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for your review, you were great fun to have around. Glad you enjoyed your cycle rides even though it was very "cold and wet", you certainly made the most of your vist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We were greeted by Debby (proprietor) who was most welcoming and helpful the room was excellent and the facilities were better than any hotel we have stayed in. The breakfast was freshly cooked to order and it was excellent. Good news the local pub has re-opened but it is doing so well that it is very difficult to book a table.
If your are booking well in advance it is well worth trying to see if a table is available as it is across the road from the Forge.

Room Tip: Contact the owners with your preferences they are most helpful.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for writing such a super review. We were only sorry that you could not get a table at our local pub/restaurant in Churchill, excellent place to eat but must be booked in advance if possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2013

We had a lovely stay at the lodge, so good we booked a second night.
It was great value for money and fantastic for a couple of nights away after christmas.
Lovely hosts and amazing breakfast!
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Beautiful place. Very comfortable four poster bed. Excellent cooked breakfast. Lovely hosts, friendly but unobtrusive. Left a book behind in our room and the owner posted it back to us and wouldn't take any money for postage! Also very well placed for resturants (recommend the Tite Inn 2 miles down the road)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria1967fasi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Beautiful, comfortable B&B situated near to Chipping Norton, with gorgeous garden. Room was quaint and very clean with biscuits, nuts etc and tea and coffee. Breakfast was superb,one of the best I've ever have eaten. Only thing was the local pub was closed, so hope it's open on our return. Plenty of info available from the owners, with tips of where to eat, walk etc

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gojojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We spent a week here at the end of July. We were made very welcome. The bed was very comfortable, the room was nice and the ensuit was fine. The breakfasts were good. The owners were very helpful giving us a fridge in the room for our wine, giving us menus for local restuarants etc etc. The village is a good base to explore the area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50crocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchill
2.6 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
203 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,011 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
697 reviews
7.0 mi away
White Hart Royal Hotel
White Hart Royal Hotel
#1 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,940 reviews
5.5 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge

Address: The Forge Church Road, Churchill, Chipping Norton OX7 6NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Churchill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Price Range: £86 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cotswolds, the heart of rural England, The Forge was once the village blacksmith‘s, but in recent years it has been converted into the warm and comfortable home it is today, while retaining many of the original features. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, comfortable seats and refreshments. Two bedrooms are with traditional four-poster bed and Whirlpool bath. The third bedroom contains a King size or twin beds with a shower room fitted with a modern rain-shower head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forge Churchill, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing