We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated to leave...”
Review of The Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Forge
Ranked #1 of 3 Churchill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hated to leave...”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is perhaps the best B&B my husband and I have ever visited. The bed was so comfortable, the whole place is immaculate, the owners are wonderful and the breakfast was great. An the Chequers pub across the street serves incredibly good food. Would not stay anywhere else in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: We stayed in the turret room, which was lovely. The bathroom is a little small, but very servicable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgnapoli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay, you covered so much ground on your visit it was great to get your feed back on the different tourist attractions. We are very lucky to have The Chequers over the road and even more lucky that they serve good food
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
106
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We stay with Debby & Martin at least 4 times a year, so that is a 5* recommendation in itself. We love Churchill and the surrounding area. You will always get a very warm welcome at this B&B, it is professionally run by people who care about their guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
As always it is a pleasure to have you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

The owners were very welcoming and the room was very comfortable with everything we needed. There was parking for all 6 rooms and the breakfast was well cooked and used good ingredients. The view from our room was not the best as we looked out over a garage but as we were only staying the one night we were not bothered.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 266Annette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We are pleased to hear that you found your room comfortable, we frequently sleep in all of our rooms to see if anything could be improved or is not quite right. Unfortunately as you say, your room does not have a pretty view, it does overlook the back of the house, so we have tried to make it as attractive as possible on the inside. Our website gives details of each of our rooms and whether they have a view or not. Thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again next year for even more cheese at the festival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This B+B is better far better than many hotels I've stayed in. The staff were very friendly and helpful but not remotely intrusive.The rooms and all areas were impeccably clean, the bed firm and comfortable. There were plenty of sockets for chargers etc including one by the bedside table. The shower and bath worked well. The breakfast was freshly cooked and included decent vegetarian options.

If I ever need to stay in the area, this will be my first choice.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChilternTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your review and if you are ever in the area again you will be very welcome. Your comments about the room are much appreciated, we try to ensure that our guests requirements are met and we always fins that there are not enough sockets for todays computers and gadgets. Breakfast is an important part of any B&B, ensuring that vegetarian options are available is very important. Enjoy your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

What a fantastic lucky find - only booked it the day before - was attending the airshow at nearby RAF Fairford and realised it was a long way to travel there and back in one day so decided to come the day before but was struggling to find anywhere decent to stay. Luckily for us the Forge had a late cancellation. A beautiful place in a beautiful village, we arrived in lovely sunshine and had a lovely walk round the area. Had dinner at the Chequers, which I booked the day before, lovely food but quite expensive. Stayed in room 2 which was lovely but from looking on the website all the rooms look good. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrudyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
It was a lucky cancellation for both of us, we ended up with enthusiastic guests visiting the airshow and you found somewhere to stay. We never impose on guests to write us reviews so we feel very appreciated when somebody writes about our B&B. From what we understand the airshow was a great success but "Very HOT". We very much look forward to meeting you again.
Debby & Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Lovely b & b felt very special. it was our first time in the Cotswolds and we ended up staying an extra night. Got upgraded on the second night so we were very impressed!
Lovely and cosy, clean and brilliant fresh breakfast! We really didn't want to leave!
We'll be back next winter!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Lovely to hear from you and what a surprise, a review from last winter when we hope our guests are "warm and cosy" compared to today when we are trying to keep the house nice and cool for our guests. We will certainly look forward to seeing you again next winter when you can explore the Cotswolds further. See you soon, Debby
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wickham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We booked the Forge, for a stay with friends, having spotted it on the internet - so we weren't sure what to expect. Suffice it to say that we weren't disappointed.

We received a warm welcome from Debby who, together with Martin, are very good hosts. There is ample parking (three cars in front of the house and three next door by the repair garage [which is well set back, almost unnoticeable and certainly not intrusive]) and a small garden in the front and the back of the house.

As its name implies the Forge is a house which was converted many years ago from (guess what?!!). As such, it has a good deal of character to it. It is immaculate and cleanliness is the order of the day throughout. As others have said, the arrangement for ordering breakfast is to say what you would like (and when) on the previous night; the system works well and ensures that things are ready without wasted time and the food is freshly cooked.

Our room was perfectly adequate with a flat screen tv (not used), tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. The bathroom was small with a sloping ceiling which presented a bit of a challenge as I am tall but it was no bother in reality and, in any case, how much time do you spend in the bathroom? Our bed was extremely comfortable and there was plenty of wardrobe etc space for clothes.

There is no restriction on when you can be in your room during the daytime.

About 75 yards away there is a pub (The Chequers) which serves excellent food - although booking at busy times is advisable.

Churchill itself is a lovely small village (no shop at all, though) and is about a 20 minute drive from Stow, 30 minutes from Bourton and 10 minutes from Chipping Norton.

So, a hit for us and we strongly recommend The Forge if you are considering staying there. We would certainly go again.

Room Tip: Have a look at the Forge's website. I should think that all rooms are good with no particular pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterH333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your comprehensive review of The Forge. We enjoyed your company, good conversation and discussions about the garden and locality. Sorry your party left the purple plant cutting behind, I found it another home. We all managed considering the heat and other family worries, and I am pleased you all had a good time and hope all was well on your return. Debby & Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchill
2.6 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#1 of 5 in Chipping Norton
192 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
2.7 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#4 of 5 in Chipping Norton
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
The Falkland Arms
The Falkland Arms
#1 of 1 in Great Tew
381 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
982 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge

Property: The Forge
Address: The Forge Church Road, Churchill, Chipping Norton OX7 6NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Churchill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Forge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cotswolds, the heart of rural England, The Forge was once the village blacksmith‘s, but in recent years it has been converted into the warm and comfortable home it is today, while retaining many of the original features. All bedrooms have en-suite facilities, comfortable seats and refreshments. Two bedrooms are with traditional four-poster bed and Whirlpool bath. The third bedroom contains a King size or twin beds with a shower room fitted with a modern rain-shower head. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Forge Churchill, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing