We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Forge
Ranked #1 of 3 Churchill B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great stay”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Had a wonderful short break in The Cotswolds, based around The Forge. It's so quiet and peaceful in the village, and the hospitality at The Forge was perfect. Breakfast is also of a very high standard. It's very handy for a number of attractions, but Blenheim Palace is the biggie without doubt! We love The Cotswolds, so we'll be back, and we'll definitely return to The Forge.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AAGTraces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and all the attractions we have in our area. Blenheim Palace is such a lovely place to visit we are lucky having it so close to the B&B. Look forward to seeing you again sometime. All the Best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    8
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
106
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The perfect place to stay in the Cotswold area. Churchill is a quiet, quaint village away from all the hustle and bustle yet only a 10 min. drive to Chipping Norton a nice size town. The Forge has been completely remodeled into a very upscale B&B. Our host were vey helpful and the house was spotless. The bed was very comfortable and the room had a large bathroom with the best whirlpool bath of any B&B on our trip.

Room Tip: WE had room 1 four poster bed with whirlpool tub, nice view of the village.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronosbornemopars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 30 November 2014
Hi Ron, I expect your trip to the Uk is but a distant memory by now. thank you for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed the big whirlpool bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Forge was exactly what we were looking for. Well run and welcoming, it proved to be an oasis of calm in an extremely hectic weekend.
It is an attractive, characterful building, in a lovely Cotswold village. In the individual, well equipped and spotlessly clean rooms (we had two), there were many thoughtful touches, including wine glasses and corkscrew, even flannels, which were supplemented during our stay. Breakfasts were well cooked and well presented, using best quality ingredients.
Our hosts, Debby and Martin Rushbrooke were particularly helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wharfedale_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We had a wonderful night at this lovely B&B, easily located on the main road through the charming village of Churchill. Our hosts Martin and Debby were wonderful - welcoming and informative about the local area. Our gabled en-suite room (#5) was cozy and spotlessly clean, with WIFI and a TV for those who want it. We slept well and enjoyed a delicious and generously portioned breakfast (the salmon eggs were fabulous). We were sorry to go and look forward to the possibility of coming back. If we were lucky enough to live in the UK, this would be a regular spot for us. Thank you!

Room Tip: Room 5 had a wonderful garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnicksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Little gem of a place. Stayed in room 3 and couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Beautifully clean and so quiet. Breakfast amazing and owners very friendly. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olliekit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Even from the road we could see this was going to be a good choice and we weren't disappointed.
Every little thing we could have wanted and appreciated was here. The room was a delight with nice touches that we really appreciate and beautifully furnished with comfort in mind.
The breakfast room was a picture and the breakfast itself was excellent. We were attentively looked after by Martin and nothing was too much trouble.
We ate dinner at the Pub just opposite 'The Chequers' where we can recommend the Ham hock and leek pie - to die for.
All in all a really pleasant stay, that we enjoyed very much.
Thanks Debby and Martin.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We love our garden and have spent years trying to make it look special as you approach the B&B, many guests mention it and thank you for your comments. Pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I only stayed one night at The Forge en route to Blenheim Palace, but hope to return as it is an excellent B & B. I was made very welcome on arrival, had a lovely comfortable room at the front of the house and I was impressed by the facilities. There was an information leaflet giving details of the choice of breakfasts and about places to dine out in the area. The room and the bed were very comfortable, it was quiet and I felt quite at home. I was travelling alone on this occasion, but hope to return to show my husband this great place to stay in such a gorgeous English village.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candida M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debby R, Owner at The Forge, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We welcome many guests traveling on their own and we are pleased to hear that you felt comfortable and welcome. We look forward to meeting you and your husband you are next in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Churchill
2.6 mi away
The Fox
The Fox
#3 of 7 in Chipping Norton
177 reviews
5.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
2.7 mi away
Crown and Cushion Hotel
Crown and Cushion Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chipping Norton
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Falkland Arms
Falkland Arms
#1 of 7 in Chipping Norton
370 reviews
5.2 mi away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
956 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge

Property: The Forge
Address: The Forge Church Road, Churchill, Chipping Norton OX7 6NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton > Churchill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Churchill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Cotswolds, the heart of rural England, The Forge is almost 200 years old and was once the village blacksmith‘s. In more recent years it has been converted into the warm and comfortable home it is today, while retaining many of the original features. Five rooms are available and all have en-suite baths with showers or a shower-room, two are equipped with Whirlpool baths, three rooms have traditional four-poster beds. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Forge Churchill, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing