We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Maliba River Lodge(Tsehlanyane National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Maliba Riverside Huts(Tsehlanyane National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (633)
Filter reviews
633 results
Traveller rating
484
120
15
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
484
120
15
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorse ridingthe riverhoneymoon suitefood was amazingfive starnational parkwonderful experienceevery mealbreathtaking viewscakelocal villagean amazing placebeautiful countryout of this worldprivate balconyhiking trailsvillage tour
Filter
Updating list...
528 - 533 of 633 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2011

What a tremendous surprise to enter this magical kingdom and then just as the views couldn't get any better there is Maliba Lodge. Breathtaking and unexpectedly contemporary in design. We visited at a very cold time but after a day the luxurious lodge was nice and toasty and the real fire added that bit of romance and pleasure. Even our 22 month old son loved it and the staff were wonderful with him and made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aboule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

As a family we took a trip up to Lesotho (a place none of us has ever been) and stayed at Maliba Mountain Lodge. Needless to say we were all blown away from start to finish!

The drive through Golden Gate was a sight to see, and so were all the friendly and waving faces along the way!

Our time at Maliba was nothing short of an incredible experience from the word go! Arrival was swift, welcoming and accommodating -- and there is nothing better than being greeted with a warm smile, sherry to warm you up, and a VERY good dinner :)

We woke up to the most breathtaking views that I, personally have ever seen! As a family we have been blessed to travel fairly extensively, including Ski and Disney holidays, and we can all say that the views from Maliba were something so special and 'secret' that we felt like we were on the other side of the world.

Away from the endless ringing of cellphones and people shouting to one another about work or whatever, we felt so rested after our holiday, and all dreaded returning to 'the real world' and all moaned as we crossed the border back into SA and our phones simultaneously started beeping...

The food was amazing, service was perfect, and the rooms were a haven! We felt like we were in a honeymoon suite - til we saw our parents room was just the same!

You simply can't live without visiting this little bit of paradise!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShanFourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2011

A truly unforgettable location. Awesome value for money. Service needs a little polish but the overall staff attitude and friendliness overrides most issues.

Go there now!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

An amazing place full of wonderful people!

The border crossing into Lesotho was smooth and hassle free and the drive to the Lodge very pleasant as we passed picturesque villages, one after the other, full of smiling, waving kids and grown-ups, going about their business tending donkeys and cows amid fields of maize.

The resort itself is in an absolutely breathtaking location and the buildings sympathetically sit mimicking the silhouettes of the mountains. We were expected and welcomed very warmly and shown directly to our table, set for lunch. At the time of booking online I had mentioned it was my husband's birthday and that evening as we arrived to the restaurant for dinner we were shown to our own separate private, balcony overlooking the valley, complete with complimentary bubbly, our own fire pit and fairy lights all around! Magical stuff . We finished the evening with toddies of old cognac and feet perched on the wood fire pit, wrapped in Lesotho traditional blankets with heads tilted back looking to the stars.

We travel a lot and there are some things that are particularly important to us and we were impressed by in the Maliba Lodge.The food - as good as it looks on the website - good food cooked with a very high level of skill and excellent presentation. The bed and bedroom - gorgeous, African, sumptuous. An activity of interest - the horse trek very enjoyable - experienced guide, exciting track on the upper levels, and most importantly, a very good saddle so we weren't too sore the next day!

I've never written a review on Trip Advisor before, not because i don't check it, just because life is busy but - I felt compelled to compliment the owners and staff at Maliba Lodge. Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francesmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We were fortunate to stay at both, the river chalets and the lodge.
River Chalets:
Great design and facilities - Small comfortable rooms. Modern kitchen facilities- Weber barbecue available on the balcony.. The sound of the river right in front is wonderful and relaxing. The rock pools and scenery make for endless exciting exploring.
Lodge Chalets:
Absolutely wonderfully stylish rooms. Great big 4 poster bed. Huge shower and bath with a mountain view. Inside fireplace with comfy chairs and private balcony with stunning views.
The facilities in the main lodge are also great.
Rose was the 'hostess' who welcomed and looked after us in a very friendly and professional manner.
The only down side was the food. The lunch and dinner were not great at all and this will need to be addressed to allow the lodge to become a truelly great overall experience.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kelvincraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews