We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best venues I have ever visited”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Maliba Mountain Lodge is set in one of the most spectacular settings I have seen to date. Surrounded by peaks of up to 3000 meters high, the play of light and shadow on the mountains changed by the minute and could really capture the imagination. There is almost no place at the lodge where you do not have a stunning view. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which was extremely comfortable and spacious. Well kitted out with minibar, hairdryer, fireplace, cozy nooks for reading or cuddling up, a king size bed, flat screen TV, DSTV and DVD player, as well as a large en suite bathroom with massive shower and jacuzzi bath. The suite also has its own private veranda and raised deck, and we had breakfast served to us on the veranda on the first morning.

All other meals were taken on the lodge's veranda or in their intimate dining room area, and the food was great at all times. While unpretentious (thank heavens), the food was tasty, plentiful and tastefully presented. The wine list is extensive and priced fairly reasonably. The service we received from Daniel, the ever-willing maitre d' was great, but the waitresses sometimes had to be reminded of a request, or (seemingly) had trouble understanding English requests. Even so, they were always friendly and tried to help.

I had a wonderful weekend, and really think it's worth the long drive from anywhere!

Room Tip: The Honeymoon suite definitely has more privacy than the 5 "other" suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Solospiral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

Maliba montain lodge is really an amazing place in the world like there is few of them.
The view is just breath taking and the untouched nature is spectacular to see, especially for Europeans!
We really enjoyed our stay at Maliba montain lodge, and we recommend to go for the full day horse ridding! Going wild in the montains like this was very exciting, a little impressive sometimes, but just worth anything (I would say however that you need to have done at least 5/10 hours of horse ridding before just to know the basics as the trail is not easy).

Food was very good (best trout I had ever had) and the terrace a wonderful place to take the breakfast. For the room, we had the honeymoon suite which was very confortable and lovely. We were even able to make a fire in the fireplace in the room and relax in the 2 armchairs in front of it.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaruNiMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Maliba Mountain Lodge was spectacular... The staff were friendly, the rooms were beautiful and the view was breath taking. It was nice to just relax after a long drive from Johannesburg. I am planning to return in April

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

After driving from South Africa to Lesotho, we were delighted to be greeted with refreshing towels and a rock shandy drink. The view from the reception is spectacular with the Maliba mountains majestically standing before you. We were escourted to our room and everything was explained to us. The room was so beautiful, 4 post king size bed, gorgeous fire place and a heavenly bathtub. Every request of ours was met. Dinner was delivered to our rooms on both nights. The lodge arranged for us to go on a cultural tour to the Sotho villlage, at no extra cost to us. (ofcourse you can tip the guide) The guide Steven, was so knowledgeable and helpful and even took us to an are where we could get cellphone reception.
I would definitely recommend having a massage as it is in the privacy of your own room and you can just fall off to sleep afterwards. The food was great, even though there weren't many options for lunch and dinner, whatever we were served was really delicious and filling. This was a lovely experience and we will definitely be back for more!

Room Tip: Room 6 (the honeymoon suite) has the most beautiful views of the Maliba mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NC07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Unfortunately, the only downside to our visit to Maliba Lodge was that we only stayed one night! The lodge is very easy to find, well sign posted and is situated in a beautiful national park. We arrived to a warm welcome, cold refreshing towels and a drink. The staff were very friendly and attentive. Making your stay special was their number one priority. The huge atrium style rondavel reception takes your breath away - you then walk out onto the terrace and the views are stunning! The beauty of the lodge doesn't stop there as our thatched luxury mountain chalet was just perfect! It was beautifully appointed with a luxurious en suite bathroom. Taking a bath while looking at the incredible view, sipping a glass of cold South African white wine - life doesn't get much better! Our food was delicious, again in a glorious setting. Maliba Lodge really is a gem, it is magical and one of the best places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: It doesn't matter which mountain chalet you stay at, we didn't see the river lodges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moggo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Stayed here in May 2011; ended up booking the Honeymoon suite for 3 days as it was the only one available. Most memorable was the warm welcome we received having driven across Lesotho for 8 hours, covered, alike our 4x4, in dirt.

Perhaps spoilt by that as it had a wonderful view of the mountainous park from the balcony, and also a well used jacuzzi in a well kitted-out bathroom, fireplace (ready on arrival), heated bed (definitely worth it as it was freezing at night!). We were perhaps overfed with rich food, tea cakes and wine throughout our stay.

Well worth the price. Nice hikes available locally, but we only ended up going on one.
Only two criticisms; on the last morning there was no water as apparently the pipes had frozen and it took several hours to sort out, this was an unfortunate coincidence with the fact that one of us had developed gastroenteritis and we'd only eaten at the restaurant in that time. The manager implied it may have been as a result of possibly drinking the stream water (which we didn't, plus we've lived in SA for at least 6 months by then) but didn't seem to care much more than that.

All in all.. good trip and would recommend!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchild83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We had two lodges for 3 nights in January on our trip through Lesotho. We found Maliba to be a bit hit and miss with it's service and standards though.

The lodge istelf is fantastic, easy to find, well signed from the border posts, very scenic and pretty much new. The staff (Rose especially) were also very helpful (when you could find them during the day) and we had some great conversations with the bar staff in the evenings. The turndown service in the honeymoon suite was also a very nice unexpected surprise.

The restaurant offers you a choice of two dishes every night which was nice although none of us was particularly impressed with the catering standard, a fancy a la carte menu to choose from isn't much good if your dinner is over / under cooked when it arrives. We also had a problem with children running about, shouting and screeching in the dining room during dinner one night which didn't exactly gel with the lodge's general ambiance.

There are some walking trails from the lodge which took us to some great photo spots but apart from that you are a little limited in what to do with your time from Maliba, we were also a little concerned that there are things advertised in the lodge which were not actually available (fishing for example).

Lesotho was a spactacular country to see, we drove to the Dam and took some fantastic photos and everyone we spoke to was happy to see and talk to us.

Maliba was definitely a good stay, but could be better with a little more effort and training

Room Tip: ask for the honeymoon suite, it's the same price as the others!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AtlantanHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
21 reviews
24.6 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
83 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#5 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range: £42 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests can relax in one of six spacious luxury chalets, enjoy scenic mountain landscapes from their own private balconies and enjoy the pampering attention of our friendly staff. The main lodge features a gourmet restaurant & bistro, two bars with quiet, discreet areas to relax in, with views of the surrounding mountains. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape on horseback, go hiking along the various mountain trails, enjoy a visit to the cultural village or indulge in a massage on their private deck. Maliba Lodge also offers a kids club to keep your little ones entertained. Rates are room only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing