We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Style with friendly charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Style with friendly charm”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Maliba Mountain Lodge, set in the heart of the Lesotho mountains and just one and a half hour’s drive from Clarens, forces you to RELAX. 5-star regulars may find fault, but we found the enthusiasm and friendliness of the staff, the comfort (underfloor heating in the bathrooms, amongst others) and the breathtaking views made for a romantically charming weekend away. We would definitely recommend you check it out!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    106
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
116
324
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mountain lodge for 2 nights. What an experience, definitely unparalleled (well at least by my standards). From the moment you get there, they go out of their way to make your stay there special and memorable. There are only 6 rooms, so the place is quite intimate and cosy. The staff are the friendliest people ever, incredibly professional. The views are breathtaking and the staff very helpful with any activities you may want to do. The food is also amazing and they have a good variety of wines. The only critique I have: the booking process wasn't that smooth. They insist on receiving booking requests by email but take forever to respond to enquiries or confirm bookings. We went there on the 28th of April, I sent them an email enquiry 3 days before, we came back about 5 days ago and I still haven't received a response to my enquiry.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keitumetse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I can not stop talking about This Lodge, the service was and is outstanding, the staff frendley and very well trained ( witch added to our experience and joy of being their) the service was therefor exceptional and very very friendly !!!! the position in between the mountains is exceptionally beautiful, the walks and hiking trails where well maintained and beautiful,Maliba lodge is definitely worth , and " a must visit " when you are in the North of Lesotho, we will definitely come again, congratulations to management and staff!!!

Room Tip: Reqeust the honeymoon sweet ,its no extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We like this place mainly because of beautiful location. The very nice rooms and incredible views. Food is also good .

Now negatives... wifi hasn't been working in rooms for last 6 months , I call some white guy in reception whos rude and cocky and doesn't even know there is wifi modems in rooms.
For 250 usd a night broken wifi in rooms is not cool. The wifi works around bar only.

Plus the owner Nick should realise there are x2 the required number of staff hanging around. Most of staff standing around with blow all to do except chat with eachother.
We are fron Zimbabwe and a similar priced lodge in vic falls is way superior.
I suggest nick the owner fire the manager and half the staff .. it would be a much better experience.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaFox, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us. It is good to hear that you enjoyed the lodge, the rooms and the food. Together with the assistant manager, we looked into your complaint immediately. It appears that there was some miscommunication around the wifi in the rooms. The room that you were in does have Wifi, however, you were given the incorrect password for access. This was rectified at the time.
Apologies that you feel Maliba is over staffed, our staff are there and trained to meet your needs. The management are fully aware of your observations and will rectify if necessary.
Should you have any further comments please feel free to contact us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We had a lovely stay at Maliba. The staff was exceptionally friendly, and the food was amazing. Perfect for a private, romantic honeymoon. We took part in some of the activities, the hike to the black pool was very far and the pool was not too spectacular, I wouldn't advise the route unless you are really fond hiking in itself. The views on the way are spectacular though. We went horse riding, it was very well facilitated by proffesional staff, we felt safe the whole time and enjoyed it a lot.

I will definitely visit Maliba again.

Room Tip: they honeymoon suite is fantastic, secluded with a beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hans S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We recently held our wedding reception at Maliba Lodge.

It was a memorable experience. The venue is beautiful, the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful and the accomodation great. We were very impressed with the food on the night of the wedding, compliments to the chef.

We do not currently live in South Africa and had to arrange a wedding from abroad. The staff at Maliba made this easy and assisted us each step of the way.

All the wedding guests were impressed and throroughly enjoyed the weekend with walks in the nature reserve, swims in the rock pools and horse riding.

We would definitely recommend this to anyone considering a wedding or event at Maliba Lodge.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WeddingM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We went to Maliba for our honeymoon after hearing about it from a friend and it exceeded our expectations in every way. From the warm welcome at the door onwards everything was excellent. We stayed in the honeymoon suite with its private deck and full modern amenities. The service was incredibly good, the staff were attentive and thoughtful at all times. On our last night they set up a private dining area with rose petals scattered around and many candles, without being asked, as they knew we were on honeymoon. They also offer spa services, we had massages done in our room next to a roaring fire, which was wonderfully relaxing after a day spent hiking.

The area the lodge is in is absolutely stunning, with amazing unspoilt natural beauty on all sides. We went hiking and also did a guided pony trail on the lodge's Basotho ponies over incredibly steep ground, which the little ponies handled with no trouble at all. There are many waterfalls and rock pools along the river, which are beautiful and filled with crystal clear icy mountain water.

This was an all round excellent experience and I cannot recommend this place too much. My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is beautiful and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
24.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Property: Maliba Mountain Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing