We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view, challet, staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Amazing view, challet, staff”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed 2 nights here and everything was perfect. We stayed in the challet with the most beautiful view towards the valley. The food was very good and the staff were friendly. Not too stiff, just perfect. We did a hiking tour towards the waterfall, which was ok, but the view on the way back was the highlight.
The challet was the most amazing, the view, the bed was like a real kings bed with a lt of pillows. We had a fireplace which was lit as we were at dinner. From the bathtub you also had a view outside into the valley. The challet had an own terrace.
The price is high, but if you get the midweek special, it is the best value for money, which we ever had.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Berndandchrista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    106
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
117
326
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We recently had 2 fabulous nights at the Lodge. The staff are incredibly friendly and cannot do enough to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The setting is stunning, surrounded by mountains with an amazing view from the main deck, and we had a fabulous 13km hike (with a spot of bundu bashing). The room was luxurious, with a roaring fire waiting for us on our return to the room after a delicious dinner. All in all the lodge is well worth a visit and you will leave planning your return trip!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HES664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at Maliba for two nights in May 2013 and we can't rave enough. Excellent friendly staff, Extremely Polite and go out of their way to serve. Accomodation to die for beautifully situated high in the mountains . Beautiful walks. Thank you to all of you including our amzing chef for a little bit of heaven on earth. Would recommend it as a dream place to be. Will be back need to do the long hike. Owners well done for your vision you put a lot of our hotels in KZN to shame. Congrats to you one and all. Only one critiscism need to trip the tops of the trees directly in front of rooms so that one can still get a view but not too much to scare the birds.

Room Tip: All rooms at the lodge are excellent. Face the mountain. Couldn't ask for more
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at Maliba for 3 nights at the beginning of April. We were extremely pleased with our stay. We were really impressed by friendliness of staff, quality of the food and attention to detail. The setting is beautiful and the views over the valley from the large wooded deck are amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Maliba Mountain Lodge, set in the heart of the Lesotho mountains and just one and a half hour’s drive from Clarens, forces you to RELAX. 5-star regulars may find fault, but we found the enthusiasm and friendliness of the staff, the comfort (underfloor heating in the bathrooms, amongst others) and the breathtaking views made for a romantically charming weekend away. We would definitely recommend you check it out!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mountain lodge for 2 nights. What an experience, definitely unparalleled (well at least by my standards). From the moment you get there, they go out of their way to make your stay there special and memorable. There are only 6 rooms, so the place is quite intimate and cosy. The staff are the friendliest people ever, incredibly professional. The views are breathtaking and the staff very helpful with any activities you may want to do. The food is also amazing and they have a good variety of wines. The only critique I have: the booking process wasn't that smooth. They insist on receiving booking requests by email but take forever to respond to enquiries or confirm bookings. We went there on the 28th of April, I sent them an email enquiry 3 days before, we came back about 5 days ago and I still haven't received a response to my enquiry.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keitumetse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I can not stop talking about This Lodge, the service was and is outstanding, the staff frendley and very well trained ( witch added to our experience and joy of being their) the service was therefor exceptional and very very friendly !!!! the position in between the mountains is exceptionally beautiful, the walks and hiking trails where well maintained and beautiful,Maliba lodge is definitely worth , and " a must visit " when you are in the North of Lesotho, we will definitely come again, congratulations to management and staff!!!

Room Tip: Reqeust the honeymoon sweet ,its no extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
24.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
5 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Property: Maliba Mountain Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing