We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy & dangerous construction site”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Noisy & dangerous construction site”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

After the georgeous pics on the maliba lodge website we were in shock when we got to the so called "5 star" establishment. At no point in the reservation process we were told that the place is actually under construction, with permanent noise, vans going up and down the mountain, beams falling off the roof so we could no let our children run around whilst the workers were there during the day.

The whole atmosphere was very provisional, we couldn´t really make out who was actually in charge. The service was not very uniform - I had the impression most of the personnel lacked a bit of guidance (making sure the breakfast buffet was filled up, guests were offered tea/ coffee - the first day we waited for 15 min until we found out that apart from the buffet there were more breakfast options one could order from a menue), more information material on activities one could do and a transparent price policy in activities and extra orders. The staff was very friendly though, but apparently overwhelmed by the extraordinary work circumstances and little assistance by the management.

We truely appreciate that you do not close down the place while the construction is carried out in order to maintain your staff - constructions normally take a long time here in Africa - but PLEASE advise your guests beforehand and grant redutions in these extraordinary times. The lodge as it is now does not live up to 5 star standards and will not do so for quite a long time. We paid 5 star prices for a place you advertise as a mountain retreat in peaceful nature, but we couldn´t even have our breakfast outside enjoying the view. Instead we had to look at half finished, provisional false walls and ceilings, TV screen, an iluminated fridge, listen to the noise coming from the half open kitchen and watch the handymen in front of the window.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaFox, Guest Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your feedback, it is highly appreciated. We do apologise that your visit was not the best experience.
Just to clarify that Maliba River lodge where you were staying is our 3 star self catering property, and is quite separate from the construction area of our new lodge.
We pride ourselves in offering warm and comfortable services to all our guests and we personally call each one before arrival at the lodge to discuss their stay.
Your booking was made through a 3rd party company with us and hence we were unable to advise you personally before hand that we have some constuction going on. We have now made arrangements to be able to communicate this message to all guests regardless who they book through . We look forward to having you return, once our renovations are complete to experience the true beauty of Lesotho and Maliba.

Kind Regards
Maliba lodge reservations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    109
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
126
333
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Centurion
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had a fantastic stay for two days at Mailba Lodge to celebrate our 25th anniversary. The 5 star chalet was beautiful and the service and food was excellent. Although the weather was wet and cold the scenery of the area was still beautiful. There are a few small things they could do to make it a five star experience all the time.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Francois D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

The Maliba Lodge is beautifully nestled within the stunning hills of Lesotho which are breathtaking. If I had any ability to write, draw or paint I would do it for days on end at the lodge. The food is excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. I would return to this hidden gem in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Ruby T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Maliba suffered from a fire which damaged the entire main lodge over 6 months ago. This was not made clear to us around the time we booked our stay, nor was there any discount offered as the damage was apparently "minor". When we arrived we expected a 5 star lodge and were rather in shock. The damage was anything but minor, the whole main area of the lodge was a construction site. Dirty & dusty temporary lodge, no use of the original main lodge deck, construction going on all day. Although the chalets are all in perfect condition and the views are unbeatable, there was just no inviting atmosphere at this lodge during our stay. Most guests either cancelled their stay prior to arrival, or left early, leaving us as one of the only couples there. A very eery vibe. My recommendation to Maliba: close down completely for 1 - 2 months and finish the construction quickly, then re-open. Other than this the staff was friendly and helpful and the cooking was excellent. Unfortunate that it is being managed improperly at the moment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank cjdisano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaFox, Public Relations Manager at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear @cjdisano

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologise that your stay was not as expected, and that the fire damage
was not clearly communicated to you.

We have tried to be as transparent as possible, with press releases and
notices on our website, newsletters and social platforms since July. Although the most ideal situation would be to close the lodge, we have nearly 100 permanent and casual staff who depend on this employment. Therefore, we decided to carry on with the rebuild as discreetly as
possible. We now have a fully operational mountain side retreat centre with all final touches to be finished at the end of February. We have had great feedback from our guests on this development.

We hope to have you return to have a better experience at Maliba.

Kind Regards
Dwain, Nicola and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The lodge has made an amazing come-back from the fire last July. Expecting a little more chaos, the management seem to have everything perfectly under control and every member of staff work with diligence to ensure that the guests are happy.
The new restaurant building, still under construction but operational offers great food, reasonably priced wines,hospitality and amazing views. Also amusing smiles from the construction workers.
The rooms are simple the best lodge rooms I have seen in 30 years of travel. Discreet verandahs and perfectly equipped, they make the stay luxurious.
The location of the lodge high up in the Maluti Mountains and at the heart of the Tsehlanyane Park is perfect. The walks are naturally beautiful and the horse riding great, although a little attention to the tack would be advised.
Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rene Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillcrest, Durban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Although there was a lot of work to do by all sort of workmen it was not unpleasant to be there. The people are very kind and always willing to help you. Because of the place was in a build up state I can' t give it a ten, but for me it was a 7+ and for my wife a 8 and the children they loved it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
500 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed here last Christmas (2012) before the main building burnt down - and we found the whole experience fabulous.

They are now using the rapidly built (and still being finished conference venue) as a restaurant and bar and whilst it doesn't have the majesty or the views of the old building - bearing in mind the time it's taken for the building to go up - it's really good with open fires, squishy sofa's, small bar and kitchen.

The food is based around a short menu - but if you have a problem - let them know and they do their very best to help (one day I was there, the main course options were meat - but they instantly offered me a veggie option when I asked - and it was divine!)

Rooms are still as lovely as ever - but as I was travelling this time with a girl friend (rather than my husband) we didn't get the romantic treatment (the poured baths, the lit candles) which was actually a bit of a shame.

However the team were very good as ever - and when we were trying to track down our husbands (motorcycling somewhere in Lesotho) they let us use their phones to contact Afriski to find out just how they were!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roodeberglodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
24.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Property: Maliba Mountain Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing