We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good.........we got engaged!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“So good.........we got engaged!”
Reviewed 24 February 2010

This is an absolute gem of a place. The setting is amazing, in a bowl near a river and surrounded by 2500m green hills. The rooms are individual rondavels (chalets) with simply enormous - and very comfortable - beds, large bathrooms with proportionally large shower and separate bath (the latter with a view over said hills) and a verandah that leads down to your own little deck in the bushes. As the whole front of the room can open up, I confess I was bird spotting from the bed - to the amusement of my partner! As it is such a small hotel, service is very personal (thank you Andrew, Alice and everyone else) and the food is very well done. We did a wonderful and quite tough 13km circuit from the lodge which no guest had taken in the 2 months since the new manager joined but was still very well marked out. On our third morning we paid a visit to a local school - this is not something for which the hotel or the guide makes a charge, which I thought was sensitive/sensible in terms of not turning a village visit into a commercial operation from which someone ELSE profits, but we did choose to make a donation to the very nice headmistress as the school was sadly short of even the most basic facilities. We stayed in some amazing places in Lesotho but this was the best lodge by international standards.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FSHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    109
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
126
333
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maseru
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Maliba Lodge is the epiphany of luxury and style in peaceful, beautiful, natural, surrounds. There is no way to describe luxury – therefore I will not try (but check out the photo’s on the web)!
If you need a break from the rat race, this is the place to go! If you need some quality time with someone special – again – this is the place for you. (Who would have thought there are still places you can go, to get away from the constant interference of cell phones.)
Maliba’s staff is friendly – as only the Basotho’s can be! I loved how gardens were designed to show off the best flora in Lesotho and how all plants were labelled (for us -- the uninformed). I would like to see though - more walking trails into the beautiful surrounds with a little more detail about the route and distances. However, if you are not scared to take the bull by the horns – the current walking trail will do you just fine (as it did us)!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuiltingWyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south africa
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2009

We had an awesome stay for our anniversary.The decor and rooms are fabulous, the manager very friendly and helpful and food super. We were lucky enough to watch them releasing a lot of Eland into the reserve and also had a light snowfall on the tops of mountains. Great place. We will be back!!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deugliehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aschaffenburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2009

Maliba Mountain Lodge is one of the most beautiful hotels I ever stayed all over the world in my life. Even it is not a low budget hotel it is most reommendable.
Nice atmosphere, high quality food - it is unexpected luxury in the middle of nowwhere!

Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReinerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

My partner and I took out some time to visit Maliba Mountain Lodge. We received personalised attention from a very dedicated and passionate team of staff who accommodated our varying requests without hesitation. The logde allows for maximum privacy allowing total relaxation whilst being pampered... hmm a Spa would be a great idea..

We'll definitely be back soon! Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureKe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jozi, Mzantsi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

Maliba is definitely the gem of Lesotho for peace and quiet. The views from the chalets but especially the main terrace are amazing. The chalets are well appointed and are better than the website. Staff is genuine, whilst the manager is a patient and understanding fellow. We were a rowdy bunch and Malcolm and staff went all out to please. The bar could have been stocked a bit more, but thats understandable considering the remoteness of the place. The chef certainly knows how to make the Lesotho trout even more delectable.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spikajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

It is great to have a guest lodge in Lesotho that has such an amazing setting. This is a venue for when you want to get away from the world - peace and quiet, relaxing on a deck and just absorping the scenery. There are also great walks/hikes in the area which are worth doing when one feels energetic and so inclined.

The staff at Maliba Lodge have been outstanding both times I have stayed there, and make the stay even more worthwhile.

Definitely worth a visit if one is coming to Lesotho, but bear in mind this is a 5 star lodge, not a back-packers hang-out.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CR509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
24.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
71 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Property: Maliba Mountain Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing