We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning serenity”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning serenity”
Reviewed 21 May 2010

What a peaceful and serene place in the mountains. The accomodation is superb, the staff very friendly and helpfull without being intrusive. There are wonderfull walks for the energetic with beautifull mountain pools for a cool off en-route and other activities like horse-riding and other places of interest, but although we enjoyed our walks, just to relax in the peace and quiet of the invigorating mountain air was a real treat. Ask for the honeymoon suite if available, it is more secluded, but all the suites are luxurious and private. The selection of food is limited which is understandable considering the remoteness but everything we had was fresh and tastefully prepared and presented.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DessiePE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    106
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
119
329
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I've travelled all over Africa and stayed in some beautiful places but none has blown me away as much as Maliba Lodge. The setting is awesome in the truest sense, the staff are so friendly and capable, the food is great, and the decor is beautiful - all set in landscaped gardens right in the middle of the mountains, and at night you can see the stars so clearly and see why the Milky Way is called the Milky Way . To start your day with a delicious breakfast on your private veranda amongst the majesty of the Mountains is breathtaking. To enjoy a delicious lunch (all veggies from their gardens) up at the main lodge after an inspiring hike along pristine trails through sparkling streams is really something special - and we're not big hikers, in fact we're not hugely 'outdoorsy' at all and we loved it. The considerate touches like underfloor heating in the bathrooms, log fires in the rooms, homemade shortbread, four poster beds, feather duvets, big baths (with amazing views) makes the difference between just special and utterly memorable. The staff put on a stunning traditional Lesotho acapella concert before dinner - which was brilliant, and totally unexpected. I cannot rave about this place enough - you just have to experience it for yourselves. Spectacular.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DakarSoph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2010

We stayed at Maliba Lodge for 3 nights at the start of a one-month tour of Southern Africa. We couldn't have picked a better place to kick things off. The setting is idyllic, the rooms are absolutely beautiful and uber-spacious, the geography/topography stunning, the food exceptional (accommodating of allergies), the staff very friendly... The hiking out of the lodge was just the ticket for two jet-lagged vacationers: lovely vistas, relatively flat paths, fantastic bird watching, wildflowers galore - all terrific (and this from folks who live in the Canadian Rockies - we can be hard to please on the hiking front!). You really MUST go. Maliba Lodge is a very worthwhile destination -- in sooooo many ways.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alandsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uganda
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Luxurious lodge, beautifully decorated to encompass the local flair. Set in breathtaking setting. If you want a relaxing romantic getaway this is the place. Or if you want a great place for the family or a group of friends with lots of activities - hiking, pony trekking, cultural trip to the nearby village. Maliba Lodge has it all.
And to top it all, the local community got to benefit from the lodge in being given jobs from construction and now in the management of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dangusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2010

The website description of the lodge truly does not reveal the beauty of this area and the personalized service offered at the Lodge. The honeymoon suite is private and tastefully decorated and the balcony is a “wow”. The tranquility of the surroundings and friendliness of the staff (all local), are unrivalled. The food is superbly prepared and the presentation is only outdone by the taste. We had a memorable stay at Maliba - an experience we will never forget. We hope to visit again soon and may even venture a stay in Winter. The Summer surroundings were breathtaking and the Winter, I imagine, would be the same.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed at Maliba Mountain Lodge for 2 nights. The location in the mountains is absolutely spectacular and you could easily spend all day relaxing on the deck taking in the views. However there is also plenty to do including hiking and a local village tour. We did the latter and thoroughly enjoyed it, particularly a visit to the local school where we were greeted like rock stars and entertained by the children with songs. We handed over some pads and pens to the teachers which were greatly appreciated.

The food at the lodge is great and they were very accommodating for a vegetarian in our party. Two of us were celebrating birthdays while at Maliba and we really appreciated a visit from one of the waiters with a cake and song in recognition of this. The accommodation was lovely - very roomy, private and quiet with everything you could need.

The staff deserve special mention. They are just about all locals, many of whom were involved in the Lodge's construction who were then retrained to continue to work there. So they have a real commitment to the place and this shows in all they do. They are so welcoming and friendly and seem to always be available.

We had a fantastic stay at Maliba and would recommend it enthusiastically to anyone looking for a great break in the mountains. We only wished we had had more time to enjoy everything it had to offer.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aussiecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Words cannot describe the view of the Maluti Mountains (from your bath, your bed, the lounge, while having breakfast etc etc) and the tranquility it brings to all guests and staff. Rooms are extremely comfortable & romantic for that special occation. Staff are always at the background should you have special requests, never without a welcoming smile...until their final dance to say goodbuy! Andrew, the manager, was always prepared to go the extra mile to make an occation even more special, always friendly, enthusiastic about the Lodge & surroundings as well as very hands on with all the guests since arrival!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikitaCenturion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
24.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
65 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mount Maluti
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
6 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Property: Maliba Mountain Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing