We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultimate Lesotho Break-Away @ Maliba Mountain Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ultimate Lesotho Break-Away @ Maliba Mountain Lodge”
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Myself and my husband stayed at the Maliba Mountain Lodge for 2 nights in September in their Honeymoon Suite. The lodge offers a real break-away for anyone who want to escape to the amazing Lesotho mountain scenery. The lodge only has a limited amount of accommodation, which ensures that you will always feel secluded and never over-crowded. The honeymoon suite is very romantic and is located higher than the other chalets and offers a breathtaking view of the mountains. The chalets are extremely spacious - as you would expect from a 5 star lodge and has all the 5 star extras we expected and more. Even the bathroom rails can be heated so you do not have to use a cold towel. There is also under-floor heating and the big oval jet-bath offers amazing views over the mountain. You can order your meals to your room should you wish, or dine in their luxury restaurant. The food was totally one of our highlights. It was amazing in value and variety. We surely miss the great food a lot! While it should be noted that the lodge is very secluded, there are still a few activities you can do for the more active traveller. We did a hike to the black pool and thoroughly enjoyed it! The only thing I would caution future travellers to Maliba Mountain Lodge, is to make sure your car's license disk is still valid as there are a lot of police checking this in the small towns and you will be fined and forced to go to court to pay the fine if this has expired - even if your disk is still valid in SA a few days after expiry date! But other than that Lesotho is amazing and everything at Maliba Mountain Lodge was 5 star value - from the accommodation, the food, the views, service levels, staff was very helpful and just the total experience in general was everything we had hoped for and more! We would highly recommend this lodge for a romantic secluded mountain break! They also have regular great value specials! We just loved everything! We cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandB_Christie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    106
    11
    7
    3
See reviews for
117
326
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

For the tired and stressed this place is the perfect medicine. Great food, the service was friendly. The location is mind blowing (if you like mountains). We were there just after the bush fire which meant the landscape was a bit damaged but that is the nature of nature.
Starry nights and bubbling river sounds sooth you to sleep.
Ill be back, when I can afford it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We booked a three night package intended to be the highlight of our honeymoon, spoilt luxurious pampering in style. The main lodge is incredible, as was our room which was well designed and beautifully furnished. We had a very nice evening meal, although it did seem veeeery quiet....
The hotel had contacted us to say there had been bush fires in the area the week before, and "some of the hiking trails aren't useable" so did we still want to come? Can't say we weren't warned but you'd reasonably expect all the fires to be out by the time we got there 5 days later.
Long story short, the next morning we went to see the local village and school - mainly as there was no point going for a walk in the charred remains of the local area - and noticed quite a lot of smoke in the bush 200m from the hotel. On return we could see this again from the reception car park, and saw the flames leap 20m high. "I think there's a problem" said me to the vastly experienced 22 year old manageress."No problem it's fine" she said. Then one of the guest lodges roof went up in flames. I would have expected madam to swing into action at this point - she went back to painting chairs whilst those that knew what they were doing tried to put the fire out. And while we went and packed. This is a really nice hotel just a shame it's been badly designed - no fire breaks, leaking fire hoses, one way in / out - and run by two clearly inexperienced managers.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimJackieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaFox, Owner at Maliba Mountain Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2011
We are extremely sorry that you had to cut your honeymoon short on account of the fire. Maliba Lodge aims to always provide the highest level of service to our guests. Due to the remote location of the Lodge, midweek is generally quiet, even more so since we advised guests regarding the bush fires the previous week.

The fire that swept through the park only a week previously, was a major emergency situation that got quickly out of control. The Ts’ehlanyane National Park is the largest park in Lesotho and although the fire had run its course there was bound to be a few smouldering areas around.

Firebreaks are part of the Lesotho Parks yearly fire prevention duties. Unfortunately for all concerned, the breaks didn’t prove effective in controlling the spread of the fire. Our emergency management plan has been reformulated so that, should a similar situation occur in future, staff are better equipped to deal with the emergency.

The Lodge has a young and vibrant management team, as capable as they are, this was the first major emergency that they had to face and it tested all the staff to their limits. The fact that the Lodge escaped the fire bares testimony to their efforts.

The manager sought alternate accommodation on the guest’s behalf before they departed the Lodge in expectation that the remainder of their honeymoon remained one to remember.

Should you decide on a second honeymoon sometime in the future, we would whole heartedly love to welcome you back to Maliba, as Lesotho can be the highlight of any African holiday and ensure that it would indeed be a time to remember, for all the right reasons this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2010

Getting to Maliba was an absolute pleasure, the road has now been tarred making the drive to the lodge a pleasure. Service very personalised, extra effort to meet guests requirements

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thabo31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maseru, Lesotho
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The hospitality was outstanding and our room was beautiful. We felt so comfortable. The landscape is beautiful and makes each room very private.

Absolutely amazing stay. Will definitely be back

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank releyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maseru
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We spent a lovely quiet weekend tucked away in a green valley in the national park. Over the years we've experienced the American Motel to the opulence of the Pierre (NYC) and The Palace in Beijing, but we have to say that Maliba brought a peace not found elsewhere. The staff were very attentive, the food was outstanding, the room was huge with a lovely wood fire , heated towel rails, and a comfortable bed...the only thing missing was a spa.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sesotho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2010

I would assume that when booking a lodge in the middle of the Lesotho mountains you can only be looking for one thing, and Maliba Mountain lodge offers it tenfold. This magical spot is tucked away in the overwhelming beauty of the mountain ranges, a beauty which is matched by the design, comfort and service offered by the lodge. We loved the rooms and the food. We had the perfect combination of activities and decadent relaxation. And the staff truly went out of their way to ensure that every need and desire was met. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdvaLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
24.5 mi away
Fouriesburg Country Inn
Fouriesburg Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Fouriesburg
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
5 reviews
15.5 mi away
Motlejoa Guest House
Motlejoa Guest House
#2 of 3 in Butha-Buthe
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba Mountain Lodge

Property: Maliba Mountain Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maliba Mountain Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti / Drakensburg Mountains, the 5 Star Maliba Mountain Lodge offers a luxurious tranquil retreat set in a pristine national park. Guests can relax in one of the 6 spacious Basotho-style suites, enjoy scenic mountain vistas from private balconies and enjoy the pampering service of the friendly staff. The main lodge features a Gourmet restaurant and bar with quiet discreet areas to relax in front of the fire places and discuss the day’s events. Guests have a unique opportunity to explore the beauty of the landscape from horseback, hiking along the various mountain trails, visiting the cultural village or enjoying a massage from your private deck. Join us for an unforgettable adventure and experience the “Kingdom in the sky”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Maliba Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maliba Mountain Hotel Tsehlanyane National Park
Maliba Mountain Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing