We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”
Review of Maliba River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsehlanyane National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maliba River Lodge
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Awesome views, great trekking and really friendly staff. One of the best places I have stayed in Africa.

Swimming in the rock pool and sitting on the deck looking out on the mountains were the highlights of this place for me. The only thing I wish I had done differently was to bring some charcoal for the Braai. Make sure you bring everything you need as it is self catering. Location wise the river huts and the mountain lodge are slightly better placed but the river lodge has all the amenities we wanted and the price was right.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarmon79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
south africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just returned from a relaxing trip to Maliba River Lodge. Spacious and well equipped unit with four bedrooms. The electric blankets, under floor heating and panel heaters kept us warm throughout the nights. Electricity went off on two nights but was restored within half an hour. Do carry torches although they bring them to your unit almost immediately. Staff at the main lodge provided excellent service and allowed us to watch the Champions League Final until it finished at midnight. Will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Priya1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We stayed in one of the beautiful self catering houses at the river with our 2 small children and had the best time. I actually would like to keep it secret as it is so peaceful and beautiful. We went for diner to the main lodge and the staff is extremely friendly. Try to stay a couple of nights to really enjoy the nature and the peace. Thanks to all for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

My family and I stayed at the River Lodge for 2 nights. We had rain most of the time, but that didn't dampen our spirits. We had our own kitchen so were able to prepare our own meals. It was a nice end to our vacation in South Africa and Lesotho. I thoroughly enjoyed the thunderstorms while we stayed warm and dry in our lodge. Be advised the road up to the main lodge where you check in is quite rough. We had a low passenger car and with 5 adults plus luggage were scrapping the road. A high clearance vehicle is what I would recommend for getting to the reception area especially after high rains.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tptraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We (my parents, husband and myself) thoroughly enjoyed our christmas weekend stay at Maliba River lodge.

The River Lodge chalet is ideally situated close to the river and still maintains fantastic views of the surrounding mountains. The ammenities in the chalet were clean, neat and comfortable. A home away from home.

I was highly impressed by the christmas dinner menu that was specially created for myself and my parents as we are vegetarians. The breakfast was also good value for money at only R70 pp.

The staff at Maliba were also exceptionally friendly,helpful and full of warm smiles.

The only challenge we had was that one of the toilets in the chalet did not flush properly. In addition, the toilets in the main lodge reception area did not flush properly.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edandash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordhoek
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 November 2010

My husband and I, together with our two friends from the UK, stayed in one of the very lovely River Lodges. Our Lodge was excellent, very clean and beautifully appointed. The surroundings were spectacular and we were very comfortable. We arrived late (due to unforeseen circumstances and were helped by a most efficient Gate Guard. We discovered that we had no water but left it until the morning to ask for help. Two people came within 10 minutes of our call but were unable to put things right. They suggested that we could use the lodge next door. Sadly that had no water either. We went up to the main Lodge which is spectacular and tried to book for dinner that night but there was a 24 hour booking necessary which due to our lateness we had not been able to give. Pity. Further maintenance failed to provide water and the next morning we asked if we could at least shower at the main Lodge. The very helpful Assistant Manager, Cristel Snyman led us to one of the very beautiful rooms at the main Lodge - thank you Cristel!

This is a beautiful Lodge (a few difficulties need to be ironed out) and we would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElkeNoordhoek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2010

Stayed at the River Lodge for 2 nights and 2 days. Party of 5 that fitted comfortably into the cosy and well equipped River Lodges. Arrival on late Friday evening, we were greeted with a ready and welcoming reception outside in the cold by Crystal. We were offered drinks in the bar in the main lodge before we were handed paperwork to check in.

The lodge was by the river and was well equipped down to mugs and toaster and bottle opener and a large fridge and even a webber (barbecue griller) on the patio/dec that faced the river. Both the deck and balcony of the upper room had coffee table and chairs. The rooms, we pleasantly found that ALL beds were equipped with electric blankets! We all concluded it was very good comfort for the price per night between 5 people. Definitely charming, with stone construction and wooden beams/floorboards/stairway and thatched straw roof and all!!

Daniel was our guide for both the Basotho Horse ride and local Cultural visit. It was my first time on a horse, and so the steep and more difficult terrain was not chosen (Thanks Daniel!). One of the horses we were on was a stallion and one of the females was in heat so they kept wanting to mate. Daniel had to control the horse and swap out his calmer horse for the stallion. He handled the situation very well. The cultural visit was to a nearby village where we had the best time. The children were playful and Daniel waited for us as we played and took pictures with the children. This was definitely the best part of the weekend, and was a service provided free by Maliba Lodge, which is extremely generous and a great initiative in promoting cultural awareness.

The main lodge is culturally stylish and serves meals, for which we ate breakfast and dinner. The continental breakfast was good, self service, a selection of fresh fruit, granola, cornflakes, cold meats (proscuitio, shaved bilton, salmon pate of some sort, and i believe there was sliced churico etc), mini crossants/scons/danish with jams and honey and mustard. They also had polenta cakes (kinda like polenta hash browns) which we loved. Coffee & Tea was available, though this was not self serviced and we wished it was as the staff took a little longer than we would have liked to have coffee served alongside breakfast.

We were looking forward to the dinner as the pictures on the website looked delicious. This was the only thing that was not beyond our expectation of this establishment. While the food was good, it was not as outstanding as it looked on the website pictures. The menu was limited, and the portions on the smaller end. Perhaps we would have liked it more if it was less fine dine style so that there could have been more variety to choose from the menu, but again, this might have been a logistics thing as it is quite remote.

Overall, a very good relaxing weekend. The main lodge has a beautiful deck patio to chill out on, and one lower one that has an outdoor fireplace. We spent time on both and it was super relaxing for out team of 5 working in South Africa (team consisted of people from Sydney, Boston, Idaho, Atlanta and Virgina). I have posted photos as I think it is definitely worth a visit. Even though a fire has swept through and all the vegetation is regrowing!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluespinich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Katse Lodge
Katse Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bokong
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 27 in Maseru
41 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Maliba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba River Lodge

Property: Maliba River Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based within the borders of Tsehlanyane National Park, Maliba River Lodges are self catering retreats set in a pristine wilderness valley deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti/Drakensberg Mountains and only 4½ hours from Johannesburg. The River Lodges offer modern, self catering and serviced accommodation which is perfect for larger families, groups of friends or even couples that want an affordable getaway where they can relax in peace and serenity. Activities include hiking, pony trekking, 4x4 trails, skiing at Afriski, birding, swimming in natural rock pools and community visits.Gourmet meals, bar facilities and internet access is available at the Mountain lodge which is on the same property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maliba River Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing