We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Get lost @ Maliba Lodge the kingdom of smile !”
Review of Maliba River Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tsehlanyane National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maliba River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rennes, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get lost @ Maliba Lodge the kingdom of smile !”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We've spent 3 nights @ Maliba River Lodge and had a good laugh overthere with the Maliba's Lodge team. We had experienced swiming into the rock pool & had a horse riding with the very kind & nice Paul, but most of all we'd learned how to dance the Lesotho traditional with the laughing girls ! we had such a good time. However you must count around 3,5 hours to go To Katse Dam (one way) and all day to go to Maletsunyane waterfall !

Room Tip: At the river Lodge, there's 4 bedrooms : 3 are located on the river side, one is on the very ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sness92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    36
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
35
25
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Spectacular Location, Great Service & Excellent Food - there are several types of accommodation so be sure you know where you are booking. We found management flexible and accommodating - ask for mid-week specials or deals if staying out of season. The Mountain Lodge & Chalets is the original property (there is 5 or 6 chalets located at lodge rated 5 star, situated on a gentle ridge offering beautiful views of valley).
They have recently taking over the River Lodge Chalets (rated 3 star)(from the parks management I believe), the Riverside Huts & Camping sites (only a handful of spots when we stayed). We visited for 4 nights, staying in a new furnished Riverside Chalet (2 story 4 bedroom fully equipped chalet, equally comfortable living at North American standards). The Riverside location is a minute 15 minute uphill walk to main lodge - either by gravel road or beautiful nature trail (recommended route). It is easily reached by vehicle in 2-3 minutes.
The food & service offered was excellent with a good wine list and well stocked bar. Salmon, ostrich, pork, puck and exceptionally well prepared sides - menu changes daily so you won't be bored! Service is personable and top tier (well trained and service knowlegdable).
Several hikes and day walks are easily accessible from all chalets & lodges on well maintained and marked trails.
The property is easily accessible by car - the road in is in excellent condition (Oct 2012) despite reports we had heard.
It is expensive, but this is relative to what you get, can afford & expect. I would recommend a stay of at least 2 or 3 nights so to enjoy the natural, peaceful & pleasant surroundings. And ask for a deal, it never hurts.

Room Tip: Riverside Chalets and huts are 15-20 minute uphill walk to main lodge (although downhill on way back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WisdomExchangeTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
138 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

The river chalets are approx. 2km from the main building, nicely located at the river. Dinner at the mountain Lodge was pricey but very good. Service outstandingly friendly, especially the manager.. All in all a great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NikiAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We toured Lesotho and arrived at the Maliba Mountain Lodge. What a beautiful location, the friendliest staff we have experienced, excellent food and amazing good value. What a change to be offered salmon, smoked tout, french onion soup, duck, ostrich, belly pork instead of the usual boring fillet steak. Everything was perfectly cooked with delicious sauces and on hot plates. We could not find fault with the place. This is the first time that I have ever written a review but felt that I really must say something. We stayed in the River Lodge houses which are situated down the hill from the main lodge. The location was great with fantastic views. We had a four bedroom house for the two of us, such a luxury to have space, a lounge to sit in, kitchen to make drinks, fireplace if you want to cook ( don't get your meals included, they were so good! you are on holiday) and underfloor heating if it is cold. There are several hikes to do to numerous waterfalls and pools, all signposted and maps are given for free.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosT20012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I spent a weekend at the Maliba River Lodge. The service was excellent. We had dinner at the hotel one night and the food was very good. However, we were very disappointed with the accommodation. Our bed was very lumpy to the extent that I woke up with bad back pains on both nights. The sheets were old and stained. We have stayed at rustic getaways before in national parks in South Africa, including Kruger but those places were half the price of the river lodge. The accommodation is decent, but for the amount we paid (almost R1500 a night) we were unhappy with the quality we received.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Expat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MalibaFox, Guest Relations Manager at Maliba River Lodge, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Expat T

Thank you for your feedback on our River lodge.

We are sorry to hear about the linen and bedding. We have chatted to our River lodge manager about these factors.We do pride ourselves on our linen and bedding quality and update them regularly. The River lodge chalets sleep a max of 8 people sharing and therefore,
in your case per person would have been high.

We have other accommodation that is better suited for couples and we hope to have you return to these one day.

Kind Regards
Dwain, Nicola and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lennik
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2012

Very nice and impressive location. Lots of hiking opportunities.
We visited mid-September and - as there is no heating in the bathroom - it was rather cold.
Had dinner one night at the boma (outdoors) due to a conference taking place at the same time. Outside temperature was 5°C: much too cold!
However, staff was very friendly and helpful. All in all positive and enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyLennik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The road to maliba was one filled with extraordinary magical sights , the people , the landscape the rolling mountains and hills was breathtaking.What an absolute jewel ...the maliba river Lodge presented itself in all its natural beauty. Our accommodation was excellent and far exceeded our expectations. Our balcony opened up into a gorge with a river as our garden ...WOW!!!. We were surrounded by mountain ,river and fresh air , nothing more pleasant and calming having the sound of running water as our background mantra. Another highlight was the horse back trek into the mountains and experiencing the vastness of the place. maliba a place I will revisit.....a humbling experience.

Room Tip: River lodge accommodation if you like the sound of running water....
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judee1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tsehlanyane National Park
0.0 mi away
Maliba Mountain Lodge
Maliba Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Tsehlanyane National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Lodge
Mohale Lodge
#1 of 1 in Likalaneng
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Katse Lodge
Katse Lodge
#1 of 1 in Bokong
3.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maliba River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maliba River Lodge

Property: Maliba River Lodge
Address: Tsehlanyane National Park 400, Lesotho
Region: Lesotho > Butha-Buthe District > Tsehlanyane National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tsehlanyane National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Based within the borders of Tsehlanyane National Park, Maliba River Lodges are self catering retreats set in a pristine wilderness valley deep in the North of Lesotho's breathtaking Maluti/Drakensberg Mountains and only 4½ hours from Johannesburg. The River Lodges offer modern, self catering and serviced accommodation which is perfect for larger families, groups of friends or even couples that want an affordable getaway where they can relax in peace and serenity. Activities include hiking, pony trekking, 4x4 trails, skiing at Afriski, birding, swimming in natural rock pools and community visits.Gourmet meals, bar facilities and internet access is available at the Mountain lodge which is on the same property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maliba River Lodge Lesotho/Tsehlanyane National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing