We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shanti retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shanti Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wolfe Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shanti Retreat
Certificate of Excellence
Eastman, Canada
1 review
“Shanti retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This place is absolutely magical, a wonderful location, fantastic food, great people, all around top notch choice for a get away! We recommend it whole heartedly. The nature surroundings are gorgeous, the place is very relaxing, the birdsong is just phenomenal, a must for peace and nature lovers, the people hosting are very kind and laid back, we loved it.

Room Tip: Taos room has its own balcony and views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank norman p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
8
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I had the pleasure of participating in Shanti Retreat's first annual BhakfiFest in May, 2014. This was our third yoga retreat at Shanti: the first one being a New Year's retreat with Brenda McMorrow on January 2012, the second one when they released their wonderful cookbook followed by a yoga retreat with Hali Schwarts in late summer of 2013 and then the BhaktiFest! It is truly a beautiful space that Darrin and Wendy had cultivated steeped with positive energy and blissful Bhav! We will be coming back again... and soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betty o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I was excited to visit Shanti because I'd heard so many great things but am a bit disillusioned with our experience. We booked a room 6 months in advance and were the second to do so. The room, which was recommended, had only two single beds but the manager offered to put a king in the room. We arrived very early, and were asked to come back in a couple of hours. When we were shown the room, the two twin beds were still there. I asked about the king or a cot and was told "Sorry, we can't do anything abut that now, it's too late". The owner overheard the conversation and quickly brought up two inflatable mats and extra bedding. I asked how they expected three people to sleep in two singles and the manager just said she thought that's what we wanted. One evening, samosas were on offer for dinner but each guest was allowed only one. My son didn't want the lentil dahl or the roasted cauliflower but, apparently, only enough samosas were prepared to allow each guest one. The manager told him very bluntly he was only allowed to have one and that was all. In the lunch line, the manager again was monitoring portions and it came to the point my daughter didn't want to go through the line because she felt so uncomfortable. I found the manager to be a bit abrupt and inflexible.

Other members of the staff were very lovely and one in particular spent a nice bit of time encouraging my son to practice on the "Slackline".Another member of the kitchen staff was always willing to get some milk if the bottle was empty and always did so with a smile. The owners of Shanti are also very kind and were always smiling and offering kind words and/or support.

The property is beautiful and there is plenty to do. Throw a Frisbee, try a hoola hoop, go for a canoe or kayak, walk the grounds or simply sit. The choice is yours.

It was a very expensive week-end and given how far in advance we booked, I didn't expect one of us to have to sleep on the floor nor did I expect the manager of the facility to be so dismissive when a problem was brought to her attention. I am concerned about the "monitoring" of food but again this was all done by the manager. Support staff here are awesome. Would we go back? I don't think so. We thoroughly enjoyed the bhakti and that was the reason we went but the attitude of the manager was enough of a turn off to keep us from going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tranquilityom, Owner at Shanti Retreat, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Thank you for your important review. We take your concerns seriously and would like to take this opportunity to apologize for not meeting your needs. After reading your review we completely agree that a King bed should have been provided for you and your two children.

We would like to address your concern about the monitoring of food. Meals at Shanti are self serve buffet style. This arrangement allows for guests to take as much food as they like. There is always an abundance of delicious local organic food prepared. On rare occasions there are certain food items that are limited. In this case, it was the samosas.

We are sorry to hear that your children were spoken to in an inappropriate manner and felt uncomfortable with our manager. It should be noted that this is the first time we have had this kind of feedback. She is highly loved and praised by many of our guests who deal with her on the phone, through email, or in person. This does not mean we take your comments lightly. We have spoken to her to ensure guests are always dealt with in the most respectful manner.

Again, thank you for your feedback which helps us to strive to be better.

Darin and Wendy Madore, co-owners of Shanti Retreat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have been going to Shanti every year for 7 years now, and we always return home with renewed energy after a weekend there. A true sense of calm and peace emanates from this place; it is beautiful and fabulously relaxing, the vegetarian food is excellent, and it offers excellent value for money. Our hosts, Darin and Wendy, are truly devoted to their yoga practice, which they share with love and generosity. Their hospitality makes this place stand out from other yoga retreats.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AandDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

I just came back from a weekend "Yoga for Round Bodies" retreat at the Shanti Retreat and it was beyond amazing. The retreat itself is beautiful and emits peacefulness. The people and the food were wonderul. The instructors for the Yoga for Round Bodies, Tina and Jayne, were wonderful and I would highly recommend following Tina on line for any upcoming retreats. Even the beds were super comfortable! I would come back to Shanti in an instant! It was exactly what I needed. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frisbena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I attended a yoga for round bodies retreat in AUgust, and fell in love with Shanti. It was inviting and comfortable.Beautiful view, and landscaping made everywhere an ideal place to sit and enjoy the space. There are lots of places to sit - both inside and out - and the cabins were small, but perfectly comfortable with full sized bathrooms. The veggie meals were very good and the before-oga tea, oarmeal, fruit and trail mix was a thoughtful touch for some of us who needed a snack before 10am breakfast. The library, fire pit, and water trampoline were unexpected and made for a lot of fun.
Unlike a few other places I have visited in Ontario, the staff were very welcoming and we did not feel in their way or like customers. I was totally at home there and slept very well.
The ferry ride is short and scenic ( and free!!) but we did need to be there 1+ hour before both trips. Time to visit the tiny town or bakery.

Room Tip: cabins are good - quiet nights - and the linens, matress, lights were excellent quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahBee_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

I went for a yoga/kirtan retreat for the August long weekend. It was perfectly idyllic - gorgeous and stress-free.
The cabin I shared with 3 others was comfortable, clean and quiet. The setting was more than I hoped for - at the end of a dock - there's a beautiful hut to sit in and be surrounded by the river. The vegetarian meals were divine with lots of variety and creativity.
The yoga yurt was a sweet location to practice.. And our teachers were knowledgeable guides.
I fell in love with singing kirtan at this gorgeous retreat - will be back sooner than later!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triciabrubacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolfe Island
4.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere
Hotel Belvedere
#14 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
4.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston Water's Edge
4.2 mi away
Delta Hotels by Marriott Kingston Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
6.5 mi away
Best Western Fireside Inn
Best Western Fireside Inn
#2 of 37 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
2.5 mi away
Super 8 Kingston
Super 8 Kingston
#10 of 37 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shanti Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanti Retreat

Property: Shanti Retreat
Address: 89 Waldo Way Lane, Ontario K0H 2Y0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Wolfe Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Wolfe Island
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Disconnect from the busyness of life and give yourself the gift of a weekend yoga retreat on Wolfe Island, near Kingston, 2 hours from Ottawa and 3 hours from Toronto. Our spacious century inn is situated directly on the water. We invite you to take a dip in the bay or choose your favourite spot to retreat along 1000 feet of private shoreline and take in the spectacular sunsets. Delicious vegetarian meals will excite and delight your taste buds. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing