We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait until January 2015!”
Review of Brown Bear Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montriond
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brown Bear Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We sneaked in 4 days skiing last week, and used R4tA for the second time. Brown Bear Chalet was great, with perfect hosts and facilities. Although a bit further away from things than the first chalet we stayed in (aux joux), Sandy more than made up for this by offering lifts to and from Ardent lift each day but to be honest, we were more than happy to bus back each evening (buses every 30 mins). Food and wine were great, hot tub and sauna much appreciated, the place is spotlessly clean, and our hosts couldn't have been more helpful. Although we are going back to Aux Joux in January, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Brown Bear to anyone either skiing or just enjoying the area. The walk into Morzine along the river is beautiful and only takes about 20 mins.

Room Tip: Room 2 was excellent as a triple, even with a messy teenager
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahGlenacre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Brown Bear Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely chalet. Tim and Sarah were great (as was Gina when she drove us to the slopes one morning). The evening meals were exceptional. Nobody drank very much at all each night on this trip - maybe a bottle and a half in total. So my only comments about improving would be to leave a bottle or two after dinner for guests to while away the evening and to offer more cooked options in the morning for those who might want it... That said, still five stars!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank LakesMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Another fantastic stay at Brown Bear with Reach 4 the Alps. Great hosts, amazing food - from breakfast to afternoon tea with yummy cake to canapés with fizz before dinner- the skiing was good fun too.....all in all great week!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Fabulous chalet, run by excellent chalet hosts Sarah & Tim and extended team .We couldn't have been happier with our boys 4 night trip from the quality food and wine to the toasty hot tub waiting for us on our return from the slopes ... I can't recommend highly enough !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgwh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Four of us had an excellent short holiday at Brown Bear.The chalet is very comfortable, with the extra amenity of hot tub and sauna. All the meals were superb.The airport transfers were very convenient ,and enabled us to have maximum ski time for a 3 night stay. Lift passes waiting for us , and easy ski hire.The lifts to and from the ski lifts were a great bonus as well.We will definitely come back.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank julielondonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few days recently following a slightly longer stay in another Reach4theAlps lodge in January. The overall experience was just as enjoyable, with nothing being too much trouble and the facilities being of a very high standard. Can't wait to sample the Summer experience! Thoroughly recommended, unlikely to disappoint even the most discerning ski hound.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Brown Bear is a beautiful chalet, with wonderful hospitality. We left with heavy hearts when we had to go home after having such an amazing time. From the first communication with Marcus to the last goodbye to Sarah and Tim, our wonderful hosts, everything was perfect. Sumptuous, comfy rooms and excellent hosting. We found everyone so friendly, accommodating and warm. They couldn't do enough for you; Sarah even fetching a bag of fresh snow for my poorly knee, which was really nice and caring. Sarah, Tim and Sandy you make a great team. The food was stunning (generous to boot, I never went hungry!) topped off with delicious canapés after a great dip in the hot tub! Didn't want to leave. Thank you so much and I just wish we can come back to enjoy the hospitality again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scurtis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montriond
0.1 mi away
La Ferme du Lac Vert
La Ferme du Lac Vert
#1 of 20 in Montriond
203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mountain Voyages Chalet
Mountain Voyages Chalet
#8 of 49 in Morzine
47 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
L'Auberge du Mont-Rond
#3 of 3 in Montriond
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant les Sapins
0.3 mi away
Entre Deux Eaux
Entre Deux Eaux
#1 of 5 in Montriond
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Beatrice, The Edge Morzine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown Bear Lodge

Address: Sous La Ranche, 74110 Montriond, Morzine, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Morzine > Montriond
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Montriond
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chalet sleeps up to 18 guests in 7 rooms. All rooms have en suite facilities and each bath or shower room is individual and tastefully modern. The four bedrooms on the top floor are exceptionally spacious and each has a balcony with stunning views. Brown Bear Lodge has a sauna, games room & outdoor hot tub. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing